Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, fascinating and sometimes funny
I've never worked in a children's home or youth services, and after reading this book I'm glad I haven't.
The admiration I have for the people who do work in these spheres just increased tenfold.
Winston Smith is plainly a nice guy who got mugged by reality. He's had his own problems and now he wants to 'put something back'.
Some of the kids in his care are...
Published on 28 April 2011 by MonsterMunch

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A depressing read
Author says he is a Guardian - reading veggie, but he writes more like a Daily Mail - reading reactionary. Found it tedious and totally negative.
Published 4 months ago by avondale paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Liberal Outlook, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generation F (Kindle Edition)
Call yourself a liberal,compassionate and caring ?,I did, then Winston gave me an insight on the sheltered housing schemes for our disadvantaged youth for whom he works .
This is a world where responsibility is turned upside down,where blame and consequences are a past memory and the customer/client (thats the disadvantaged youth of today )are king
Go with Winston on his journey of forms ,fights ,fornication,feral teenagers and families,you will laugh,cry,rage and question what and where the hell our liberal society has gone and what its become.

There is suffering and neglect in todays welfare system,but enough of the problems of the staff..........an eye opener and a very good read,recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the sword of truth, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: Generation F (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has a hilarious, gossipy, salacious quality which forms a hugely entertaining counterpoint to the deadweight of torturous bureaucracy which is crushing the supported housing system.

In the UK we are probably all aware that the whole benefits system is outrageously unfair and this book provides an insiders guide to how hardworking tax payers money is showered on the undeserving.

Those who work in this field seem to be used by their paymasters with the utmost profligacy and it is clear that no sane healthy person could remain in this sector without suffering a mental collapse within a few short years.

It's heartening that the author got out with his gift for writing intact. As for those poor kids who are decent and worthy of a helping hand one can only pray that they escape too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Generation F (Kindle Edition)
great read with fascinating insights, having said that it is also sad that a system that is supposed to help and support young vulnerable people seems to result in pushing them deeper into a life of dependency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generation F (Kindle Edition)
If you want to know how the country is going downhill read this and try not to despair for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair depiction of a failing system, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Generation F (Paperback)
A rant, albeit a pretty accurate rant of a system that is failing the public, the practitioners, but especially the service users. Smith is not objective nore subtle but is candid and says a lot that needs to be said, but which would probably never have been if it weren't for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generation F (Kindle Edition)
so true, very interesting if work in supported housing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book but...., 7 May 2011
This review is from: Generation F (Paperback)
Overall this is a good book, however the author does come across as a bit depressing and a moaner. It would have been nice if he had added some positive experiences into the book, rather than just negative. Worth a read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caring in chaos., 22 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. C. Cameron (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Generation F (Paperback)
I have to confess that I skipped much of this book as I got bored with the moralising and moaning. The author says he wrote the book to show that the "British supported housing and care are in his experience chaotic." That is easy to do but also rather pointless. There was no attempt to challenge assumptions and prejudices but only to confirm them. The author himself had been a dope addict in his youth but had made an effort and got a first class degree. So he concludes that what is required is tough love and making the effort. So there are flaws in his logic. The fact that he ' made it ' assumes that a first class degree is a worthwhile realistic aim, and that it gives him the right to assume moral superiority, and that the conditions of the adolescents he was working with really do give them a chance to live as he thinks they should, with jobs and tidy homes. I myself found it fairly easy to give up smoking and tend to have a superior moralistic attitude towards smokers but I gather there may be a lot of reasons why one individual finds it easier to give up smoking than another. The adolescents the author writes about seem to have symptoms of depression. They certainly need to be encouraged to take more exercise . But nagging and blaming are not going to help. Dedicated keyworkers need to have a lot of patience and imagination to help people take small steps that will give them a sense of achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Generation F
Generation F by Winston Smith
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews