Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seaside stories to enthrall and inform
Coast has established itself as one of the most popular factual programmes on British TV and the fourth series continues to charm, inspire and educate.
The format remains the same; a journey around the UK coastline taken in geographical segments, dipping a toe into the social, geological, historical, maritime and natural history of each area in turn. Each hour-long...
Published on 2 Aug 2009 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Fluff T.V. " mixed with some interesting documentary
This is the kind of "documentary" to just turn on to have playing in the back ground to keep you company and every now and again you might see something interesting show up on it. You might hear about different types of rocks, how to make copper, cook sea weed,, how to care for baby seals. how to cook crabs,,,see some bats in caves...hover crafts......or you might hear...
Published 20 months ago by horoscopy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seaside stories to enthrall and inform, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Coast has established itself as one of the most popular factual programmes on British TV and the fourth series continues to charm, inspire and educate.
The format remains the same; a journey around the UK coastline taken in geographical segments, dipping a toe into the social, geological, historical, maritime and natural history of each area in turn. Each hour-long episode covers a variety of topics, switching between engaging expert presenters. There are usually half a dozen in-depth items and half as many snippets - in this series the shorter pieces are occasionally present by locals, explaining their craft, trade or artistic endeavour in person.
Each episode of Coast provides an interesting mix of glorious landscape photography and extremely affable, personal investigations into little-known secrets from each area. The presenters themselves offer a wide range of talents - this series is anchored by `action historian' Neil Oliver (never shy about stripping off, it seems!) with regulars Dr Alice Roberts, Hermione Cockburn and Nicholas Crane among others. There are new contributors too, and it was especially interesting for me to see wild swimmer Kate Rew taking the crew to new places off the Dover coast.

Although the format is familiar, the series producers have cleverly extended the scope of this series to keep it fresh and provide new material. So as well as the UK coast, Series Four visits further afield to the shores of Normandy and the land of the Vikings. This is an interesting twist, and one which helps to demonstrate the heritage we share with our nearest neighbours. Other highlights include casting a bronze sword using Cornish tin, the tale of a German POW great escape, the earliest writing in the British isles, the background to the Plimsoll line, the secret maps of the D-Day beaches, bats which live in abandoned bunkers, how silent movies were made, the geology of the Isle of Wight, the final port of call for the Titanic, and one of Brunel's most spectacular sections of railway. Plus you can rely on Coast to come up with at least one good lighthouse each season!

Coast is genuinely educational as well as being very entertaining. It frequently captures a passing moment in modern history, reflecting the ever-changing nature of an island nature. For example, the last `mud horse' fisherman appears in this series - in another decade, that craft may have gone for good. The delight of this series is that you discover you've learned a load of stuff at the end of each episode, and you weren't even trying to...
One very minor complaint about this series is that some of the newer presenters have taken to talking more about themselves than about the item they are investigating. A bit too much `me me me' - the older hands tend to concentrate on the subject matter and their reports are more interesting as a result.

No doubt this series will be repeated many times across the BBC channels, but it is certainly worth watching several times. It might have seemed as if the team had told all the stories worth hearing in previous seasons, but this collection of episodes proves that point to be wrong. There's probably even enough material for a fifth series, I suspect...

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to standard., 18 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Simon J. Archer (Hatfield, Herts.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Any doubts that the "Coast" Team would not be able to maintain the high standard of the first three series are dispelled by this "Coast and Beyond" series 4. Purists may not like the fact that some programmes travel beyond the British Isles (France and Norway are visited) but the tried and tested mix of history and geography continues to both educate and entertain. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near perfect popular educational show, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
At a time when many factual programs are presented with flashy graphics, over-bearing music and dizzying camerawork, Coast presents something a beacon of hope. It manages to avoid being dumbed down by presenting just enough interesting detail at a sensible length without being too cloying in the attempt to be educational in a populist way. And best of all there's not a celebrity in sight to take us on their holidays, sorry, the journey.

Any thought that after three years of sea, sand and cliffs the format would be running out of material are put to rest to the extent that this series is perhaps the best since the first one. Sensibly the makers have spread the definition of the UK coast to include areas far away from mainland Britain such as Normandy and Norway, with the acceptable conceit that many years ago they would have shared a common coastline. This enables them to tell fascinating stories such as completing the story of the Shetland Bus by showing what happened on the other side, as well as items on the D-Day landings.

This all suggests the format can continue for a while longer. I hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full toast to Coast!, 6 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the tv series and just had to buy for a gift for my father now living in South Africa. Scenery is beautiful, full of historical facts, a worthwhile gift to someone who enjoys watching about our landscape, the history, the countryside and the coast all rolled into one. A great value for money product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars United Kingdom Coastline, 18 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Joy L. Bowa (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have only seen one of the discs, as I live in Australia, and was lucky enough to view this as it was borrowed. I loved it so much, that I bought the whole series, and as I am going over to England to visit my daughter, and her family, I had them sent to her, and will be able to bring them home to Australia and view them at my leisure. I love the history of the UK, as we don't have as much history over here, and we all have ties with the UK. I am looking forward to seeing them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Brilliance from the "Coast" team!, 16 July 2011
By 
K. M. Jacobs (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is so good I have every season of these programmes and never get tiered of watching them every once in a while. Some will enjoy them for the educational element and some will enjoy them for the glorious way in which our wonderful British Coast and associated countryside has been filmed but without exception, I'm sure that everyone will enjoy them.
More brilliance from the BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coast series, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
''COAST''.IS THE BEST TOUR AROUND BRITAIN YOU CAN GET.IT NEVER GETS BORING.YOU CAN WATCH IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN.IT NOT ONLY TAKES THE TOUR, IT SHOWS HOW BRITAIN TICKS..HIGHLY RECOMMEND..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coast Series, 18 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent, very informative series, presented in a very user-friendly manner.
I now know so much more about our wonderful coastline and its history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coast Series 4, 28 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
We have bought all the Coast series and as with all the others it is brilliant, enjoyed all of it - can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of BBC & Open Universitys Finest, 31 Oct 2009
By 
D. L. Hodson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coast Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I already have the series 1to3 which i purchased from Amazon, and this series 4 and beyond is a must. The presenters of the programme are amazing, very knowlegable,keep you interested throughout the programmes. These DVD s i treasure for my grand children. So lets have plenty more BBC & Open UniversityCoast Series 4 [DVD] [2008]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coast - BBC Series 4 (New Packaging) [DVD]
Coast - BBC Series 4 (New Packaging) [DVD] by Oliver Clark (DVD - 2011)
6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews