Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing can prepare you for the brutality ...
I have seen a few television documentaries and even a two part drama about human trafficking and I can honestly say that nothing prepared me for the brutality I found written within the pages of this book ... conjuring the many, many images that will continue to haunt you long after you have closed the book.

Radhika left her small village home in Kathmandu,...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Karen Baxter

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Irritating
An interesting read which showed (all too clearly) how the poor and ignorant are at the mercy of the wealthy and educated.

HOWEVER, As this is supposed to be an entirely true story, including details of who went to jail, who didn't, photographs and so on, why was it felt necessary to indulge in a series of fictionalised sections in the book? It read exactly...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Angela


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing can prepare you for the brutality ..., 15 Mar 2011
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have seen a few television documentaries and even a two part drama about human trafficking and I can honestly say that nothing prepared me for the brutality I found written within the pages of this book ... conjuring the many, many images that will continue to haunt you long after you have closed the book.

Radhika left her small village home in Kathmandu, Nepal at the age of 15 in the hope of earning some money to educate herself and also to help her family who were living in abject poverty caused by financing a large dowry for their eldest daughter. Little did she know that she would not see her home for many years. At 16 naive Radhika became a helpless victim of a well executed plan by a network of human traffickers. Initially groomed over many weeks by a trafficker named `Lama' who with the promise of a lucrative position as housekeeper to a rich family in the city easily gained Radhika's trust, her reward for this trust is the loss of a kidney, a forced marriage to a family member of one of the human traffickers and months of cruelty.

And it does not stop there!

After her son Rohan is born things get even worse, Radhika's violent husband deserts her and she discovers herself once more in trouble, the human traffickers have not finished with her and she finds herself transferred from brothel to brothel, her son ripped from her arms and taken from her for many months at a time.

Radhika's story is emotionally shattering and even though you know from the outset that Radhika manages to escape and save her son, you wonder how she can find the resolve to achieve this.

Another point of interest is the way Radhika's family reacted to her when she returned home ... so look out for that.

Although shocking and harrowing `Radhika's Story' is a book you will feel compelled to read to the very last page and then you will find yourself re-reading the last few chapters to reaffirm in your own mind that it really is all over for Radhika and her son Rohan.

A more gripping heart rending human story I have yet to read and I congratulate the author Sharon Hendry for bringing this very real global problem to our attention.

An excellent book for reading groups with many points of interest to discuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad, painful, true, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Catriona Reid - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's a gripping story, no doubt about it. And everyone loves a story of hope - of someone overcoming difficulty and rising above. It's a universal narrative for a reason.

I didn't like the fact that there were fictionalised sections - I think it would have been more powerful had these been left out. And it also bothered me *immensely* that the writer was a white, Western woman - I have no idea where the profits from this book are going, and the idea of someone profitting from this desperate story is appalling. It also smacks somewhat of exploitism - somewhat the same problem many have with Slumdog Millionaire.

That said, it is a great read, with fascinating cultural background, and you can't help but root for Radhika all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could't Put Down!, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had the book since November but didn't have the time to read it! Then went away and one minute I was on Page 28 then the next I was finished!
All the way through you kept thinking ' not again, how could someone, so inocent be so unlucky? How could there be so many nasty people out there in this day and age?'
I can only hope that all the other girls out there in Radhika's situation get the strength that she has and lives to save themselves.
I couldn't read some parts in public because I cried! So I had to sit by myslef and my heart broke but was so encourged that there ARE some good people out there.
A must to read ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very moving and emotional account of Radhika's story. The book highlights the incredibly evil world of the black market of organ transplants and the human trafficking forcing young girls into prostitution. It is very hard to read what Radhika suffered and almost unbelievable that this is a modern account of human trafficking.

The author shows real compassion in this compelling and well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
What a brave and lovely girl.It gave a fantastic insight to this troublesome occurence.Everybody should read this book to get an idea of what they go through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
What a terribly sad story, thankfully Radhika has a good life now with her son, I hope she is able to have some comforts it makes you so upset that these things still go in in the twenty first century !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faith knows no bounds, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
Having faith in people can get you in so much trouble but without it where would we be this girls faith is unbelievable excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truely inspiring, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
what an inspiring read..this woman endured so much horrific pain and illness and survived-A mothers love for her child has true meaning in this book. there will always be good kind hearted people out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Luck Radhika and Rohan, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
what these two have been through is beyond words and makes you ashamed to be a male and it makes you question if there is a god. good luck to you both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read., 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radhika's Story: Surviving Human Trafficking (Kindle Edition)
This book introduced me to a world I did not know existed. It is a harrowing account of Radhika's life in its early years and is in my
opinion a must read. Her courage and bravery beggars belief.

The discomforting aspect of this book is that there are many thousands of Radhikas in this world today.

solmagwind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews