Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Dredd Book
A drokkin' good read! Gives some good background on the justice departments and also life on the open sea, harr ooaarre!!!!
Published 26 days ago by D. C. Purcell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A penny dreddful
An enjoyable read as Dredd takes on the Black Atlantic, bio weapons and cities ships. It's not a challenging read but then again, it's not meant to be! Despite all the action I found things dragged a little bit, it could have done with a bit more light and shade, and dare I say it ... character development? If not Dredd, at least the mutants!! 3.5 stars.
Published 17 months ago by Watchya


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dredd Book, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
A drokkin' good read! Gives some good background on the justice departments and also life on the open sea, harr ooaarre!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
A good story. Plenty of action and suspense. Was a little slow to get going but when it did... I couldn't put it down. Set outside Mega City One on a floating city of vessels.

Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dress fair, 3 Oct 2013
By 
howard (rct, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
This was a great story set away from the big meg, it explores the realm of the black Atlantic city ships, dress is a little mellow just this once and you get the impression he feels for the people on board the story never slows and the pace is spot on. Couple of interesting characters are explored in detail and flushed out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A penny dreddful, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read as Dredd takes on the Black Atlantic, bio weapons and cities ships. It's not a challenging read but then again, it's not meant to be! Despite all the action I found things dragged a little bit, it could have done with a bit more light and shade, and dare I say it ... character development? If not Dredd, at least the mutants!! 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
This novel is a good introduction to Dredd & Mega City One. It's quite pacy & the plot is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly entertaining and occasionally subtle read..., 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
Having recently rediscovered a nostalgic affection for all things Dredd in light of the upcoming movie, I have read a couple of the novels available on the kindle for ol' stony face himself. This one was surprisingly the most enjoyable.

Not really knowing what to expect from the novels in terms of quality, I've read some good and some not so, but i found 'The Black Atlantic' to be easily the most entertaining. Reading like an action movie plot, with tons of frenetic incident, what really struck me were the little things which just added to the story, and elevated it into 'bloody good read status'.

Set on a city ship on the black atlantic, details of life in this environment unfold as does the nightmare of combatting a foe who seems totally designed for fighting. By adding just enough insight into the wider cast of characters to make you care enough about what happens to them, and by creating a almost 'predator-like' situation of cat and mouse for our protagonists to deal with, the authors craft a story which is part suspense/scifi/horror story,with Dredd the immovable object in the middle of it all.

The story unfolds into increasing degrees of calamity resulting in a truly heroic turn by Dredd and all in all, i found the book fun, thrilling and a really good take on Dredd as literally a fish out of water, adrift on enemy ground, fighting a foe he has no right to beat but utterly unmoved by any of the obstacles in his way.

If you like Dredd, you'll love this. a rip-roaring adventure which creates a scenario whih gets worse by the page is juxtaposed nicely by some interesting character development, with some great insights on Dredd, as seen through the eyes of those around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
Not one of the better books in the judge dredd series so far but not a bad read either. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic (Kindle Edition)
This was 2nd Dredd novel I read - or attempted to read, as I rapidly desisted from the effort. After Michael Carroll's 'Year One', I was encouraged by the quality of that book to go another step into an area of Sci-Fi fiction I had previously remained clear of.

However, 'Black Atlantic' was disappointing. Firstly, 'Suspension of Disbelief' is not achieved. The writing goes beyond what is necessary in its graphic descriptions, and is clumsy in its articulation, using an immature literary style to bludgeon the reader. I'm not offended by pulp fiction 'per se', enjoying the likes of Mickey Spillane: however, this is in my view poor quality fare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mistrust, murder, mayhem., 11 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dredd returns in this new format. No pictures just a novel. The story begins as it should with a raid on a factory with old stoneyface himself in the lead. His target is a renegade Tech Division bioweapons scientist, who is continuing her experiments into altering clone technology to produce the ultimate warrior. The raid leads Dredd to a cityship floating on the Black Atlantic. Home to over 1,000,000 people, Dredd has to lead a team comprising of a Tech Scientist and SJS as well as street Judges to destroy one such Bio-weapon.
Unlike some of the more outlandish Dredd stories (talking pigs etc). This is one that has it's roots in todays experiments with DNA & cloning. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd #3: Black Atlantic
2.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews