Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer 1947 Trailer
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:43 Mins
This is Cary Grant at his funniest. He get himself into on situation after another. Laugh a minute.
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by S. Linnell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good watch
As a fan of Cary Grant I don't believe this is one of his more well-known films, but even so I must say I enjoyed it and would recommend it if you like good old-fashioned comedy / romance.
Published 18 months ago by Miss Beverley Milner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer 1947 Trailer, 23 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 1:43 Mins

This is Cary Grant at his funniest. He get himself into on situation after another. Laugh a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man With the Power, 30 Aug 2010
By 
L. E. Cantrell (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer is from 1947, a year that left behind some pretty good films, "Gentlemen's Agreement," "A Double Life," "Great Expectations," "Body and Soul," "Black Narcissus," "The Farmer's Daughter," "Mother Wore Tights," "Green Dolphin street," "The Bishop's Wife" and "Miracle on 34th Street." All in all, not a bad year, although it does seem strange to me that with all those choices, it was this amusing but innocuous little comedy that won the Oscar for the best original screenplay.

This is one of the movies in which Shirley Temple attempted to make the transition from adorable moppet to young woman--well, to teenager, at least. Shirley is not bad, she has a couple of good scenes, as a matter of fact, but it is easy to see why she never made it as an adult movie star. The moppet mannerisms were too ingrained in her acting technique and persona. Every so often, she looks like a seven year-old somehow trapped in a sixteen year-old body. (She was nineteen at the time.)

The movie is one of the later successes of the screwball comedy era (I suppose 1952's "Monkey Business" also with Grant was the last), but it is slowed and softened by the home, mom and apple pie mind-set of the post-War era. Nevertheless, a cast that included Cary Grant, Myrna Loy, Rudy Vallee (surprisingly good in a part that would normally have been assigned to Ralph Bellamy), solid, stolid, familiar Ray Collins and what appears to be about half of the dear, nameless but familiar faces of the Hollywood repertory company, would have been able to spin far less promising material into finest gold.

Archie Leech had honed his Cary Grant creation to perfection and hauled him out in memorable vehicles twice in 1947: here in this film and in even more glistening form in "The Bishop's Wife." As one memorable passage from "The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer" that swept over the school halls of the day had it:

You remind me of a man.
What man?
The man with the power.
What power?
The power of the hoodoo.
Who do?
You do.
I do what?
You remind me of a man.

Five stars for the man with the power of the hoo-doo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You remind me of the Man ....., 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
.....What Man? The Man with the Power........"

I love this movie. When I first saw it on telly years ago it was called "Batchelor Knight" - released in USA as The Batchelor and the Bobby Soxer - obviously they did not think that we would know what a Bobby Soxer was! Bought it for a friend's Christmas to introduce her to a this obscure Cary Grant movie. She loved it. It just makes me smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Temple is adorable as bobby soxer, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Rama Rao "Rama" (Annandale, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Screwball slapsticks done by Cary Grant are always fun to watch; after all who doesn't like Cary Grant? This is another comedy teamed up with Myrna Loy and Shirley Temple. The movie tries to tackle an interesting situation; what would happen if a young teenage girl develops a schoolgirl crush over a much older man like Cary Grant, especially when her big sister (Myrna Loy) is the judge at county court. It is a tough call when you learn that the judge herself develops a soft corner for the bachelor.

Cary Grant plays a charming artist named Dick Nugent who finds himself into troubles when he least expect it, because women can't resist him, and their men get jealous and go after him. He goes to court for such a reason, and judge Margaret Turner (Myrna Loy) lecture him about his behavior, and he delivers a lecture on his dedication to art at the local high school. This catches the attention of young Susan Turner (Shirley Temple). The little girl gets a little adventurous and manages to break into Nugent's apartment and falls asleep. Dick returns from work and gets ready for bed without noticing the young intruder on bed. When she wakes up and say hello to him, and at the same time he finds that local police, accompanied by the D.A., named Tommy (Rudy Vallee) and Judge Turner herself are knocking on his door. This is not the kind of problem Nugent was looking for: He finds himself arrested and charged. Judge Turner is convinced by her uncle Matt (Ray Collins) to go easy on him; if she isn't, then young Susan will think of Nugent as a martyr. So he gets a suspended sentence on the condition he cooperates with authorities and help young Susan to forget him. He seeks (bribes) the help of Susan's ex-boyfriend Jerry (Johnny Sands) to steal the bobby-soxer from him.

Cary Grant was fortunate enough to play with some of the most beautiful and talented women of Hollywood. Myrna Loy is not exactly at the top of this list; the element of comedy triumphs at the expense of the element of romance. I would have liked more Grant and Loy romantic situations; nonetheless this is still a very delightful comedy. My favorite moments are when Susan attempts to pass herself off as both Dick's mother and Margaret's sister to help Dick escape from jail. The disruption of the dining scene at the club when Dick and Margaret try to spend a romantic evening is also a funny moment.

This is beautifully written for the screen by Hollywood veteran, Sidney Sheldon who also wrote such classics as; Dream Wife, Easter Parade, and I Dream of Jeannie (TV episodes).

1. Mr Blandings Builds His Dream House [DVD] [1948]
2. The Cary Grant Collection 3 DVD Set [2007]
3. The Major And The Minor/Bachelor Mother [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
I was so happy I was able to finally get it on DVD. The oldies are the goodies. It would be wonderful if more dvd's of this era were available for region 2 not everyone has a free region player. It certainly would make a huge difference to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good watch, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Cary Grant I don't believe this is one of his more well-known films, but even so I must say I enjoyed it and would recommend it if you like good old-fashioned comedy / romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rave over this one!, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah okay..teenage Girl gets a crush on Cary Grant..so the story unfolds..an absolute must for up and coming youth..still Shirley looked a treat..laugh's all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old but great film, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for a present for a young teenager who loves old films , fantastic film and funny great for the family .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the old ones........, 30 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of Cary Grant and although I had this film on VHS, it's great to now get it on DVD. I love the old films so this one really is for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Chris F (Abingdon, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] (DVD)
loved it excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD]
Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer [DVD] by Irving Reis (DVD - 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews