Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable
There may be more sophisticated systems of getting your vinyl collection transferred to digital. But this piece of kit does the job just fine. Once transferred to a computer (I use an iMac but it will work with Windows machines of course) it can go straight to iTunes at the touch of a button. From there all transferability options are available as normal (iPod; iPad; CD...
Published on 22 April 2012 by Mr. Christopher J. Hughes

versus
91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few things to ION out
ION's USB turntables have come a long way since the earliest models. No more painstaking set-up and calibration of the stylus and tone-arm, no more £150 price-tag for even the basic version without a protective lid. Now, everything is quite literally "plug'n'play" straight out of the box.

The Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable is never going to win...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by Eric Generic


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
There may be more sophisticated systems of getting your vinyl collection transferred to digital. But this piece of kit does the job just fine. Once transferred to a computer (I use an iMac but it will work with Windows machines of course) it can go straight to iTunes at the touch of a button. From there all transferability options are available as normal (iPod; iPad; CD etc).

The only mild frustration is that even though you are invited to type in title, artist and album details I can't get that information to transfer to iTunes automatically. But everything can be typed up once the tracks are in iTunes. So best to wait until the tracks are there and then do the typing, otherwise you end up doing it twice.

For the price, this does the job well enough and there is the potential for also transferring tapes, but you have to plug in a tape player first.

Recommended for ease and speed, but probably not for HiFi buffs who want to fiddle with the quality by removing groovy "ticks" and other fine tuning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few things to ION out, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
ION's USB turntables have come a long way since the earliest models. No more painstaking set-up and calibration of the stylus and tone-arm, no more £150 price-tag for even the basic version without a protective lid. Now, everything is quite literally "plug'n'play" straight out of the box.

The Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable is never going to win any audiophile awards, but that is not its purpose. By nature, it's meant to get those vinyl LPs and Singles digitised as easily as possible. They've even come up with a purely USB-powered design, so no more power adaptors and leads. It's truly compact and lightweight, yet all the major components are protected when not in use.

Sounds great? Well, yes. It's not without problems, however.

The supplied software is configured to automatically convert the recordings into 192kps MP3 files, which go directly into your iTunes library. This assumes that no further editing of the recording is needed or desired, or that a better quality is preferred. Altering iTunes import settings to 320kps gets around the first issue, but using an alternative piece of freeware (such as Audacity) is really the only way around the problem of sprucing up the vinyl rips. The quality of the direct-to-iTunes recordings (at 320kps) is suprisingly good from a clean source, punchy and as good as any digital file you'd find for sale.

Unfortunately, a major flaw in the supplied software means that many recordings stop if the music itself enters a quiet phase or breaks for a split-second. No amount of retries will make it continue recording the full song. For this reason alone, an alternative (such as Audacity) is absolutely necessary, so ensure familiarity with another piece of digitising software beforehand!

By default, plugging in the USB turntable will cut the sound from your speakers. Again, this can be solved (and many of the troubleshooting issues are featured in the FAQ provided with the booklet), so that listening to the recording in real-time is possible.

So, in conclusion the upsides to this product are:

- Instant "plug'n'play" ability, with no need for an AC power source.
- Price
- Decent quality recordings
- Compatible with Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7 as well as Mac OS.
- Size and weight, with the portability that ensues.

But the downsides include:

- Useless software that requires a more reliable alternative.
- Changes to PC's sound settings needed while using the product.
- 192kps rips directly to iTunes are not everyone's ideal, even if there is the option to override the defaults and make WAV files in Audacity.
- Questions remain over the long-term quality of the stylus and plate.

With all this in mind, it's a mini USB record player that can create very acceptable digital copies of your vinyl collection - if you have the time and the know-how to tweak all the settings and use a better piece of software than that provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
Great value. Very good quality. Easy setup. Recording quality excellent and the software very intuitive. Can't go wrong at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damaged our LPs too :o(, 14 April 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Owen "trisho41" (chesham bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
Bought this in John Lewis yesterday on the spur of the moment. Great device, simple set up, takes up no space and is a great thing to have - ok not fit for an audiophile but does the job. THEN we read a review on here about damaged albums ... we looked at one we had played and indeed, 3 round rings almost 'melted' onto the vinyl. Some of the records were ok, one or two were damaged. It must be dependant on exactly what the LP is made from...
It wasn't a removable sticky residue either, but literally more like it had melted into the grooves :o(

Will have to try and put something over the 3 pads to stop this from happening... EDITED - have placed a piece of paper over the offending pads - just cut out a 7" single sized sheet of ordinary paper and popped it on the deck and this has stopped the problem. Would have given it 5 stars were it not for what it did to Larks Tongues in Aspic! One star (my original grading) seemed a bit mean though, but DO NOT play your fave LPS without covering the pads, just incase!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and very cheap also., 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
Great piece of kit... converted all my Al Jolson collection and Pavarotti as well, kept the wife awake for days while I did it... magic. recommended to all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will, 22 Jan 2012
Bought this thinking it'd be ok but, playback aside, the table itself has three rubber pads that the record sits upon. These pads have permanently marked the last tracks of all of the records I have played on this turntable. So now the last tracks have this annoying intermitent "fffttt" noise when the stylus goes over the markings.

If you have treasured, rare, or valuable records, do not by this machine. If you like your music without "fffttt" noises, do not by this machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't bother, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
If you are thinking of buying one of these Ion analogue to digital turntables, don't! you will be wasting your money even though they seem reasonable value. I bought the basic turntable and was shocked at the build quality and recording quality. I was not expecting studio standard recordings but the level of background noise and general low quality volume was unbearable. I scrapped the whole lot and dug out my old Dual 505 turntable connected it to my computer with a phono to USB cable [actually an Ion one] and downloaded Audacity. What a difference! the software takes a bit of working out but you will soon get the hang of it with practice. if you don't have a turntable invest in a reasonable budget one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for money, 20 Nov 2012
I purchased this when the company stopped charging silly prices and I'm very impressed with it for transferring my LP's to the ipod.

Lets start off with the downside

* Arm is a bit noisy -but no problem after the transfer play.
* The transfer software is rubbish - just records and dumps into iplayer. However it will also play direct into Audacity freeware so you can then remove pops clicks and background noise. Audacity has lots of how to videos on youtube.
* Rubber stops on table-discussed by others but seems to stop after the 1st few records -so don't start off with your favourites.
* The plastic lid is pretty but useless. It won't keep the dust out and I can't use it when playing for fear of jogging the arm.

I have about 75 Lp's I've never found on cd's. Over the years I've transferred by standard deck to audio input with variable success rates.

Now the plus's:

* The deck makes little noise and what noise it does make can be removed by audacity without damaging the tracks.
* The polystyrene box can be placed under the deck for extra noise protection
* The sound quality to me (and I'm no audiophile) is pretty close to Cd to my ears and sounds good thru headphones. Most recordings are better than my previous audio transfers.

So with it its new low prices The Ion Quick Play LP Deck is excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply not fit for purpose, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
This device is not fit for purpose.

1) Cannot maintain a steady 33rpm so wow and flutter all over the place to such an extent the music was really painful to listen to (probably due to being powered from the USB)
2) The three little rubber studs are insufficient to properly support & hold a record and they made three little marks on the vinyl (thankfully only on 2 test LPs I tried out rather than anything valued)

Also since i am not part of the Apple crowd i was rather reluctant to have to install i-Tunes (but I'd live with that)
However when i took it back to the shop for a refund i decided to give the more expensive ion "Profile Pro" a chance (i still really want to hear my old vinyl again) and this has been much more successful - not perfect - but a 500% improvement compared to this cheaper "quick play compact" device (still nowhere near the quality of my long deceased favourite Garrard SP25 of the 1970's, but I wouldn't expect that sort of quality for this price)- this improvement is almost certainly due to the fact that it is mains powered and has a full size platter that supports & holds an LP correctly. I still don't appreciate having to use i-tunes but will live with that for the time being until i work out how to do it directly.

Summary - dont waste your money on the "quick-play" ; the "profile pro" is what you need for a half decent outcome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB turntable Converter, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ION Quick Play LP Compact Vinyl to USB Turntable (Electronics)
The cheapest I could find and easy to use. Only problem is that there is no sensor that detects the end of the record so you have to monitor the time to ensure you do not get a long pause on the records last tack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews