Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take the High Road
I used to love this tv programme, I was so happy when I saw that Amazon had the dvd for sale., and I bought it straight away.
It is a double dvd set but only has 3 episodes of the series on each disc, the picture quality isn't wonderful but quite acceptable,or at least it was to me. I have been in touch with Scottish TV to see if they are bringing out the complete...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Jenny

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor value for money
Although i enjoyed watching this series again I feel it was not good value for money. there were over 1000 episodes of this programe originally so 6, 30 mins episodes for over 10 is not really worth it. just think how much it would cost if they were all available on dvd, great to watch it again though.
Published on 23 Aug 2011 by me


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor value for money, 23 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Although i enjoyed watching this series again I feel it was not good value for money. there were over 1000 episodes of this programe originally so 6, 30 mins episodes for over 10 is not really worth it. just think how much it would cost if they were all available on dvd, great to watch it again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take the High Road, 15 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I used to love this tv programme, I was so happy when I saw that Amazon had the dvd for sale., and I bought it straight away.
It is a double dvd set but only has 3 episodes of the series on each disc, the picture quality isn't wonderful but quite acceptable,or at least it was to me. I have been in touch with Scottish TV to see if they are bringing out the complete series of Take the High Road, I do hope they do, otherwise this one dvd would have been rather pointless.

I loved the series and I loved watching it again, it brought back so many memories, my daughter, when she was 7 met most of the cast up in Luss nr Loch Lomond, they were all so kind to her, she is now 32 and still "loves" Dougal!!.

Please STV bring out the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch it on Youtube instead, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
STV really must be desperate or greedy or both! Six half hour episodes over two discs at that price!! Why bother insulting the public! The show was an afternoon soap in ten of the 14 ITV regions when it was screened years ago. Only four regions in Northern Ireland, Scotland and the Border region had a peak time transmission for the show.
Would you really want 100s and 100s of 3 episode discs when STV have THE WHOLE SERIES on youtube anyway!
STV you have no business sense at all. You deprive your viewers of decent British drama and fob your audience off with old US shows or cheap Australian imports which have been shown on cable already. You then decide to release much of your material on Youtube so it is FREE for anyone to watch. Why bother with this dvd? One of their Youtube channels where you can see Take The High Road is STVDramas.
The sooner STV disappears and the licence for the two Channel 3 regions in Scotland is given to somebody else, the better!

As a series itself, STV should be proud of their history and their previous commitment to decent local programming. Take The High Road ran for years and was only taken off the ITV network by London based executives. Eventually all ITV regions resumed the series at their own pace anyway. The sad fact was that STV had had to cut down to one episode a week following it's removal from the network

Watch the whole lot in all it's glory on Youtube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Enjoyed as much as the first time I watched it on television all those years ago.
Would recommend to people who want to be reminded of happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take The High Road, 1 Dec 2012
By 
A. N. Winter (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed going back down memory road watching these episodes. Can't wait to watch the second dvd. The dvd arrived very quickly and was in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish soap, 9 Jan 2012
By 
D. B. Kirkley "Cougarman" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
How great to be able to see what soaps were like before murder and mayhem in every episode and ITV was a truly regional network. Shame this great series is not on now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take the High Road, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I am thorough enjoying this series and I do hope that the balance of the episodes will become available. I think anyone who enjoyed Monarch will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Just as I remembered it! An old favourite of mine. Brought back happy memories watching it all all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take the High Road, 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The quality was really good on this six episode disc. Enjoyed watching it but do wish more episodes
could be released on dvd. It is one of the old genuine quality serials, sadly missing these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Take The High Road : The First Six Episodes [DVD] [1980]
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews