Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book to get you started
The book is quite short and easy to read but gets right into the important stuff like using the command line, setting up users and permissions, installing software, editing config files and setting up various types of servers. By the time I started reading this book I'd already spent a couple of months dabbling with Ubuntu's GUI desktop and got a web server up and running...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Dafydd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of this is useful.
The first part of this book is largely a copy a paste ofThe Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides). Don't buy both. However his writing style is good and it gives me confidence to enter the dark world of line command.
Published 4 months ago by Zipner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book to get you started, 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
The book is quite short and easy to read but gets right into the important stuff like using the command line, setting up users and permissions, installing software, editing config files and setting up various types of servers. By the time I started reading this book I'd already spent a couple of months dabbling with Ubuntu's GUI desktop and got a web server up and running in order to teach myself PHP/MySql. However, going back and learning what the commands I'd been typing actually meant (as opposed to just copying them from websites and youtube vids) and how the operating system I was using actually worked was really valuable. There are lots of books out there for those wanting to get started with linux but many are either too complicated from the outset or drip feed you information so slowly they get very boring very quickly. This little guide, however, is very well balanced taking you straight to the important topics and covering them in just enough detail to get you up and running. If you're looking for very detailed guides and in-depth configuration information then look elsewhere, likewise if you're a complete computer novice this probably isn't the book for you but if you know a fair amount about computers (probably from a windows background) and you want to get up and running with Ubuntu in no time then this is definitely a great little book to get you started. Oh and you can't argue with the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of Ubuntu? Get this book, 31 Oct 2011
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
Ubuntu linux desk-top is a very competent operating system to rival Windows 7, with the big advantage that it is free, as is the Office suite, LibreOffice, which is as good as MS Office and hundreds of other free programs; it also doesn't need antivirus. Unlike France, where Ubuntu is very common, and used by government departments, it is seen as something "geeky" in the UK.
This is an excellent e-book, it is written around Ubuntu version 11.04, we currently have version 11.10, but the information is still relevant. The latest versions of Ubuntu desk-top are fully featured, they just work and you need very little technical knowledge to use them, however some knowledge is useful. Like Mac OSX Ubuntu is based on Unix and the book explains the command line and how to use it to perform various tasks, this does at first seem daunting if you come from the MS Windows world, but it is explained well and you can "dip" in and find what you need.
Ubuntu can be used on a server and there are several chapters on that; I use it on various laptops and that is well covered, it lists the 7 best applications to install, how to create a bootable USB drive, gaming, running Windows software, ebooks, converting audio and video and configuring the Unity user interface.
Ubuntu comes with the Ubuntu Software Centre where software can be found and downloaded very easily; the book tends to use the command line in preference to the Software Centre. One of the problems in Ubuntu is playing MP3s and DVDs as due to copyright restrictions the codecs aren't included, you need to install the ubuntu-restricted-extras, the book tells you how to do this from the command line, however it doesn't tell you to install the libdvdcss2 library for playing commercial DVDs, if you install the ubuntu-restricted-extras from the Software Store it does tell you to do that.
There are laptops and PCs we have which can be given a new life with Ubuntu and this book is a great way of doing it at a bargain price. For most uses you won't miss Windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little starter guide, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
This is brilliant for someone just beginning to work with the command line. It sets out step-by-step instructions to do many of the day to day tasks a Ubuntu user will need. It's very clear and simple, but not patronising and it doesn't cut corners. In addition, it is insanely cheap. It's handy to have it on the Kindle - netbook in one hand, kindle in the other, and I can learn anywhere. I'd be delighted if this author wrote another one for intermediate users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
I'm a long term IT guy - started back with Windows 3!! Never been in to UNIX based systems so had sidestepped Linux too. But these days more and more companies want the skills so I bit the bullet. This book was a god send!! Clearly written and easy to read it walks you through GUI and command line for all major tasks. I had Ubuntu desktops and servers running in minutes!!

If you are new to Linux this book will help you, and even more so if you have chose Ubuntu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And I thought Ubuntu was going to be easy to get into and use, 11 July 2014
By 
AlanK32 (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
.....And I thought Ubuntu was going to be easy to get into and use. If I'm going to do it then Mr Moeller's book seems to be the way. Many thanks to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why do Amazon do this, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
I've not even had a chance to look at this yet. I bought it as I am fed up with Microsoft keep changing their operating system. So I decided to give Linux a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some of this is useful., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
The first part of this book is largely a copy a paste ofThe Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides). Don't buy both. However his writing style is good and it gives me confidence to enter the dark world of line command.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Primer, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
An easy to read and understand beginners guide to using the command line in Ubuntu. Can be a bit repetitive at times as the author uses the same text to describe installation of all the various applications he covers. However I learnt quite a few new things and I would describe myself as having some command line experience already, although something of a newbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book, very informative and has one very good feature - it is easy to read, well laid out and free of overpowering "jargon" common in this type of book, a pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied customer, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Ubuntu Beginner's Guide - Seventh Edition (Kindle Edition)
Great for beginners and incredible value. Clearly written for anyone who wants to try out Ubuntu but isn't sure where to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews