Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice coat.
This is a lovely woolen overcoat based on the one worn by the 10th Doctor, David Tennant.

While not 100% screen accurate (the lapels are a little larger and the fabric is a wool blend rather than the faux suede of the original) this has been very well manufactured to function as a wearable overcoat and not just a costume piece, so if you're out and about on a...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by P. Watkins

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No No No!
Do NOT buy this! It is stupidly overpriced, and the fabric is crap, the lapels do not stick, it rips so easily.... worth £50 max!
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Luke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice coat., 30 Jan 2012
By 
P. Watkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a lovely woolen overcoat based on the one worn by the 10th Doctor, David Tennant.

While not 100% screen accurate (the lapels are a little larger and the fabric is a wool blend rather than the faux suede of the original) this has been very well manufactured to function as a wearable overcoat and not just a costume piece, so if you're out and about on a cold winter's day and layer up with this, you'll stay nice and warm!

It's a good size too (being 6'1" and of average build I purchased the large one) it fits very well and finishes just above the ankles - so you'll need a big wardrobe to keep it in.

With 2 outer pockets and 2 welted inside pockets there's plenty of room to keep your loose change (or sonic screwdriver) and it was a buttoned vent up the back too. It also comes with a spare button should you need to effect any repairs (although if you look after it you shouldn't need to!)

Overall, a very nice product for the price and worth considering if you're after a smart, long overcoat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the fence? please read, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On any review there is a personal score and a realistic one, on this i am trying to be entirely unbiased based on the advertised product but obviously there are personal reasons to me buying this coat, what i want from it and what i expect. There are two types of customers on amazon, those that are happy with the product and those that arent, and i am definately the former. I would rate this product with what i was wanting and hoping and customer service from scifi sellers a 5 star.

People dont look at the 4star and think wow, thats a great score, they look at it and think why did that dude not rate it 5. I bought this coat as a coat, not as a replica for cosplay and such. I feel terrible rating it down for such a mark as you can get products cheeper on ebay from honestdragon etc that would act as replicas at a third of the price, but from being an honestdragon customer (not with this coat) you get a cosplay item, you can wear it to fancy dress. But if you pay 300 pounds for something (like in this case) you expect more, and i got it. This is the most expensive coat ive bought and it is a coat, there are issues with it resembling the coat worn in the show but if you read on im sure any dissuasions anyone could have maybe answered.

The material is not exact. Simple google searches will show that there was an issue with the exact faux sued that was used for the show. I really want to address this outright as i feel through previous purchases that this could be adressed. This product is a wool product instead of the faux sued. When you see the coat when its not zoomed in it looks fine and when zoomed in its only slightly noticable. The thing about the material though is, i bought a pretty expensive wool coat from a high end shop like the house of fraisers for about the same price, the wool used in that shorter coat was of a comparible value to the one used in the coat. The wool imo was the same quality and as such you might not be buying the exact replica cosplay outfit but you are buying a very high quality coat that the house of fraisers would sell.

Scifi collector shop; the people that i bought the coat from were only too happy to help. You spend money on a product you want it there and then and there is nothing more disheartening than reading you may not get it for over ten days. I was so dissapointed when reading i could not order next day, however i ordered on the monday, it came by the wednesday. When emailing them they were only too happy to help with arrival times and such. Great service from them.

Cut wise, the coat seems very very similar to the one in the show. If i were nit picking i may pick on abbyshot for not making it an inch or two longer. You can get longer versions than the large i ordered but then the rest of the coat would look like it were swallowing me. Whilst theres always issues with personal size, i am a tall, fairly slim guy, much like tennant so i feel that the cut of the coat should match me well but it seems that the cut maybe slightly more aimed at more robust guys, however it is always hard to judge such things especially with all the running and allonzes in the show.

Whether you buy this product or not i guess depends on what you are looking for from it however i feel if you are spending 300 pounds on a product you want more than a cosplay weekend write off, you want a coat, and thats what i got. There are some issues behind 'exact' details but thats only on uber closer inspection that isnt warranted on cosplay weekends, nor in the street. I didnt want a coat that every second person would go, 'hmmmmm, geek', i wanted a wearable coat of comparable value to what i payed, and thats exactly what i got.

my personal score for this product would have been 5
however given with what its advertised it has to get a 4. Don't let that put you off though as this coat is high in value.
I was also on the fence with just rating this coat a 5 to combat the other low ratings for it as i feel they are so unfair on it however i didnt as they obviously had a reason for doing so even if i whole heartedly disagree. Bottom line; this is an expensive product but if you even just thought hmmm, my advice is go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great coat!, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Tristram Oaten "Oatman" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic coat, very true to what Tennant wore on the show. Quality is fine, I have had none of the problems I read about in the single bad review.
If you live in London, their shop is just on the strand!

Only problem is with sizing: I ordered the large, when I should have ordered a Medium. The very helpful chap in the shop said this was a common issue. Best order one size smaller than you usual go for, as the cut is better snug fitting.

If you are concerned about the price, I challenge you to get a full-length greatcoat at this price elsewhere, it's an unusual coat with a price that reflects it.

Bottom line: Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful coat, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While not 100% screen accurate, you have to look closely to see that. It's an excellent coat and will keep me very warm in winter. It billows dramatically every time you move as well, so that's a big plus. The reason it's not five stars is the price, would be more suited at around the £130 mark methinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No No No!, 18 Jan 2012
Do NOT buy this! It is stupidly overpriced, and the fabric is crap, the lapels do not stick, it rips so easily.... worth £50 max!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the heck is that?, 30 Nov 2012
Being a huge fan of the show, i know that looks nothing like the overcoat he wears. If anyone buys this....well you are a fool as you can buy overcoats like that for about 100-180 in your closest city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Tenth Doctor David Tennant Coat (XXL)
£325.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews