Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breathtaking Samsung D8000-40
This is a fantastic piece of kit...very easy to install, set up and integrate with other aspects of the hours IT. The image performance is unparalleled and the sound output if terrific. Our last television performed well for over 10 years, but seeing this for the first time, really showed what we'd been missing. So not what you'd call cheap...but worth every penny...
Published on 28 Aug 2011 by Dave_S

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS TV
This is the second samsung tv in three and half years. Throught the ist was just bad luck, went wrong in 18mths ,was not cost effective to repair so we purchashed another only to have it go wrong again after 20 mths, again not cost effective to repair. I contacted Samsung for help with cost of repair as goodwill geasure but they were NOT interested, only want to sell...
Published 5 months ago by Sandra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breathtaking Samsung D8000-40, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
This is a fantastic piece of kit...very easy to install, set up and integrate with other aspects of the hours IT. The image performance is unparalleled and the sound output if terrific. Our last television performed well for over 10 years, but seeing this for the first time, really showed what we'd been missing. So not what you'd call cheap...but worth every penny actually!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samsung UE40D8000, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
This is an amazing television that packs a real punch. If you are looking for great HD pictures the Samsung really delivers and the 3D feature ain't bad either. Pictures are crystal clear and as sharp as you could possibly want, we chose this TV because its picture quality was the best in the shops and it hasn't let us down now its on the wall. Setting up the TV was as easy as it comes and you can be up and working within 5 minutes of opening the box. The super slim design is a real bonus if you want to wall mount the TV and the thin crome surround sets it off beautifully. The Smart TV is a bit of a gimmic right now and really does needs a high speed broadband connection to make it worthwhile. Some more interesting apps and a faster user interface might help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant TV !!!, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
This is my first Samsung TV and I have to say it has wowed me to bits. Fantastic picture quality and tons of features, should you want to use them. The Smart TV feature connecteted to my Internet router in seconds and I was watching program's on BBC IPlayer within minutes. I have yet to buy a 3D BluRay player, but the 2D to 3D conversion feature works a treat on most types of program's.

The design of this TV has been well thought through which results in a stunning looking TV, even better when wall mounted which is easy to do as its so light.

The only very minor down sides are the sound, which is somewhat tinny. This is not a problem if you have an external sound system, which I have now bought. Also it has some problems with very fast moving pictures. I have tried to adjust the settings that control this without much improvement. However this probably effects less than 5 percent of the program's I tend to watch.

All in all a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent TV, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
I replaced a 4000 series with this 8000, 40 inch version and am extremely happy with the new version. The picture quality is excellent after a small number of settings are adjusted. Do ensure you use the software updates to make the maximum use of the Smart TV capabilities. I have so far failed to get sound for the BBC iPlayer through Smart TV which is almost certainly incompetence on my part. This is a 'D' range of 3D TV. This is material when purchasing compatitable Samsung 3D glasses. There can be an expensive mistake if you purchased 'C'type glasses which are used on the older and other models of Samsung 3D TV and not compatiable with D 8000 range. There are also cheap deals available to buy additional glasses at the time of purchase as opposed to separatly at a later stage when the price doubles. The sound quality is not as proportionately good as the picture quality and almost certainly requires a surround sound system to fully optimise the experience. If you are using a pre amp through which to pass the picture and sound, be aware that the pre amp needs to be a 3D compatitable. If the amp is not compatiable use the optical out from the 3D player to the amp and picture directly through the TV. Great puchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
Had this a month now and it's a great TV. Looks beautiful even turned off. Not blown away by 3D yet but that's still a gimmick. Picture quality very good with SD inputs through SCART from some old Tivo's. HD picture quality is brilliant. Plugged a cheap Samusung USB hard disc in and its fine for the occasional recording or time shifting. Apps are still a bit dodgy with the user interface, but BBC iplayer works pretty well even over wifi (except peak periods). Sound quality is ok but plugged it into AV amp (denon) using TOSLink which is much better. Only problem is need to control the sound with another remote now.
Overall a great looking, great performing TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS TV, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
This is the second samsung tv in three and half years. Throught the ist was just bad luck, went wrong in 18mths ,was not cost effective to repair so we purchashed another only to have it go wrong again after 20 mths, again not cost effective to repair. I contacted Samsung for help with cost of repair as goodwill geasure but they were NOT interested, only want to sell you another. If they want to sell a quality product at TOP prices they should get their act together and deal with these faults to give their customers value for money, not expect customers to pay a high price for a product that does NOT last more than 2 years at most. Why can't they produce a relialible product ?, cheaper tv companies do so why not Samsumg.
The tv itself is good to look at and the picture quality is great but this is not enough to warrent the prices they charge for the short time this tv lasts. ONLY BUY IT IF MONEY NO OBJECT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Samsung customer service is terrible, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Samsung UE40D8000 - 40" Full HD 8 Series 3D LED 1080P TV (Electronics)
Having purchased this television I was looking forward to viewing in 3D.One of the pairs of 3D glasses would not work so I thought no problem, contacted Samsung was told to take them to a service centre 75 miles away and they would sort out the problem.Have just been phoned by the service centre and they cannot do repairs to glasses and so are posting them back to me.Samsung have now said they have to go to another service centre for repair.
I have been messed about so much over a cheap pair of glasses that I have decided it's cheaper just to buy another pair and forget the warranty.
If you buy a Samsung product beware their customer service is abysmal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews