Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairly easy to install if you have safe access
First, could I say I was impressed that though I ordered this late Wednesday evening it was delivered Friday morning. Great service!

Putting it together was simple enough, though I found the U-bolts hard to insert into their holes. The ends were too far apart and had to be levered in with a screwdriver. There were no instructions for fitting the LNB, though it...
Published 13 months ago by 

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good dish bad Lnb
I bought this to replace an old rusty dish with a single line Lnb rather than pay a couple hundred pounds to an installer. No instructions with the dish but plenty of "how to" videos on the net to put together and install. Spent the day putting in new lines and installing dish only to get no signal. Put old dish back up and signal back. Turns out the Lnb was duff...
Published 9 months ago by Rick Trivett


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairly easy to install if you have safe access, 26 Oct 2013
By 
 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
First, could I say I was impressed that though I ordered this late Wednesday evening it was delivered Friday morning. Great service!

Putting it together was simple enough, though I found the U-bolts hard to insert into their holes. The ends were too far apart and had to be levered in with a screwdriver. There were no instructions for fitting the LNB, though it was fairly clear it would not slide on and had to be pushed onto the arm and secured with the break-off plastic plug.

Now the fun bit, fitting it! In the end I attached its L-shaped bracket and fitted it to an existing clamp on the wall. I had tried to move it sideways to a point where visibility was better (satellite dishes and neighbours who decide to grow tall trees do not mix well) but hit a problem. The largest masonry drill bit I had was just right for the plugs, but unfortunately when I tried to screw the bolts in (you need a spanner or socket to do this) three of the plugs started turning with the bolt. They do not grip the wall well, despite being a tight fit. (Edit: A spot of No More Nails put that right.]

Finally, I used the spirit gauge on the dish to level it. The skew was set correctly already for most of GB. That left pan and tilt to adjust. For this I used a Konig Satfinder Satellite Installation Tool, and once I had the direction roughly right that was straightforward.

I will need to go up again and put cable clips on the feeds and possibly renew the connectors. This replaced a mini-dish and you may find that you need to loosen the feed cables to allow for the extra arm length, as I did. [Edit: New connectors and sleeves fitted and cables secured with a tie.]

Anyway, at this price it is a real bargain. We have suffered from drop-outs in bad weather over the past 15 years and the larger dish may stop that happening again. [Edit: In two torrential downpours, the signal quality and strength did not falter.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novice - Tips, 29 July 2013
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
Pprompt next day delivery

As previously, stated it comes with no instructions. I had no clue how to assemble it.

So I used YouTube: "How to Assemble a Sky / Freesat Satellite Dish" by tvtradedave

[...]

Only two differences from YouTube video found in assembly.

1. The brackets with the degrees indented into it must sit on the outside-that is, they should be readable by you (you may have to manually adjust them apart for the brackets to mate) - its easy.

2. The 4 silver "Mushroom" bolts that control the angle of the dish are fitted from the inside to the outside-that is, you won't see the mushroom heads just the nuts (on the outside) that you need tighten to adjust the angle.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sat dish, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
spot on job worth going to the zone 2 dish got all my channels back best signal ever had asa well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ZONE 2 DISH = GOOD, TECKSTAR = POOR, 12 April 2013
By 
Carl (Kilmarnock) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
If you like myself are a novice when it comes to fitting a satellite dish then you might be slightly bemused to realise that no instructions have been bundled with it to reassure you that you are assembling it correctly, luckily there are some online guides to fitting a Mk4 Raven Minidish.

The dish itself appears pretty solid although mine did arrive with a few dents which wasn't surprising as Teckstar didn't bother to go to the trouble of packing it securely. Apparently dents in the centre can be very bad for signal quality and according to one fairly respected satellite installation guide on here you should reject ANY dish that has dents. Well it is all very well to say that but in practice who is going to stand at their door and unwrap a box whilst some irate courier is impatiently waiting to get to his next job? I pushed out the dents and the dish seems fine.

The signal strength was around 88% with a signal quality of 80%

I twinned it up with a Philex FTA Receiver and managed to get 5 satellites locked in.

Satellite - Signal Quality
E19.2Astra - 80%
E23.5Astra1E - 72%
E28.2Astra2A - 82%
Unknown - 48%
Eutelsat 28A - 72%

I don't know if I should have put the dish up a little higher to improve line of sight but the quality of the channels I've been receiving seems flawless. There certainly hasn't been any obvious signs of pixellation or blocking. [Make sure you ramp up the bolts securing the arm to the wall bracket until the teeth on the wall bracket bite the arm to prevent movement]

Apart from the dents in the dish which may have been there prior to delivery Teckstar also supplied oversize washers to secure the dish - these noticeably overhang the securing bracket but I was too lazy to go and get another 4.

The LNB has a sliding shroud so if you are thinking you need rubber boots for the cable then you probably don't and they won't fit the correct way around anyway. My tip would be to order some silicone grease instead to prolong the life of your LNB and cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for France, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
Great sturdy item that replaced my mini dish in the south of France.
Straight away improved signal strength and quality to over 80 percent.
I now receive extra channels that were not in range before.
I would recommend this to anyone who has glitchy pictures when it rains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good dish bad Lnb, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Rick Trivett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
I bought this to replace an old rusty dish with a single line Lnb rather than pay a couple hundred pounds to an installer. No instructions with the dish but plenty of "how to" videos on the net to put together and install. Spent the day putting in new lines and installing dish only to get no signal. Put old dish back up and signal back. Turns out the Lnb was duff. Asked for replacement and told to return before they would supply a new Lnb. Postage cost more than the price of a new Lnb on fleebay so just bought a new one less hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works well but a bit flimsy, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Saul Hudson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
This is a very good value for money dish pack and does what it needs to without fault however, it's not the strongest of constructions, especially where the Lnb arm is concerned. A bit wobbly would best describe it. It's fine once everything is in place and the weight of the arm with the Lnb seems to keep it in place but it's easy to move with your hand and really it should be tight and solid. You can pole mount this dish by the way so no extra pole mount bracket is needed. I would not buy again but it does the job and if your on a budget it will get you up and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good dish, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
Th dish was fairly easy to fit. I needed some instructions and these were emailed to me very quickly from a good customer support. The dish works well and I would recommend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good product, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
spot on, did exactly what it says on the box. very very very very very good, would certainly reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemsat Zone 2 Satellite Dish & Quad Lnb for Sky Freesat HD SD (Electronics)
Arrived promptly, easy to assemble and install.
Would probably recommend using a Zone 2 dish even in a Zone 1 area, as signal more reliable even in bad weather.
J.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews