Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars59
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2008
This is a great book for learning the techniques required for the various must do lifts. The number of main exercises in the book, you could just about count on a single hand but the attention to detail is excellent, the teaching points are clear and explicit with clear pictures demonstrating how to perform and how not to perform while also giving advice as to how to strengthen weak points in your technique. As a certified Kettlebell Instructor in the UK I use this book and its compatriot for women (From Russia with tough love) as a point of reference and recommend them also to my clients if they are really committed to improving their performance/fat burning potential or whatever their goal is. The writing style is also very easy to read with some good background into the benefits of kettlebell training and some ideas for program design. I have used kettlebells for over 2 years now and seen some great gains with my clients. While I had to do a certified instructor course to be able to do this, this book is my text book for that and would not be without it.
11 comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
There is something raw, agressive and pimordial about kettlebells and this is a fantastic motivational book to bring that instinct out.

The style of the writting, although a bit boys own, is actually motivational. To quote, "simple, sinister brutal and ferosiously effective for ...never stay die conditioning...the closest thing you can get to fighting without throwing a punch." It is like poetry. It is also true.

Sure the excersises in the book are few, but the level of detail is superb and you simply do not need anymore.

I brought this book, not knowing anything about kettlebells with a 12 kg kettelbell 3 months ago as a 36 yo, 1.83m, 64kg long dist runner used to playing about with a 40kg loaded barbell. I soon found out that the 12kg was far to light so I got a 16kg (what Pavel recommends for the average man), which became too light after a fortnight of doing get ups and swings (the two staple excersises in the book) so I brought a 24, which was far too heavy for pressing with my weaker arm, so I brought a 20kg, and that is perfect for me. I am now 66kg, have LESS body fat and have MUCH greater explosive sprint stammina; especially running up steep hills. My whole body has that ripped look.

I will be swinging, pressing and cleaning kettlebells for life now with this trusty book to motivate me.

A great combination buy would be this book with a 16kg kettlebell. You will probably want to progress to a 20kg within say a month, but hold off getting the 20 until yout technique is sorted on the 16. Olympian's Gym do great cast iron Russian kettlebells.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
After an injury I began to work out again slowly and was able to military press 12kg Kbells when I began reading this and within a month had bumped myself up to 20kg. I gained a stone of muscle and feel fitter and stronger than I have ever done my entire life. To be working out at this pace so soon after a back injury astounded me. Stick to the regime and you'll be buffed up and ready to rumble in no time. Buy, borrow or steal this book now!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
My first look into the world of Kettlebells, this book provides plenty of enthusiasm together with a solid, core set of excercises to start with. I followed the suggestion for an "average man" and started with a 16kg kettlebell - which to be honest still feels a bit too heavy to have started with but definitely feel stronger already after a month.

The author gives a lot of space to good technique but a few things to be aware of.
1. Read the whole thing first - he dips into new techniques early on and elaborates on them in later chapters. So read it through to get the full range of instruction before you get carried away.
2. Despite the emphasis on safety, the author states a couple of facts that clash with what I have previously been taught - for example that warm ups are an old wives tale. Be careful.
3. Prepare for marketing material overload towards the back of the book. This man knows that there is value in what he has to teach.

All of that said, an entertaining writing style and an author that obviously knows his stuff mean you could do a lot worse than to start with this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2007
This book contains two very effective training programs, `The Program Minimum' and `The Rite of Passage'. You could summarise these programs in less than a page, it is the attention to detail where this book really shines, hence the 200 other pages.

If you are in anyway interested in lifting kettlebells this is the book.

Please note I did not buy my copy from Amazon so I can't comment on the price.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
This is a very good book for beginners to kettlebells and for those who are already using kettlebells but have not had specific instruction. The book only covers the basic exercises but these are the foundation for all the other exercises. It does so with numerous photos to illustrate the right way and the wrong way of doing the exercise along with step-by-step descriptions. From reading the descriptions for the turkish get-up I discovered that I had previously been missing out an important part of the movement that transformed the exercise from being very difficult to being easier (but still challenging). Information like this can be the difference in making progress with your exercise or stuttering to a halt.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
i wanted to get into kettlebell training and heard that this was a great way to build muscle and get fit at the same time - thus on amazon this book came up. i givethe book three stars because it gives you an ok introduction to kettlebells, but is there really any need to give a whole chapter to how the kettlebell is made?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2009
Enter the Kettlebell provides a step-by-step instruction in four core kettlebell exercises: the swing, the Turkish get-up, the clean & press and the snatch. It has clear photographs, goods check-lists of the dos and don'ts of good technique, but its narrative is wordy and in parts confusing. A large proportion of the book is padding (e.g. whole pages dedicated to a picture of a kettlebell) and I found much of the instruction (by far the book's most useful content) to be freely available on the internet (e.g. YouTube).
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Enter the kettlebell is a great book for someone that doesn't have access to a KB trainer and would like to learn this great system. It is also good for the intermediate to advanced practitioner as well as personal trainers that use this tool with their clients. It has concise explanations of all the main exercises with great illustrations and photos. Cues, how to fix mistakes and a couple of KB programs to follow.

You also get a great in depth look into the history of kettlebell training and why it is so effective!

This should be in every KB practitioners library!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
The detailed descriptions and "Dos and Don'ts" for the set of core kettlebell exercises are perfect. Yes there is a lot of YouTube and internet material about kettlebells out there, but a lot of it is dreadful (sometimes dangerous!) and picking the real gems is not easy. This book only has gems.

Unfortunately at least half the book could be removed as it is just waffle, whole page pictures of individual kettlebells, pointless U.S. Secret Service "rules" etc. The couple of hundred pages could easily be reduced to 100 and (even more importantly) the price could be dropped by at least half to make it value for money.

Or... replace the 100 pages of padding with detailed descriptions of more exercises for the same price: Windmill, Floor Press, Renegade Row, Figure 8, and so on...

Great book, shame about the horribly expensive padding.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)