Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single CD of Dean's music
Dean Martin had two separate hit-making periods - in the fifties with Capitol and in the sixties with Reprise. The early sixties were not successful in the charts, although Dean continued to record albums and was also kept busy in other ways. You would normally have to buy one album to get his Capitol music and another to get his Reprise music. This collection spans both...
Published on 21 Sep 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "New" - Amazon, how dare you???
It's a lovely set, but out of print. A Marketplace seller was selling two copies "fulfilled by Amazon". They were listed as "New". When it came, it wasn't sealed, was badly scratched and was no use at all to give to my mum for Christmas. I asked to send it back, ordered the other copy, and found it was just the same - even though Amazon had put their OWN...
Published 2 months ago by J. Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single CD of Dean's music, 21 Sep 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dean Martin had two separate hit-making periods - in the fifties with Capitol and in the sixties with Reprise. The early sixties were not successful in the charts, although Dean continued to record albums and was also kept busy in other ways. You would normally have to buy one album to get his Capitol music and another to get his Reprise music. This collection spans both periods.
This collection contains most of the songs that are associated with Dean, including Memories are made of this, That's amore, Volare, You're nobody till somebody loves you, In the chapel in the moonlight, Standing on the corner, Send me the pillow that you dream on, Houston and Everybody loves somebody.
Dean's first solo hit, Powder your face with sunshine, is also included. It was no match for Evelyn Knight's version, which was number one in America for many weeks, but it was a start. Evelyn was at the peak of her career while Dean was just beginning. You belong to me (Jo Stafford) and Mambo Italiano (Rosemary Clooney) were other songs that other singers had bigger hits with than Dean.
Dean is often compared to Frank Sinatra, but their music was quite different. I enjoy both of them in different ways. While Frank's music was rooted in the big band sound of the late thirties, Dean's was altogether more relaxed - Dean was the classic crooner. In the sixties, his music took on a country flavor. It was never country enough for him to establish credibility amongst diehard country music fans, but for those who enjoy both pop and country music, Dean's sixties music is particularly appealing. Dean does not twang, so a lot of people who don't like country music can still enjoy his music.
If you only ever buy one Dean Martin album, this is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate definition of "easy listening", 22 Sep 2004
The unique interpretations of a master song stylist, Dean Martin shines in this collection of recordings which were released from 1949 (''Powder Your Face With Sunshine'') to ''Gentle on My Mind'' in 1968. His smooth, gorgeous voice never loses a twist of humor, and you'll find yourself smiling and sometimes singing along with these uplifting tunes, which are the ultimate in ''easy listening''.
The later songs, from the mid '60s on, tend to have a hint of country flavor, and the early ones in the '50s have an Italian feel to them, and some of them of course, like ''Volare'', were originally Italian songs.
It's these early gems that are my favorites, like ''Love Me, Love Me'' from '53, ''Sway'' from '54, a marvelous melody that was also a hit for Bobby Rydell in '61, and Dean's fabulous rendition of ''Mambo Italiano'' from '55, which a few months earlier had been a top hit for Rosemary Clooney, and then there's ''Volare'', which I identify even more with Dean Martin than its singer/songwriter Domenico Modugno.
The booklet insert is excellent, with liner notes by Stevie Van Zandt and two of Dean's children, Deanna and Gail, and most of all, I appreciate its detailed list of each song, with release date, highest chart position, and more, and some nice b&w photos of the very cool Mr. Martin.
The sound overall is quite good, and total running time is 77'59.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Dino CD EVER!, 3 Jan 2005
I absolutely LOVE this Cd- it is the best Dean Martin Cd any fan could possibly wish for.
His voice is mellow and soothing, whilst singing some of the most famous songs ever recorded.
All of them will be your faves, and make Dean one of your favourite artists for eternity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Smoothie, 3 Dec 2009
By 
J. Allan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can you say about this album it just demonstrates what a talented singer Dean Martin was he had it all great voice, range and timing. If you like Francis Albert don't miss out on his fellow Rat Pack member. Pure Genius !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean Martin CD, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Ann Edwards (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd is the best I've heard of Dean Martin, he's so laid back and is very easy to relax and listen to. Dino: The Essential Dean Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dino, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Mathers "chickers43" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This brought back a lot of memories hearing the Dean Martin hits.
Thanks to sites like Amazon you can still buy your top recording artist's of 40's,50's and early 60's
I recommend this CD of The Essential Dean Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just telling you what I think, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Dino: The Essential Dean Martin (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I can only say this........if you are deliberating, pondering or even merely thinking about adding it to your collection........stop it..........just BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dino live, 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is easy listening at its best. Its just hit after hit, sang in his own unbelievable way. If your not a Dean Martin fan before you listen to this CD you will be afterwards. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains all Deans hits and more, 3 Mar 2011
By 
This was bought as a present for my husband and it contains all his greatest hits, a good choice if you want everything on the one CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chill out!, 12 July 2009
By 
J. Duffy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lie back in your favouite armchair, pour a glass of wine and listen to the velvet voice of Dean Martin.Dean was a really talented singer who had the sense not to take himself too seriously. A great collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4531cf0)

This product

Dino: The Essential Dean Martin (Deluxe Edition)
Dino: The Essential Dean Martin (Deluxe Edition) by Dean Martin (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews