Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WILL BE DYING TO READ THIS !!
Holiday of the Dead, featuring stories by such established authors as Night of the Living Dead Co-Writer, John Russo, Iain McKinnon Domain of the Dead, Wayne Simmons Drop Dead Gorgeous and Flu, Eric S Brown and Remy Porter Dead Beat, to name but a few. Add to the mixture the delightful talents of new authors, Shawn M Riddle and R Phillip Roberts. Stir in a little bit of...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Clack

versus
0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way tagodudes...
A bunch of writers - none of whom are female - make their main character female and "occasionally glance at her breasts"? Whatever....
Published 16 months ago by grace101


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WILL BE DYING TO READ THIS !!, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Paperback)
Holiday of the Dead, featuring stories by such established authors as Night of the Living Dead Co-Writer, John Russo, Iain McKinnon Domain of the Dead, Wayne Simmons Drop Dead Gorgeous and Flu, Eric S Brown and Remy Porter Dead Beat, to name but a few. Add to the mixture the delightful talents of new authors, Shawn M Riddle and R Phillip Roberts. Stir in a little bit of staggering cover artwork by Peter Fussey and this Anthology from the creaky hollows of Wild Wolf Publishing is a must have addition to any horror aficionados bookshelf.

These literary gems contain the holiday theme, but with a twist. How would your holiday go if the Zombies we all know and love were to rise and walk the earth? Each tale is chilling in its telling, as the unfortunate cast of characters is left to deal with the consequences of such an eventuality. The remarkable thing about this anthology is how each author draws on completely diverse themes and produces an amazing array of situations.

The anthology begins with Shaun Jeffrey's Dark Inside, best described as a floating zombie themed extravaganza. This short is told from the perspective of a child. The story telling was well thought out and features a dramatic swift conclusion. Remy Porter's Squawk, is a romping ride through the fields of the gypsy coming to terms with the end of the world. Followed by Iain McKinnon's dark offering Jennifer, featuring an unexpected and shocking finish. A Side of Cranberry Sauce, by Clyde Wolfe, is a bloody tale of family and greed. Dig by Lee Kelly contains a nod towards the Pan Horror classics.

Oatmeal Cookies, by Eric Dimbleby, is set during the outbreak but manages to remain nostalgic and childlike in its telling, dribbled with a dose of carnage and depravity, it ticks all the boxes. In the End, R M Cochran, captures the essence of being a survivor, told succinctly and without flair, this story is masterful in its ability to tell a lot of story in a small space of time. Daddy Dearest, Dave Jeffery is a sad bad and very dangerous to know tale that highlights how even though we may move miles away, our family will always be a part of us. The Day the Music Died, Joe McKinney, is a beautifully crafted tale about the tragedy of celebrity and the lengths those around them will go to keep the dream alive.

Shawn M Riddle's aptly named The Four of July, is a subtle take on the guys going on vacation, he handles his characters with care and the pace is worthy of the big screen. My personal favourite, The Day I discovered the truth about the Man in the Red Suit by R Phillip Roberts. With a nod towards Charles Dickens, this story draws you into believing you are reading a delightful period romp. How wrong can you be, told from the perspective of survivors this short story will not only shock you it will knock you down with the sheer repulsion you will feel. The author is a genuine storyteller of the highest order.

I could go on and review every single story, and not one would have a bad review. That's how good this Anthology is. Having read many anthologies that have a few quality works interspersed with badly crafted ones. The fact that this one has not one bad story has rekindled my love of the anthology. The quality of work is second to none, and the bar has definitely been raised in this genre. The art work and quality of Holiday of the Dead guarantees your bookcase will thank you for this wonderful addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Ian Martin (Stoke On Trent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
A very good collection of horror stories. I Will be following some of these authors with interest as their other work's should be well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Zombie Anthology, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Ursula K. Raphael "AstraDaemon of The Zombiep... (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Not only is this a great sampling of some of the best authors from the zombie genre, but an incredible showcase of what the horror sub-genre has to offer. Too many people think zombie stories are comparable to zombie movies, when, in fact, undead stories have evolved far more than the undead in the film industry.

This anthology exceeded my expectations...various locations, an array of holiday settings - everything from weekend getaways to major holiday celebrations, and some of the best zombie action that I've ever read.

I would definitely put this collection in my top ten list for anthologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A belter of an antho!, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
This is anthology of 38 zombie stories with holidays as a theme. Be it vacation holidays or public holidays.

I will put my hand up and say I am not a fan of the zombie genre on the whole. I have read a couple of zombie novellas and enjoyed them, and this. This has changed my mind totally. This is the perfect introduction to the genre for people unsure. Bite sized chunks of zombie goodness that are perfect to dip in and out of. There is also a bonus story from 'Night of the Living Dead' co-author, John Russo. This one is not a zombie story but it is a very clever little story nonetheless! In conclusion, this is a belter of an antho I totally recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas will never be the same !!!!, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Caroline Doyle (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Well what can I say, firstly, what a bargain, 38 short stories for a couple of quid! Each story had a different take on the zombie genre there were zombies in space, at thanksgiving, on christmas day, caravan parks, high school, the list goes on, I laughed, I was scared, also a bit squeamish at some parts but loved every minute of it, what a book!!! My particular favourites were Apocalypse Noo by Vallon Jackson; School's Out by Derek Gunn and Seahouses Slaughterhouse by Rod Glenn. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is a zombie movie or book fan. Lock the door, grab a drink and settle down with this book it's Dead good ;0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
N. Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Paperback)
I bought this at the recent book launch in Newcastle. I've had a good read and I have to say that it's really good, there's an imaginative array of stories which have fun with the zombie metaphor. Perhaps ironically I think this weighty book would make for good holiday reading! Oh and the cover art is really good, well worth a mention too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Loved it, lots of great authors. Tons of short stories, so good value. Some real gems in here if you love zombies, some not so zombie as others, so good for non zombie lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Tide, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Warren Stalley (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
After wading through the undead tide of zombie horror stories on the kindle Holiday of the Dead is a refreshing high quality anthology of talented writers giving thrills and chills in healthy doses. The best stories in this anthology take their time setting up intricate worlds before smashing them apart with enthusiastic determination. For me it is the mixture of British and American writers within this compilation that makes this a varied spectrum of horror tales. There are a couple of typical British caravan holiday horrors which reflect the British way of life like no other.

To summarise this is a fine way to discover horror writers you may not have come across before with a top class collection of undead horror stories, made with loving care by talented writers who obviously enjoy the zombie genre. Holiday of the Dead is definitely something to sink your teeth into! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction a dead certainty., 3 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Unlike the stars of this particular show, if you're at all possessed of a pulse you'll be aware that zombies are HUGE at the moment. Although they'll always have a place in horror fiction (you can't kill the undead, after all, can you?) this anthology of 38 short fictions couldn't have come along at a better time. Extra incentive to buy comes in the shape of an excerpt from the script of the sequel to zombie flick `Pontypool' (if you haven't seen it, you're missing a trick) by Tony Burgess, and, best of all, a story by John Russo, co-writer of `Night of the Living Dead.'
I read this anthology over the run-up to Halloween whilst working on a particularly stressful and time-consuming project, which meant both the format and the subject matter were perfect. I could dip in and out and be satisfied by self-contained narratives, whilst the deliciously wide variety of moods, settings, characters and writing styles offered a perfect means of closing the door on the strains of the day, whether I was (proverbially!) wetting myself with fear or laughter or simply being blown away by the quality of the writing. I couldn't be pressed to pick favourites: all I will say is that the established writers deliver everything you'd expect, and the up-and-coming writers are ones to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ass Kicking Anthology., 12 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Dave Lightfoot (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday of the Dead (Paperback)
Holiday Of The Dead is a brilliant collection of short stories based around the Zombie Genre.
A collaboration of well known authors and new comers, this book contains every kind of story you could possibly imagine. Stories with Zombie Hookers, Perverts, Cannibals, Moon Landings, Cruise Ships and much much more. Every story has something individual to offer.
A great addition to any zombie fans collection. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d26aa14)

This product

Holiday of the Dead
Holiday of the Dead by Bowie V Ibarra
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews