Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Strange World
Talking rocks, talking dogs, off the wall private inner thoughts. This has to be the archive release of the year. Network should be congratulated. A genuine long unseen classic that is up there with the best. Years ahead of its time. If you're a fan of classic British TV shows buy it before they all go. Extras include on set photos and five minutes of contemporary...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by B. Nicholson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro TV series
I never got to see the whole series - I was too young, and my parents didn't like it. Out of curiosity, I bought the DVD, and watched at home. It's not really comedy, and it is very surreal, but it was groundbreaking TV. Strange and quirky.
Published 15 months ago by M. Dugdale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strange World of Gurney Slade, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent. I have waited over fifty years to see the whole of this ground-breaking series. It is a shame no more episodes were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars into old TV shows, 8 Feb 2012
By 
J. Jewels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
Unusual for the time it was made and that it has survived in the archives. Anthony Newley and Anneka Wills were an item when this was made and had a daughter who sadly died in an accident when she was only in her 20s. The show is not belly laughs comedy, all depends if you like surreal stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strange World of Gurney Slade, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
I'd forgotten how strange this tv series was. The music is totally unforgettable.
In only 6 episodes there was a certain surrealism that would later surface in other tv series such as Monty Python. The ending still caught me out! Interesting, entertaining, and it was a Must Have for my dvd collection. Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange world indeed, 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this when it was first broadcast, This purchase is first class and takes me back to younger days. Price & delivery all excellent, what more needs to be said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very strange, 10 Oct 2012
By 
B. Crossland "Bazza" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
I was reticent about buying this, fifty two years after I first viewed it as a 13 year old schoolboy.
Would it have aged badly, like me?
Would it be amusing?
Well, first of all the quality is excellent, black and white, but sharp, almost as if it had been shot yesterday.
A question........... Why, when I'm watching Gurney Slade, do I keep thinking of 'The Prisoner', which appeared 8 years later?
Maybe it's the oddness of the two series, maybe the idea of one man against the system?
Strange world is just that, strange! innanimate objects talk back to our man, brilliantly played by Tony Newley,
He seems to be looking for a different view of life.
It really is difficult to call the programmes funny, although written by 'Sid & Dick' later to scribe for Morecambe & Wise, it simply isn't rib tickling!
But, it is 'of it's time', or is it?
There, you see I'm having great difficulty even 'reviewing' this DVD.
If like me you are curious, and in your mid sixties, go with Gurney Slade into his strange world of 1960,witness the vacuum cleaner dance, with the young, pretty Una Stubbs, but stick with it.
Gurney Slade is a bit like a cold shower.
It will probably do you good, but may be a little hard at the time. Strange...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEEDS OF THE STARMAN!, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT BEEN TO THE STRANGE WORLD OF MR SLADE,I SUPPOSE IF YOU CROSS SAY TONY HANCOCK DIATRIBE WITH THE ROBBIE WILLIAMS OF HIS DAY YOU MAYBE CLOSE TO ANTHONY NEWLEY.THAT WAY BACK IN THE 60S YOU MIX THIS LIKABLE CHARACTER WITH SOME WHIMSICAL AND PARANOID DESTRACTION YOU MIGHT FIND YOURSELF CARRIED ON A BLISSFUL RIDE FROM THE MONOTONY OF THE WORLD OF TV (EVEN IN 1960)! TO HUMMING GREENSLEEVES WITH A WONDERFUL SCARECROW (I LOVED THAT SCENE) IT DOES HAVE INFLUENCE (PETER SELLERS COULD HAVE PLAYED SEVERAL CHARACTERS,BUT TO PICK HOLES IS NOT WORTHY AS 2014 HAS NOTHING TO BOAST ABOUT! TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE GREATNESS OF THE LEAD MAN, BOWIE SAID HE WAS ACTING OUT BEING MR NEWLEY FOR ABOUT A YEAR IN HIS YOUNGER SELF...SAY NO MORE JUMP INTO GURNEYLAND!.VIA AMAZON UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insired off the wall fun..., 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy is one of those things that varies from person to person.

This is a true 'curates egg' of a programme, not always laugh out loud.

As a historic record it shows fashions, roads and transport in a whole new light; were the roads of the 1960's really this quiet.

The other interesting record is that of the various performers who are now long established house-hold names.

Buy this box set and enjoy some of the most surreal writing and plotting this side of Spike Milligan's Q-series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very dated but extraordinary to see again, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
I was very young when this was first aired by ATV. Anthony Newley was very successful at the time and this show was given a prime time Saturday evening slot...unfortunately as is the way with commercial broadcasting as it didn't get the viewers it was expected to, it got hastily shifted to later in the schedules. It is so clearly of its time and so strange and quirky, but I loved it then and I love it now although the middle episodes on the series lack a little sparkle, as they seem a little aimless even if you take into account the very surreal nature of the series as a whole; the opening episode where he walks off the live TV broadcast and into the street and eventually meets the fantasy figure of Una Stubbs from the vacuum cleaner poster is a memorable television moment, and the closing episode still gives me the shivers. It did when I was tweve years old and it still does today! There is something unsettling about ventriloquists' dolls. As an aside the series looks like it might have been filmed in a different order to the one it was broadcast in -- there is a cast change in one of the supporting actors partway. A precursor in a way to 'Stop the World' this is notable very early sixties' TV, and Tony Newley is much missed as a very inventive and very fine performer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sadly no channel 4 or bbc 2 back in 1960, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
had those 2 channals been around then TSWOGS would have had a cult audience and more then 6 shows would have been made.a show like it would no more be a success on one of main tv stations now then it was then.still six shows are better then none but i wish more could have been made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, amazing, way before its time, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] (DVD)
This short series is amazing-think Monty Python, Might Boosh, Two Ronnies, Steptoe and Son all combined into one and this is it-except Anthony Newley talks to the camera first-person. Add in a little Rentaghost for the special effects and you're there.

I loved this DVD and saw so many modern copies out there that use the same premise but perhaps in not so innocent and naive a way. Newley acts out a surrealist comedic role, sharing his observations on the real world back in 1960 but bizarrely most of it is relevant to 2012.

If you use this DVD and up scaling player and TV the picture quality is great-4:3 but great nonetheless and way ahead of its time. This truly is an amazing DVD - get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD]
The Strange World of Gurney Slade [DVD] by Alan Tarrant (DVD - 2011)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews