Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read ...
I have to admit before i start i am not one for writing reviews. This really is an interesting book , typical of the genre i read , as soon as i had finished i purchased the two follow up books .I think it took about three hours to read so it is quite a short book but i have come to find that with a lot of kindle titles anyway .Saying that the story held my interest...
Published on 21 Oct 2011 by Karen

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure
The story line is pretty basic - one girl, two boys and a love traingle. what makes the book intresting is that both boys (one a vampire, one a vampire hunter) fall for the same girl. However I think there was a lot missing from this story there was no background detail and lacked something - it would have been a really good book if there was more to it. A easy book to...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read ..., 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit before i start i am not one for writing reviews. This really is an interesting book , typical of the genre i read , as soon as i had finished i purchased the two follow up books .I think it took about three hours to read so it is quite a short book but i have come to find that with a lot of kindle titles anyway .Saying that the story held my interest therefore i wasnt able to stop reading if i wanted to . I would more than recommend this book , what have you got to lose its free , judge for yourselves , But please please please give it a try .
Apologies in advance if you dont find this review helpful , although i hope you take my advice and give the book a try .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
The story line is pretty basic - one girl, two boys and a love traingle. what makes the book intresting is that both boys (one a vampire, one a vampire hunter) fall for the same girl. However I think there was a lot missing from this story there was no background detail and lacked something - it would have been a really good book if there was more to it. A easy book to read. Sorry if review not helpful to people - my first review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Blood Haze" series book 1, 23 Oct 2011
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
Alice is a 17 year old vampire enrolling in school for the first time. Previously somewhat isolated from humans, she wants to keep her head down and finish the school year without drawing any attention to herself. Unfortunately she is soon caught in a love triangle; totally in love with the sensitive but damaged Kai yet attracted to the handsome Max; although both young men hide their own secrets and are more than they initially appear.

I liked Alice. Her mental observations are somewhat quirky at times and she is a likeable character determined to do the right thing. Unfortunately when things go awry in Alice's life, it's all down to Alice. She acts rather senselessly at times and although she deeply regrets her actions, I was left wondering why she did what she did and exhibited no self-control or tact. A little of either would result in a far easier life.

The story line is interesting as Alice acclimatises to constant interaction with humans, plus there is a dramatic back story and some nice little twists added. There is a little too much ease in which some humans accept Alice is a vampire (what no screaming or accusations of madness?) but on the whole this is a highly enjoyable paranormal teen romance with enough mystery left unexplained to spur on the reader to continue with "Storm" and "Betrayal".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immature characters maybe a young teenager would like it, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
This book was free. But it wasn't worth my time at all. The characters where awful. I can't belive that a 16 year old would fall so deeply in love with someone in under 12 hours. The whole way they aproached love and feelings was just immature, young and unrealistic. There are some wonderful, free, well written books out there. This is not one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awful, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
This was awful. The entire book was full of spelling mistakes and grammatical errors (which I would normally blame on bad editing, but the writing in general wasn't particularly great either). The characters were all so annoying and juvenile. The plot, or lack thereof, was so unbelievably predictable.
I REALLY disliked this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 24 May 2011
By 
V. Cano - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
There is something about vampires that is so thrilling, it's no coincidence that the majority of the newer Young Adult books have embraced them to the degree they have. This book, the first in a series, is one of the many that provide an entertaining view into the vampire's relationship with humans in an urban setting.
The story itself is interesting, with various aspects that are new to the vampire genre, changing things up a little from the usual solely-blood-drinkers and night-time-loving bunch. The plot was fast paced and amusing, never allowing the reader to grow bored. Some aspects of the story seem a tad forced, like the two main characters falling so irrevocably and quickly in love. But, it worked for Twilight, so who's to say it doesn't work here?
The characters are really what make the book different. Alice is fun and someone with a strong core, not a whimpering female, which is refreshing. Kai also breaks away from the typical male character. He is vulnerable and weak, yet oddly charming in his way. Max on the other hand, is what we expect, rugged, strong, possessive. A well balanced triangle. Some of their actions, however, are a bit jarring. One moment any two of them are fighting and the next everything is forgiven. I think their reactions sometimes are a bit exaggerated, but it doesn't interfere much with the story itself, just with the believability of them as characters.
All in all, this is a fun beginning to what I'm sure will be an engrossing series. If you like paranormal romances, or just a good, easy read, then this book is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
I have not read any paranormal novels before, but was looking forward to something different. It turned out to be very Mills and Boon, and if the word vampire had not been used occasionally, I might have thought it was. I did read it to the end, in hope of a twist, but was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreary and rushed :o(, 18 July 2012
By 
K. Morris "Kirsty" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
I didn't really enjoy this. The fact that the main character was a vampire didn't really have any impact on the story until near the end and even then it was a bit wishy-washy.

Declarations of love are made when the characters don't even know each other. I felt no connection to any of the characters and didn't really care either way what decisions she made.

Jamie picks up a role towards the end that just doesn't make much sense. How they felt like family after one afternoon of bowling is beyond me.

I just didn't get it. I won't be downloading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, really fantastic read. The story was great and kept you guessing which I love when reading this type of book.
Tracy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close But No Cigar!, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: Shelter (Blood Haze: Book One) A Paranormal Romance (Kindle Edition)
The story is good, if not basic. Girl is a vampire. Girl meets guy. Falls in love. Meets another "Oh so hot!" guy. Love triangle ensues... Followed by tragic events.

Anyway, I enjoyed the story in theory. I would of preferred the characters to be older, it seemed unrealistic.
The writing was not so good. The spelling? Awful. The Grammer? What Grammer?

At one point the wrong character's name was used!

Anyway, in theory good stuff! Once you get to reading it however... Well, that's another story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews