Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of 2011, 1 Nov 2011
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
There's a great temptation upon the first listen through of any new album to immediately label it and stick to that opinion through thick and thin. For years I hung onto the "fact" that Oasis' Be Here Now was a misunderstood classic, for instance. With more years on the planet comes more experience and less haste in jumping to conclusions.

So despite listening to Little Red Boots once through and being utterly convinced by it's genius I thought that I would hang back. I'd sleep on it and come back the next day. Maybe a late night run-through after one hell of day had given me a false impression...turns out it hadn't one little bit.

It may seem strange to speak of "less haste" and then admit that less than a week in I can label this CD my favourite album of 2011 but it really is that good. You probably didn't think you needed a 21st Century Dolly Parton in your life but Ortega could fill that position (she is that good) even if there is far more to her than that.

The biggest example of the "Parton" vibe is the title track; at once playful and sexy it's a pretty confident statement and perhaps offers up my only regret about the album - this should perhaps have kicked things off. It's no big worry though because there's a general level of excellence virtually all the way through the album.

There's the swirling All My Friends which alternates between sounding like a killer James Bond theme from the Sean Connery era and the haunting soundtrack to a long-lost Spaghetti Western classic. There's opening track little lie which manages to combine some Duane Eddy guitar licks with the kind of rockabilly tune that Imelda May has recently made rather popular. There's the absorbing romanticism of Fall Down or Fly, which must be a country hit record in the making or there's the atmospheric vibes of Jimmy Dean, with it's chorus that simply will not leave my brain in peace. And just in case you thought that this was all an exercise in artifice (not that I,in anyway do you understand) album closer So Sad hits you right in the heart with it simple arrangement and affectingly fragile and tender vocal.

It's difficult to listen to this album and not fall in love with it. It's an album you can laugh with, dance with and cry with. This is not a five-star review thrown away lightly. This is a five-star review genuinely meant. This is a five-star review that is, for my money, genuinely deserved. Lindi Ortega is one hell of a talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Boots Are Made For Country, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
This is a stone solid debut album from Canadian Country chanteuse Ortega, hitting all the requisite bases from lovelorncountry ['So Sad'] to folkcountry ['Dying Of Another Broken Heart'] to rockabilly ['Little Lies'] to rootscountry [the witty 'I'm No Elvis Presley'] to popcountry ['Fall Down Or Fly'] and to rock'n'bluescountry [sultry title track 'Little Red Boots'].

There is a strong echo of Dolly Parton in the singing throughout - good example 'Blue Bird' - but this is no bad thing and it is varied enough to be more than mere copy. Her own voice certainly flies true and solid on 'Black Fly' which ends the album. A genuine talent now and for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for Lindi 'Bootsy' Ortega, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
This debut album from Canadian 'new country' songstress Lindi 'Bootsy' Ortega is superb! Wonderful blend of up tempo foot tappers with 'broken hearted' traditional country tear jerkers. I hear Lindi is off to Nashville to promote the album, just watch her star rise now. She may be 'no Elvis Presley' but who cares, when you've the talent (and looks) of Lindi Ortega? Buy it now so you can say you own an original copy when Lindi goes global!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Steven Reid (aberdeen. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
First heard her on radio 2 doing a live performance and thought wow what a voice, googled her and saw see had an album out so
bought it from amazon and cannot recommend this album enough, every track is brilliant. I`m not sure who to compare her with
she has a style of her own,but if you like country,folk,easy listening then buy this ,its brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Boots, 20 Jan 2014
By 
LJM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
This is a great album and I really like Lindi`s music. Upbeat and sad at the same time. The usual love tangles, but the words are clever, the tone sweet and clear and she does something strange and haunting with the long notes too. Very interesting. I will be buying more of her music soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
This is a Brilliant album with lots of top quality tracks on it. Highly recommended, and worth a listem by everyone to apprciate sone good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Country Album, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
I have sung Lindi's praises on other reviews and, amazingly, this album is even more impressive with a full range of moods, styles and emotions. Beatiful album from an artist who deserves to be massive - an essential buy for anyone remotely interested in country music, or just quality music to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great talent, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
Only just into Lindi Ortaga but what a talent have now got all her albums . Going to see her next year in Birmingham can't wait . If you not sampled her music can only recommend you do superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
Excellent music, this girl has real talent, I would recomend it to anybody that like sort of country/ folk type music. I have already purchased her latest cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from Lindi Ortega., 20 April 2013
By 
Mr. C. B. Marshall (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Boots (Audio CD)
Another great album to listen to in my vehicle when I'm driving around the UK. She certainly has a great talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Red Boots
Little Red Boots by Lindi Ortega (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews