Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book
A rollercoaster ride of a book the author pulls no punches and isn't afraid to admit when he has been caught out not like some authors sometimes very funny it seems to be an honest account of what matchdays used to be.
Published 12 months ago by Simon Perks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars red army general
did'nt care for this book at all,read red army general and thought that they seemed to use a lot of the same material.
Published on 17 July 2012 by olly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars red army general, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
did'nt care for this book at all,read red army general and thought that they seemed to use a lot of the same material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars selective memory, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
as a non hooligan regular member of the red army had to laugh at tonys recollections of milwall away in sept 1974 . i was on the special train and no it did not break down but as only about 150 dared travel to the den on a monday we got a good kicking . admit it we werent the first and we will not be the last so just admit it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sunday Sport exaggerated less, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
I was at the United Forest semi in 89 and was one of the first to come out of the ground. The version in the book early on is an intersting yarn, but very inaccurate. It is true that as a 15 year old genuine supporter, (not hooligan then or ever, these brain dead mutes used to blight many of my Saturdays) I cacked it and backed back into the ground,at which point all the Forest "townies" (as we used to call them) came charging out on mass and started beating the crap out of these mutes. We saw this as an opportunity to make our way to the train station, slowly and with scarves hidden, (yes I was and still am a scarfer). We saw many guerilla style charges by small groups of Mancs, who were invariably battered by the large number of Forest supporters and townies and then the police who batten charged them too. The nastiest incident I heard about later, (but did not personally witness the whole of) was a group of known townies who were alleged to have kicked down a low brick wall, which they then used to arm themselves. Then they mingled in with the main escort again and they found a group of Mancs near the cricket ground and began using the bricks. At this point I did see bricks flying and ran off, looking for more cover from the local police.

To my mind, this was the closest up and most protracted football violence I had personally witnessed and I would describe it (the brick incident aside) more like a junior school game of british bulldog played along the route to the station-which sums up their mentality really.

Incidently there were 12000 Forest Fans at that game who saw us win 1-0 after Franz Carr kept the ball in and crossed for Gary Parker to score. Steve Hodge cleared one off the line too, which the Mancs claimed was over! Some things never change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Changing times reflected, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
I gave Red Army General 4 stars because I was there at the time. This book follows on, and describes a more complex hooligan world evolving, with more characters and a good insight into the mind of the Football Intelligence officers, so it is a more rounded read. However, it covers a period when I'd stopped going to matches, so the raw personal emotion that Red Army General generated wasn't there in this read, and the failings (similar to those in the first book) therefore reduced the rating.

Again, a true United supporter would probably find this a very interesting read, as I did, but the terminology of the hooligan gets in the way of immediate understanding, leading to frequent confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
Like most self indulgent books the MIB were never beaten they were the best, I'm sure I've read the same story before. Still a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not very authentic, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
The events are valid but some of the "recollections" are story telling from the Enid Blyton genre. Most of these books are very similar... The author claiming they never took a backward step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 28 Mar 2014
By 
A. Buckley (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
Decent and interesting read. Wasn't impressed with one or two of the characters but interesting nonetheless for United fans of an older nature :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
A rollercoaster ride of a book the author pulls no punches and isn't afraid to admit when he has been caught out not like some authors sometimes very funny it seems to be an honest account of what matchdays used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
A very good book Tony is a born leader of United fans , and I can relate to most of the matches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Men In Black (Kindle Edition)
I was going to every game home and away watching Leeds in the 70s and 80s so I can relate to a lot of what happened with Leeds v Man U the hatred is still as intense today as it was back then this is a fairly good read about what happened on match dats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Men In Black
The Men In Black by Tony O'Neill
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews