Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and Illuminating
It is fascinating to see how great minds have responded to the art of Richard Wagner. Bryan Magee's "Aspects of Wagner" tabulates many reactions, both for and against - those of Shaw, Mann, Elgar and so on. It is equally interesting to see the author of this small book, Michael Tanner, attempt to communicate his position to his reader. Tanner - ex. Professor of Philosophy...
Published on 3 Nov. 2009 by A Consumer

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this is the best-ever book on Wagner. . .
"A quiet, subtle, modest masterpiece", another reviewer writes. Hmmm. . . I first contributed to this thread two or three years ago when I was about to buy the book, and I've just returned to it a second time, to see whether my first reactions stood up. Firstly, and to get this out of the way, Giles Penfold is right to say that Tanner's prose is appalling. Don't they...
Published 23 months ago by Garth Winter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and Illuminating, 3 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
It is fascinating to see how great minds have responded to the art of Richard Wagner. Bryan Magee's "Aspects of Wagner" tabulates many reactions, both for and against - those of Shaw, Mann, Elgar and so on. It is equally interesting to see the author of this small book, Michael Tanner, attempt to communicate his position to his reader. Tanner - ex. Professor of Philosophy at Cambridge, concentrating on nineteenth century German culture - responds overwhelmingly positively to Wagner, and through his stylish and lucid prose manages - almost - to communicate that love, that adoration to his reader. This does make his book terribly argumentative, but there is a thrill and gusto to his arguments that carry one along, nodding. The second chapter ("Prejudices and Banalities" - in which Tanner attempts to refute the usual criticisms of Wagner "the man"!), for example, is possibly an extreme case of special pleading, yet it is so intoxicatingly sharp-edged that it wholly convinces. Responding to Barry Millington's notorious claim that Wagner's operas operate within an anti-Semitic framework, Tanner does not so much argue back as shout down his opposition: "... that shouldn't conceal the crass confidence with which Millington presents as fact his own preposterous opinions. To demonstrate their absurdity would be out of place here...".

That level of argumentativeness continues throughout the book. When Tanner gets onto "Siegfried", he can barely conceal his concempt for those people who say that the titular character is a stormtrooper, or a Nazi, or a thug. Yes, Tanner says, Siegfried does kill a fair few people during the course of the opera, but "it would be merely tiresome to offer vindications, when anyone who wants them is evidently too obtuse to benefit from them". This sort of writing is deliberately provocative, as is Wagner's art: it wants us to argue back. Tanner spends a fair amount of time arguing with Nietzsche, the German philosopher whose adoration of Wagner notoriously morphed into fear and horror (and on whom Tanner has also written, highly illuminatingly).

Where Tanner is most helpful, however, and I do think that this book is among the most helpful on the market, is that he approaches Wagner's operas from a philosophical background. Others write on Wagner the musician, Wagner the politician, and so on - but Tanner takes the works firmly in conceptual terms. Hence his startling claim that "Tristan and Isolde" is "one of the two greatest religious works of our culture", along with the "St Matthew Passion", a claim that startles one and then convinces one. Or look at the final chapter, which is replete with ideas and suggestions on how to take Wagner as an artist: "His life's work is a continuous effort to show how we might gain or regain the dimensions of mystery and potentiality which are certainly missing in a secular age". That sort of sentence, misleadingly short, contains such a lot in it that one needs to unpack it and examine it - what does a metaphysic provide that a secular world view does not? what do we mean by "mystery" and "potentiality"? can we regain them in a secular age, if indeed they ever existed when we lived under the Christian doctrine? And so on.

Indeed, the problem with this book is its short length: one is tempted to skip through it breezily, taking it as a light introduction, and that mode of reading is bound to infuriate one, as so much will consequently appear not to make sense. My suggestion is: take your time, analyse your own responses to Tanner as well as Wagner, and argue back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best-ever book on Wagner, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
D. M. Purkiss "Diane" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
This is one of the best books on Wagner I've ever read - and I have read a lot. It's not engaged with the specifics of the music in the sense of loading the text up with staves, but it does pinpoint and discuss in detail the way the music actually works, without much recourse to a terminology of diminished 9ths that would defeat the layman. What's most heartening is Tanner's trenchant tone. Following up his excellent essay in the Faber Wagner Compaion, he dissents sharply and convincingly from the runaway lunatics of the Blame Wagner school of criticism, which pin just about every possible social, psychological and moral problem to the operas, to disguise their own inability to understand what Wagner's works are really doing. Returning to Tanner, I was particularly impressed by the chapter on Tristan, which is difficult to write about once you've tried to get beyond phwoarh coo lor I feel wrung out. It almost does justice to the immaculate terror of the work itself, which is saying a LOT. Tanner must be Britain's Bravest Don; working on Wagner AND Nietzsche, both so misunderstood. Maybe he should take Milton under his wing too? I say this because Wagner has lucked out with a defender like this, who writes so well, so persuasively, so passionately. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content good, style at times difficult, 16 Mar. 2001
By 
Colin Dean (Bielefeld-Heepen, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
I am near to finishing this book for the second time. My gratitude to the author for opening my eyes to so many possibilities. Here is a book for the initiated and not ,as I was the first time around, a newcomer to Wagner and his thought. Tanner has a great way of outlining your options for understanding the works. I have little doubt that I will come back to the book in the future. The review of the irate Londoner does introduce a particular gripe I have with Tanner's style. At times his sentances are longer than the Victoria line and his vocabulary tends to shroud his intentions in unnecessary gobbledigook. For all that this is a very valuable book if you are interested in Wagner and his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quiet, subtle, modest masterpiece, 31 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
Tanner writes well, simply, unpretentiously, helpfully. For someone who is only starting to engage with Wagner's operas, Tanner would be an ideal mentor, showing the reader how to think seriously about these great works while sensitively experiencing them. He also offers much to people who know Wagner's works well. Having listened to Wagner and thought about him for over forty years, I have found my relationship to those great works refreshed and deepened by insights in Tanner's Wagner. I was introduced to Wagner by Tanner in about 1960, when we were colleagues in Cambridge. In the past thirty years, when we have lived on different continents, my life has gone on being enriched by what I learned from him through the 1960s. His book could do something of that for others: a reader could carry away from it not merely its immediate content but also guides to ways of thinking and feeling that would be valid and valuable for years to come. It is an astonishing book. Some of the early English reviewers were hostile: bitten perhaps by Tanner's sharp tone with those who have clambered onto the current bandwagon proclaiming that Wagner's operas - as distinct from the man himself - are anti-semitic. Other reviewers regard it as a classic. Roger Scruton, in the Times Literary Supplement, treated the book as an answer to Nietzsche's case against Wagner, and remarked that this is the first time that Nietzsche has been opposed on this topic by someone who is intellectually fit to argue with him. Tanner's many insights into Wagner's work are offered simply, modestly, with no grinding of scholarly gears or flashy post-modern prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting if somewhat strange review of the great man, 11 May 2013
By 
P. Donovan "cultural jackdaw" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Kindle Edition)
It is evident from the first page that this book has been excellent researched and explores both Wagner the man and it examines his work in detail and reflects on the depth of meaning that can be found in Wagner's operas and sacred dramas. I appreciate that we are dealing with complex ideas here but some of the sentences are fairly indigestible because they are so long and occasionally the author appears to become somewhat overheated in his opinions. Nevertheless, this is a profound study of Wagner that cannot be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this is the best-ever book on Wagner. . ., 17 May 2013
By 
Garth Winter (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
"A quiet, subtle, modest masterpiece", another reviewer writes. Hmmm. . . I first contributed to this thread two or three years ago when I was about to buy the book, and I've just returned to it a second time, to see whether my first reactions stood up. Firstly, and to get this out of the way, Giles Penfold is right to say that Tanner's prose is appalling. Don't they have editors at Harper Collins? I would have sent it back and said "Probably very interesting: have another go at making it comprehensible, and I may be able to tell". Now, I hate the cult of the three word sentence -- Hemingway has a lot ot answer for -- and I'm prefectly at home with long unfolding sentences a la Walter Pater and also with academic discourse, but what I do not expect to be required to do is hunt round for a main verb, or listen to faint grinding noises as Tanner slowly gets round to another rhetorical question or condescending put-down. For in many ways this book is less about Wagner than about the author demonstrating his superiority to all other commentators, mostly by suggesting either that they haven't done their homework, or are in his word "inane", or that they are prejudiced. And it looks to me as though there's a lot of gratuitous Left-bashing going on here. Recommending quotes are shown in the blurb from such reactionary figures as Simon Heffer and Anthony O'Hear, and one always smells a rodent when writers quote approvingly from the preposterous Roger Scruton. There is a great deal of looking down the Tanner nose at any arguments he doesn't happen to accept, e.g. "That is the level of sophistication at which these arguments operate", and "A few recent examples, to show the level to which one has to descend if one is not to be felt to be just condescending". This is snotty stuff. And far from being "quiet", and "subtle", it's a pretty shrill polemic, whose chief method is to refute any criticism of Wagner as man or artist. But however much Tanner may wish otherwise, there *is* a problem with Wagner, which won't go away. Even leaving aside the anti-Semitic stuff, which comes freighted with a lot of particular historical and social context, it simply is not possible to represent Wagner as Jesus reincarnated, or to argue that his works, which may well be sublime works of art, are progressive, enlightened and humanitarian, while trying to deny that they were created by a man whom another critic succinctly describes as "hypocrite, bigot, opportunist, adulterer". (Tanner baulks at the last: Wagner was apparently only an occasional adulterer.) The defence sometimes touches on the ridiculous: Tanner asks us to remember, and make allowances for the fact, that many of Wagner's works were created when the ludicrously-extravagant (with other people's money) composer was living in poverty! This breathtaking piece of cheek reminds me of the young man hauled up in Court for murdering his parents, and asking for clemency on the grounds of being an orphan. Well, I suppose this is all good knockabout stuff, but while recognising that there is a disjunct between the art and (at least) the perception of the man, Tanner comes nowhere near teasing out just why this is such a problem when we would all like to be able to experience the work wholeheartedly, instead of at best grudgingly and fingers firmly crossed behind the back. He seems to think it's a plot by antisemitism-obsessed leftwingers and intellectual pygmies to besmirch his hero, arguing that no other artist is subjected to such unrealistic expectations of personal perfection. Well, hello. . . could it be because no other artist has ever made such grandiose and bombastic gestures and claims for himself and his art, or acted out megalomania so brazenly? I should in fairness close by saying that on its own terms, Tanner's book is rigorous and its arguments well-shaped, which is not however to say I found them very convincing, though there is certainly plenty of food (albeit often indigestible) for thought. But my overall feeling is that Tanner's worship of Wagner blinds him to the presence in this particular room of several elephants. I've read it closely twice, and I feel I've given it a fair shake: I won't be reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excruciating to read, 4 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Wagner (Paperback)
Colin Dean is right - I read a dozen pages of this and found the linguistic incompetence so painful that I could not proceed. Much of what he struggles to say looks potentially interesting, but the near-illiterate fumblings were too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner
Wagner by Michael Tanner
£3.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews