Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating magazine-style guide. As good as always...
After five series, you might think that the Coast team could have run out of topics to cover. But clever expansion of the theme to include other countries, combined with intelligent research into the coastal counties of the UK, have produced another eight, hour-long episodes which are thoroughly enjoyable while being informative and educational. At its high points Coast...
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Fluff T.V." mixed with bits of interesting documentary
This is the kind of "documentary" to just turn on to have playing in the back ground to keep you company and every now and again you might see something interesting show up on it. You might hear about different types of rocks, how to make copper, cook sea weed,, how to care for baby seals. how to cook crabs,,,see some bats in caves...hover crafts......or you might hear...
Published on 3 Nov. 2012 by horoscopy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating magazine-style guide. As good as always..., 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
After five series, you might think that the Coast team could have run out of topics to cover. But clever expansion of the theme to include other countries, combined with intelligent research into the coastal counties of the UK, have produced another eight, hour-long episodes which are thoroughly enjoyable while being informative and educational. At its high points Coast is charming, heart-warming and jaw-dropping. Inevitably there are moments which are less gripping, or which feel a little repetitive, but overall this format continues to provide high quality entertainment. Much of the photography of the natural marine world is just plain gorgeous.

The formula is the same as earlier series: historian Neil Oliver has become the anchorman who introduces each episode, explains its themes and introduces the other presenters. Oliver also scampers off to investigate his own segments in each show, like visiting the Anglo-Saxon site at Sutton Hoo or the birthplace of Lord Nelson. Other regular presenters include Dr Alice Roberts (who usually does sciencey stuff); Nicholas Crane (geography, history, landscape and so on); Miranda Krestovnikoff (wildlife); Mark Horton (naval history); Dick Strawbridge (agriculture, naval bits, eco things).
Our favourites are without doubt Dr Alice and Nick Crane, who bring such knowledgeable enthusiasm to their subjects that it's tricky not to become intrigued in the oddest things - like the first radar experiments, isolating the smell of the sea, capturing a cloud in a jar or finding a lost land which has sunk beneath the sea. Mark Horton is a little harder to like; he's a bit squeaky for our tastes, but even so we were amazed at the discovery of chunks of Brunel's Great Eastern being pulled from the mud of the Mersey.
Coast also includes little snippets from local folk in each area, where people whose lives are intertwined with the ocean explain about their hobbies or livelihoods. One artist made for a fabulous five minutes, where he built sculptures on the seashore made by balancing odd-shaped stones on top of each other. They appeared to defy gravity as he scampered around the rocks, holding the stones in place and then carefully stepping away. A magic moment.

Perhaps our favourite episode of this series was one of the foreign trips; Denmark was interesting, but Brittany was a particular treasure. The topics reflected the similarities between that French stretch of coast and its Celtic cousin in the UK, from sharing places called Land's End (Finistere) and Cornwall to the standing stones of Carnac. Nick Crane's investigation into the Onion Johnnies was priceless, and explained exactly why we think of Frenchmen as wearing stripey jumpers, riding bicycles covered in onion strings! The story of the WW2 fighter of the Isle de Sein was particularly poignant. And the footage of the wild Atlantic ocean, smashing into the rocky shores and lighthouses of the Brittany coast, was purely magnificent.
Not every segment manages to enthral. For instance, Miranda often seems to come a cropper looking for wildlife (no dolphins today!), and crustaceans aren't that gripping. Similarly, Dr Alice's experiment involving musical sand was, er, a bit unconvincing.

However, in the main Coast still provides excellent entertainment which combines social history with a solid scientific background. Watching the programmes again is like settling down for a natter with a group of old friends. Coast also provides really useful inspiration for anyone considering touring in the UK, and looking for interesting sites to visit.
Documentary TV at its best. Recommended.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coast 5, 1 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again the Coast team produce a fantastic series. At the end of each series you think they can't do another one as good but then they do it all again. This series trip to Denmark is one of the best Coast programmes ever. As a teacher you watch each programme and see all the opportunities to share the wonderful geographic and historic knowledge with the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still interesting, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
As ever, the BBC have proved they, or their program foundry, can get some things right. Factual, interesting, (mainly) well presented, and the new faces fit into the brand.
There are touches of stagnation, and one has to wonder how much longer this can be, and should be, continued.
Neil Oliver does his usual and professional job and the others aren't far behind.
A better way of learning the geography of the country, and may the next challenge should be to find and inland parallel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Americans view point of U.K. programing, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Bill Clark (Rural, western Washington......USA......farm country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
In the last year I have purchased dozens of Dvd's from Amazon.uk.com along with a multi-regional dvd player. "Coast 5" is lots of fun to watch.
The complete "Coast" series is awesome. I enjoy each and every one of the hosts in this program. This series has inspired me to purchase many other history Dvd's.
I especially love the programs that that both Alice Roberts and Neil Oliver host.
Currently I own everything that the good Dr. Alice Roberts has produced, and most of what Neil Oliver hosts.
Here in the U.S., in my opinion, the movies and programs that televion has to offer
are lame.....don't even hold a candle to what the U.K. has to offer. I feel that Hollywood is disfunctional and out of touch with what mentally stable people really want to view. In my world , paying for cable t.v. is a waste of money. I prefer collecting quality Dvd's that I can enjoy and share with friends and family.
All are spellbound by the shows I present to them.......thank you G.B.and you folks at the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coast 5, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jackson "Emjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
All I can say is that I love it. This is one series that has got me hooked. It's just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of Britain, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Rev. J. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You really cannot go wrong with this series. The programme cannot be faulted and if you love nature and |Britains coast line, then buy this set. It is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Broadly appealing, beautifully shot, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
We so enjoy these series. All of the episodes are interesting, visually stunning and will appeal to a really wide range of interests from history to geology to biology and beyond. Excellent viewing for the whole family and seriously enticing us to spend a holiday touring along the UK coast sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series, collecting them all, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
Very educational, the whole of Britain's coast covered in a fantastic way. A must for all the family I am collecting the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic presentation of the British Isles, and now also for neighborouring countries. Not just a geographic tour, but an insight to Technologies, The Arts, and Social aspects of the areas visited. A very indictive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Coast!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a great fan of the Coast Series. I bought series 4 a few years ago as a gift to my father who lives abroad. I've bought series five as I'm also a fan of Neil Oliver and Coast isn't quite the same without his Scottish brogue! It's a gift and is again being sent to South Africa to my father for Christmas! It arrived promptly a few days after I ordered it. I can always rely on Amazon to deliver every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD]
Coast - BBC Series 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] by Jane McWilliams (DVD - 2011)
£10.09
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews