Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just ordered another set
Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, and with the supplier. The only quibble I have, and it's the reason for four stars rather than five, is that the picture is a bit misleading. It gives the impression that the lights have some kind of reflector or diffuser to increase the light output, like you get on some indoor fairy lights (and which my neighbour's outdoor...
Published on 6 Aug. 2011 by WILSON

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, summer use only
Great for the price. Very bright lights which come on at dusk for 8 hours. You cannot adjust that period. Will only charge properly in direct sunlight for about 6 hours each time. If you get a few days of overcast skies it will take 3 or 4 days to charge and even then the lights will only come on for about an hour. They do need a lot of sun and then look really great...
Published 17 months ago by Roy


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just ordered another set, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
WILSON (Ventenac en Minervois, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, and with the supplier. The only quibble I have, and it's the reason for four stars rather than five, is that the picture is a bit misleading. It gives the impression that the lights have some kind of reflector or diffuser to increase the light output, like you get on some indoor fairy lights (and which my neighbour's outdoor solar lights have). In fact these are bare bulbs, so each one emits a fairly small amount of light.

Having said that, they are really bright, and came on instantly as soon as the ambient light dropped to the required level (no charging needed). Overall, we are really pleased with the purchase - so much so that we have just ordered another set. Cost of posteage was very reasonable - we live in France - not the rip-off that some other Amazon merchants want to charge for solar lights, and delivery was very fast - a week from order. All I'd suggest is making the description a bit more clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT PRICE QUALITY ?, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
HAVING PURCHASED SOLAR LIGHTS PREVIOUSLY, WAS AMAZED TO FIND HOW SOLID THIS SET WAS.
THE CABLE IS MUCH BETTER, AND WILL LAST A LOT LONGER THAN PREVIOUS SETS I HAVE
PURCHASED. IN MY OPINION WORTH PAYING A BIT EXTRA FOR A PRODUCT THAT WILL LAST
LONGER.ALSO THESE LIGHTS ARE WORKING FOR 10 HOURS NONE STOP, ON A CLOUDY DAY.
ONE OF MY NEIGHBOURS THINKS ITS CHRISTMAS COME EARLY AS HALF THE STREET NOW
HAVE SOLAR LIGHTS BRIGHTENING UP THEIR GARDENS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, 10 July 2011
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Very pleased with the product and the speedy delivery. We wanted to wind lots of lights around a tree without having to plug them in. These seemed ideal and after following the instructions about charging, produce a lovely effect in the dark. They're much brighter than expected and a good length, plenty for one medium-sized tree. We strapped the solar panel halfway up the trunk so that we could have all the lights high up and it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, summer use only, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Great for the price. Very bright lights which come on at dusk for 8 hours. You cannot adjust that period. Will only charge properly in direct sunlight for about 6 hours each time. If you get a few days of overcast skies it will take 3 or 4 days to charge and even then the lights will only come on for about an hour. They do need a lot of sun and then look really great in the summer. They are of no use in the winter months in the UK; the days are too short and not enough sun. Because they are called Fairy lights, which I associate with Xmas trees, they were bought to decorate an outside Xmas tree. Useless! Impossible to get enough charge to light them because of the short days and overcast skies.
Solar batteries should last about 2 years before they will no longer hold the charge and need replacing. You cannot replace the battery in this item. It is embedded in a resin cement which is fixed to the inside of the case. To break the battery free would almost certainly break or crack the case, making it no longer waterproof. If you succeeded in releasing the battery, the new battery would then have to be fixed in to the case somehow and then soldered in. The battery wires are soldered on to it. It does not sit in normal clip contacts for easy removal. Still, at the price, better to throw it away and buy a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time no sun no light, 3 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
waste of time worked ok for two days with stored charge .no sun no charge cant remove batteries to give a booster charge.probable work ok in summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
We bought 2 sets of lights to put around the garden fence. They arrived well packaged with a stake for putting the solar panel in the ground, but nothing to use to fix it to the fence or a wall which was a bit of a pain. We charged the lights up for a full day in the sun before using them as suggested & spent considerable time attaching them to the fence. They worked fantastically for 2 nights and looked lovely but nothing happened on the 3rd night...not even a glow. We turned them off & recharged for another day just in case the batteries needed a good charge but neither set would work & we've had to send them back. Bit disappointed & it was a real drag having to detatch them all from the fence again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well mine didn't work...., 18 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
These look like a quality item, and other reviewers have been very happy, so I presume mine must be faulty. They will light directly under bright light, but will not store charge even after a full bright day, just a glimmer, for 1 or 2 minutes max. I'll be returning them. Update: Excellent experience post sales from Proxima, offered refund straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much, 22 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Be aware that this product needs a good deal of sunshine to work properly. A full day of winter sun gives just over an hour of Christmas light - and when it does the are very pretty. I anticipate they will be better in the summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worked for one night only. Not a flicker since!!, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. Ml Lowe "mlowe" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Worked first night. Not a flicker since. Placed solar panel in open space next to tree facing south. Really pleased first night, but after that nothing. No invoice came with parcel and no instructions in English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® 100 LED 17M Multi Colour Solar Powered Fairy Light Waterproof -- Garden Lights Outdoor Party Lights (Kitchen & Home)
Put out in the garden now the light nights are here, and they stopped working after 2 weeks. Changed the battery but not charging during the day. Purchased two sets of these one for us and one for my mother in law, both sets have the same fault....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews