Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Stig
At first I was apprehensive whether this Kindle version would have the photo's that are found in the hardback book, but fortunately they are there, and as I have Kindle for iPad they are in colour!
Onto the book, at first I was given the impression that Mr Collins had quite a high opinion of himself, taking great pleasure in saying that he was quicker round the Top...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by M. Eagle

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing............
Unlike other reviewers I am disappointed on several counts:

Firstly, accepting that Ben isn't a writer by profession, I find his style to be less than captivating and full of such detail about past events I feel that much of it must be embellished or even imagined. That isn't to doubt the actual events themselves, but I feel that he must either have recorded...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by Clanranald


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Stig, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first I was apprehensive whether this Kindle version would have the photo's that are found in the hardback book, but fortunately they are there, and as I have Kindle for iPad they are in colour!
Onto the book, at first I was given the impression that Mr Collins had quite a high opinion of himself, taking great pleasure in saying that he was quicker round the Top Gear track than the old Stig. Maybe his alter ego had gone to his head! But as you read further into the book you start to wonder if the bravado is all tongue in cheek, particularly when he recounts a story of teaching a blind driver to drive the Top Gear track and beat some of the able bodied celebs. The emotion he portayed over his joy for the guys achievement speaks volumes. Also when he talks of his family you again get a glimpse into the softer side of a not so tame racing driver.
The other interesting aspect of this autobiography are the not so well known parts of Ben Collins life, such as his time in the army and stunt driving on the odd film. Also interesting is hearing about various Top Gear episodes from behind the scenes and how Ben was having to be more and more careful as speculation of Stigs identity increased. Towards the end of the book he speaks of his struggles over wishing to be a bona fide racing driver and yet having to hide behind this persona, he even likens it to how a superheroes alter ego must feel!
Its this secrecy that ultimately leads to him taking off the suit, plus the ever increasing speculation since he was named in a report on Hammonds jet car accident. And while the book finishes at the last Top Gear series he had done, there was no mention of Rubens Barrichello beating his laptime. I wonder why!
Overall a good read, particularly if you are a fan of Top Gear or motor racing in general, as long as you dont mind the author re-using phrases throughout the book, particularly one about lactic acid in muscles! And the odd swear word here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insightful read, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book that goes into great detail about Bens life, not just as the stig. Some say being the stig is the best job in the world ... this books tells a story there's more to life than being the stig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stig, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining and hard to put down. A frank and honest version of events from Ben Cohen. Put paid to few myths about Top Gear Filming too. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing............, 1 Oct 2010
Unlike other reviewers I am disappointed on several counts:

Firstly, accepting that Ben isn't a writer by profession, I find his style to be less than captivating and full of such detail about past events I feel that much of it must be embellished or even imagined. That isn't to doubt the actual events themselves, but I feel that he must either have recorded the events he recalls so vividly starting from childhood, on film, video, tape or in a detailed diary, or more likely that he simply imagined the details for the sake of a good read.

Secondly, his reputation is that of a "nice chap", easy to get along with, patient and kind. I accept that because I've never met him to enable me to think otherwise. However, what he writes is distinctly at odds with that at times. Certainly there's many examples of his impatience, some of his extreme competitiveness at a cost to others, and a few of rudeness and inconsideration to others. I don't know what to make of these anomolies. He is a driven man, and it's clear he WILL do what he needs to, to get what he wants.

He seems to be either dismissive or "unimpressed" by the BBC people he worked with for so long, and even unappreciative of what they have done for him. He may feel agrieved at more recent treatment over this book, but as he makes clear himself very early on in the book, he was very well aware of the need for his anonymity and adhered to it until it was to his benefit to turn his back on that obligation. The fact that the BBC resorted to expensive law instead of finding an amicable solution is not to their credit but it doesn't make them the original villains in the case. It did make great publicity though for both parties and I'm sure many copies of the book sold on the strength of the BBCs attempt at an injunction.

His relationship with his father is very obvious partly because Ben deliberately refers to it on many occasions in his writing. It could also be one of the reasons for his writing the book, and adopting the paradoxical styles of apparent modesty and arrogance simultaneously. I think he wants to show his father that he can be proud of him, because clearly he was pushed hard when he was young- note the story about learning to swim! Perhaps he is actually a little insecure because of it and his writing has been used to bolster his own confidence.

In summary, I found it easy to put this book down (even in a hospital queue!), and maybe it's partly because my expectations were based on the quality of the TV programme that made him famous. I'm glad I read it and now it's time to move on, wish Ben luck, and look forward to what the TG team come up with for the next series, because I am certain it will be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Collins is an enigma., 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stiggy is always going to be awesome no matter who he is but Ben Collin's story is a must read for any top gear fan or general petrolhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars man in the suit that is white, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely read have read it twice so far and found it brilliant each time. he has an interesting way of saying things that keep you gripped. came very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prez for my youngest brother. Be interesting to see what the stig guy is like away from the top gear show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all in all a good read for topgear lovers , covers all the bases with some very funny parts, 21 Feb 2013
Book is well worth a read , talks about his life the achievments what its like being the stig and testing the cars , talks about his ned for speed since a young age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the White Suit (Stig), 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read and thoroughly enjoyed it. Good insight into the life of Ben Collins and his character The Stig. Very much worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the White Suit, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ideal for avid Top Gear fans who want to learn some of the lowdoen on the backroom facts. Well worth reading and then reading again, later, when you've watched some more Top Gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews