Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for those wishing to train effectively with kettlebells
This is a great book for learning the techniques required for the various must do lifts. The number of main exercises in the book, you could just about count on a single hand but the attention to detail is excellent, the teaching points are clear and explicit with clear pictures demonstrating how to perform and how not to perform while also giving advice as to how to...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by M. Bach

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic content... LOADS of pointless padding
The detailed descriptions and "Dos and Don'ts" for the set of core kettlebell exercises are perfect. Yes there is a lot of YouTube and internet material about kettlebells out there, but a lot of it is dreadful (sometimes dangerous!) and picking the real gems is not easy. This book only has gems.

Unfortunately at least half the book could be removed as it is...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by Robert Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for those wishing to train effectively with kettlebells, 4 Aug 2008
This is a great book for learning the techniques required for the various must do lifts. The number of main exercises in the book, you could just about count on a single hand but the attention to detail is excellent, the teaching points are clear and explicit with clear pictures demonstrating how to perform and how not to perform while also giving advice as to how to strengthen weak points in your technique. As a certified Kettlebell Instructor in the UK I use this book and its compatriot for women (From Russia with tough love) as a point of reference and recommend them also to my clients if they are really committed to improving their performance/fat burning potential or whatever their goal is. The writing style is also very easy to read with some good background into the benefits of kettlebell training and some ideas for program design. I have used kettlebells for over 2 years now and seen some great gains with my clients. While I had to do a certified instructor course to be able to do this, this book is my text book for that and would not be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, and very effective program., 2 April 2007
By 
S. Al-Sabah "Al-uk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains two very effective training programs, `The Program Minimum' and `The Rite of Passage'. You could summarise these programs in less than a page, it is the attention to detail where this book really shines, hence the 200 other pages.

If you are in anyway interested in lifting kettlebells this is the book.

Please note I did not buy my copy from Amazon so I can't comment on the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic content... LOADS of pointless padding, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Robert Phillips "Rob" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The detailed descriptions and "Dos and Don'ts" for the set of core kettlebell exercises are perfect. Yes there is a lot of YouTube and internet material about kettlebells out there, but a lot of it is dreadful (sometimes dangerous!) and picking the real gems is not easy. This book only has gems.

Unfortunately at least half the book could be removed as it is just waffle, whole page pictures of individual kettlebells, pointless U.S. Secret Service "rules" etc. The couple of hundred pages could easily be reduced to 100 and (even more importantly) the price could be dropped by at least half to make it value for money.

Or... replace the 100 pages of padding with detailed descriptions of more exercises for the same price: Windmill, Floor Press, Renegade Row, Figure 8, and so on...

Great book, shame about the horribly expensive padding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A push and a pull, sound familiar?, 15 Mar 2010
I've been looking for a good strength training programme for a while and I've always been fascinated with kettlebells. There's something very primal about a cannonball with a handle that you use for lifting and that is what appealed to me. The promises of strength training that also delivered a hard cardio workout at the same time were too good to ignore. I bought Enter the Kettlebell and haven't looked back since.

Enter the Kettlebell is all about kettlebell basics. Pavel gives a good description of remedial drills to build the flexibility and strength in all the right places before you even think about training with your kettlebell. Then the book moves on to RKC Minimum; a simple 4-times-a-week programme that will burn off fat, build strength and muscle and make you feel awesome. Following this comes the RKC Right of Passage, which is the bulk of the book. It's a devilishly simple strength training package that only consists of three exercises (clean and press, snatch and swings) but the beuty is in the simplicity. Those who've trained under Pavel before will recognise his simple but highly effective approach, taken right out of Power to the People, but the results are phenomenol.

As other reviewers have mentioned the book is literally filled with tag lines and cliches ("The closest thing to fighting without throwing a punch", "For strength and conditioning to walk through walls", "For the work capacity of and android and the pain threshold of an immortal") but look beyond them and there's a genuine, solid book written in an entertaining style that's typical of Pavel. Again and again he throws facts at you at why kettlebell training, although not for everyone, is rewarding if you can hack it. He does all this but builds it on the principal of safety as a part of, not the opposite of, performance. It all comes together to deliver a good instructional book that will give you a solid foundation in which to continue your kettlebell lifting.

If you've read this far, chances are kettlebells are for you. Buy this book, buy a 16kg kettlebell (I don't recommend starting any heavier, there's no dishonour in lifting lighter kettlebells) and prepare to feel the kettlebell What The Hell effect.

Russian Kettlebell Power To You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This books is a contender to becoming a cult classic, 7 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is something raw, agressive and pimordial about kettlebells and this is a fantastic motivational book to bring that instinct out.

The style of the writting, although a bit boys own, is actually motivational. To quote, "simple, sinister brutal and ferosiously effective for ...never stay die conditioning...the closest thing you can get to fighting without throwing a punch." It is like poetry. It is also true.

Sure the excersises in the book are few, but the level of detail is superb and you simply do not need anymore.

I brought this book, not knowing anything about kettlebells with a 12 kg kettelbell 3 months ago as a 36 yo, 1.83m, 64kg long dist runner used to playing about with a 40kg loaded barbell. I soon found out that the 12kg was far to light so I got a 16kg (what Pavel recommends for the average man), which became too light after a fortnight of doing get ups and swings (the two staple excersises in the book) so I brought a 24, which was far too heavy for pressing with my weaker arm, so I brought a 20kg, and that is perfect for me. I am now 66kg, have LESS body fat and have MUCH greater explosive sprint stammina; especially running up steep hills. My whole body has that ripped look.

I will be swinging, pressing and cleaning kettlebells for life now with this trusty book to motivate me.

A great combination buy would be this book with a 16kg kettlebell. You will probably want to progress to a 20kg within say a month, but hold off getting the 20 until yout technique is sorted on the 16. Olympian's Gym do great cast iron Russian kettlebells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kicks Ass!, 30 May 2008
After an injury I began to work out again slowly and was able to military press 12kg Kbells when I began reading this and within a month had bumped myself up to 20kg. I gained a stone of muscle and feel fitter and stronger than I have ever done my entire life. To be working out at this pace so soon after a back injury astounded me. Stick to the regime and you'll be buffed up and ready to rumble in no time. Buy, borrow or steal this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Kettlebell, 25 April 2009
By 
Peter G. Bennett "PB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Enter the Kettlebell provides a step-by-step instruction in four core kettlebell exercises: the swing, the Turkish get-up, the clean & press and the snatch. It has clear photographs, goods check-lists of the dos and don'ts of good technique, but its narrative is wordy and in parts confusing. A large proportion of the book is padding (e.g. whole pages dedicated to a picture of a kettlebell) and I found much of the instruction (by far the book's most useful content) to be freely available on the internet (e.g. YouTube).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now that i've got my kettlebell what do i do with it???, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Ok, i have had this book and my kettlebell now for a couple of years. At first i avoided reviewing this item due to lack of content.
It is only when you re-visit this book that you understand its beautiful simplicity. It is not designed to be a comprehensive reference to kettlebell exercises, it is basically two programmes and no guess work.
Pavel provides you with all the info you need, safety, technique, motivation and even your end goal all in a handful of exercises. If and when you stick with this programme long enough to reach that goal, you will understand how good this book actually is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont mess with the Spetsnaz, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. If your getting a kettlebell, and if you want to work out in a new way that really will improve your strength and fitness, do get one; this is the book to accompany it.

Clear, explicit instructions and accompanying photos leave you in no doubt as to what your trying to achieve with each excercise. The excercises and the stages of progression are well thought out and though far from easy physically at first (make sure you dont get too ambitious with the weight of your 1st kettlebell: if in doubt go for the lighter one!) are easy to understand and pay immense dividends for the time needed.

Pavel's prose will also give you a giggle at times, I suspect he's a pretty funny guy as well as being ludicrously strong and i'd love to go to one of his kettelbell courses at some point.

Enjoy! (is that the right word?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pain is good!, 7 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been using Kettlebells for a good few years now and got this book as looking to complete RKC.

What an impressive book! It goes through all the basics in baby steps which not only improved my skills but more importantly made teaching them allot easer! It covers all your warm up drills and the main KB techniques such as Squat, Deadlift, Swing, S.A swing, Rack up position, Clean & press, Snatch and the best of the best Turkish getup! So even if you think your the "Man" with KB's get this and be shocked to all those little things that you missed out on!

Would recommend this book to an experienced KB user but also to the novice as each teaching steps are explained and well photographed!

Only thing its missing is a bit more explanation on training programs, maybe to include some of the other documents Pavel wrote on strength training with KB or Hypertrophy training with KB but for me thats scraping the barrel with whats wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Only search this product's reviews