Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technical excellence, 22 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
Human marked the start, for me, of Death's proper technical death metal birth.
It has some fantastic riffs, and some of the most amazing bass "pops" from long time Sadus wizard Steve Digorgio. His bass playing is almost funky in its rhythm and timing. You can be listening to Chuck bawling his lungs out and on the occassional pause for breath there is a cool twang or two inserted in to the gap to keep you interested and motivated to listen further.
The best track on the album for me is "Lack of Comprehension" with its wierd synth intro, that rips into a riff to die for and some mean as hell growling. its a real gem and deserves to be called one of the stand out tracks of Death's whole catalogue.
I saw them at the Astoria around 1994/5 and they played this mid set. The place was teetering on a knife edge as the synth intro beamed out across the floor, then the band kicked in and the place just went completely berzerk!! Gene Hoglan on Drums having been the reason the place couldn't stay still. That man could whip up a beat and a half!
Human is a fantastic album. Avantgarde, intelligent and still brutal and classic Death.
For those who love Cynic, Pestilence and that kind of technical death metal, you can't go wrong with this album. I would even recomend it to fans of Nile and their close peers, as it is an insight into how and why these modern bands play just as technically well as they do. An inspiration of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best?, 17 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. D. G. Hazeldine "Dr. Sticks" (Kidderminster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
The second Death album I ever got, and I must say, that it's the best one for straight death metal.
Collecting musicians for each release (as poor Chuck needed to do every album), this features the guitar and drums from Cynic, a very technical band who's "Focus" album is deemed to very good, and the bass from long-time friend Steve DiGiorgio, this is a very technical and fast album. The drums rarely slow down, and the riffs are all fret-burning.
The 8 songs are all interesting lyrically - dealing with Suicide, Siamese Twins, being Blind, some Conspiracy theories, and other things. As usual, they are all well written, and the singing style of Chuck makes it quite easy to understand compared to mnost death metal.
There is one instrumental, and it has a very nice atmosphere to it, that is strangely calming even through the maelstrom of metal.
My personal favourite is "Lack Of Comprehension", with it's acoustic start.
This album indicated that Chuck was becoming a very technical guitarist - which he cinfirmed with subsequent releases. It also marked the first appearances of his interest in Spanish-style guitar.
Another great album in the long catalogue of great stuff from Chuck.
R.I.P. Chuck... I'm really sorry that I couldn't see this amazing band live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug 2006
By 
Craig McLaughlin (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
Death was unquestionably one of the, and arguably the primary innovators of the death metal genre, but it was with this album that Death truly built their legacy as one of the greatest metal bands ever. This marked a new phase for Death, turning them from a band into essentially a Chuck Schulinder solo project, with every song on this album, and all future Death albums, being written by Chuck alone. This also marked the beginning of a series of releases of rare, extraordinary quality culminating in the release of the phenemenol Sound of Perseverance, which I consider to be the best Death album, and one of the few greatest albums ever recorded by anyone. If you haven't heard any Death, that is perhaps a better place to start, but this fantastic release still belongs in any metal fans collection, and is probably my second favorite Death album.

Though Death was initially a pure Death metal band, this release and all future Death releases are better described as progressive death-thrash, perhaps leaning a bit more towards the thrash side. It's difficult to say why this is, other than to say that it feels more like thrash than death, to me anyway. Though it maintains much of the increased brutality of death metal, the riffs are very thrashy structurally, and they are always clean and crisp, not blurry and noisy as they tend to be in fast death metal. As a whole the riffs come a cross as a stylistic melding of those found in Reign in Blood and Beneath the Remains. Similarly, the drumming tends to be more thrashy, avoiding the blast-beat style drumming also common to death metal. Speaking of the drumming, Sean Reinert of Cynic is a fantastic drummer, though I prefer the later work of Gene Hoglan and Richard Christy. Sean doesn't seem to have as much personality stylistically as do those 2. To his advantage, he is probably the most accomplished double bass drummer I've ever heard, with even more extensive use of them than the latter 2. He can do them incredibly fast, but still mixes up the tempos more than any drummer I've heard. The rhythm guitar work is excellent as well, some of the fastest and most technically accomplished work around. Chuck seems unable to write an uninteresting riff. The solos/leads are good, but not great, and not nearly as good as they'd become just one album later. They still have their moments, particularly on the instrumental Cosmic Sea and and Lack of Comprehension. The bass is, sadly, pretty much MIA except on the aforementoined Cosmic Sea, where he does a nice, if short solo. Chuck's inimitable vocals fit the music very well, and he writes some thoughtful lyrics.

The only real conceivable complaint against this album is that other than the relatively mellow instrumental it has little variety. The intensity rarely relents, and it tends to focus on the extremely fast tempos, though every track drops down to more mid-paced tempos at leat occasionally. However, though it lacks variety, it is very consistent, with the track quality ranging from very good to brilliant. The opener, Flattening of Emotions is probably my favorite track, and is the fastest and most unrelentingly intense track on the album, though it still has a very memorable chorus. The next track, Suicide Machine, is another standout. A bit slower, though it still knows when to kick it up to speed and its got another strong chorus. Lack of Comprehension is another speedy number, with some nice stuttering, jumpy riffs and short leads thrown in as well.(It also has the best solo on the album.) Anyway, enough about the individual tracks. They all rule.

Thats really about all I got to say. Truly, a great metal album. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Metal at its finest, 15 May 2002
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, a must have seminal album in any metal fans collection. The power and feeling behind the music is incredible, a testament to Chuck Schuldiner (R.I.P) and his amazing songwriting abilities. The opening track is totally killer, a building drum beat slowly getting louder, a disjointed guitar riff joining it, then the harmonising.... the POW! a infernal riff that takes the enamel of your teeth from ten paces - fantastic! The track 'Lack of Comprehension' being one of Deaths more famed tracks is impossible to listen to without at least tapping along to, let alone letting loose with a good old bit of headbanging. This alum is a classic and YOU MUST own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another sterling effort, 24 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
With this, Death's fourth album, Chuck returned not so much with a bang as a full-on explosion. Considering this album was made in 1991 I was rather startled to hear the magnificent, jarring production that Death's music had so richly deserved. The only real criticism that can be levelled at the album is its brevity (38 minutes) and that as a reissue Century Media could surely have dragged up some extra tracks, perhaps B-sides, demos, live tracks from other albums? Nevertheless you will be headbanging for most if not all of these 38 minutes. This may not have received as much hype as other Death albums but it has proved far more influential than people think. But then much-vaunted "classic" albums are often disappointing when you get round to hearing them. It sounds like a template for 90s death metal, very crushing and brutal. Absolutely superb, music to piss off the numetal kiddies with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of Something Great, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
Every truly great band has that one album that starts it all, an album that instantly defines them as well as paving a way for a very bright future. Take The Number of The Beast by Iron Maiden, their previous albums beforehand were great but it was that album that was the first truly great Maiden album and set the standard for future Maiden releases, it is the same for Death's Human. Scream Bloody Gore, Leprosy and Spiritual Healing are all good albums but Human was the first Death album to successfully combined every component that made the band great. It was the start of something wonderful, Death would continue to evolve and grow from this amazing bench mark.
Human saw Death adapt a more technical death metal style than previous albums, this new style is apparent from the opening track Flattening of Emotions which opens with a short drum fill before descending into some great guitar riffing. From here on Human is a roller coaster ride for the next 35 minutes. From the crazy guitar solos and awesome drum work of songs such as Suicide Machine to unique ideas present in the brilliantly crafted instrumental Cosmic Sea, the album is fantastic on a instrumental and technical level. Death's founder and leader Chuck Schuldiner is also be notable for his great vocal work with his voice having more presence than ever, the very fact that he could pull off great vocals along with amazing guitar work is truly commendable.
However I believe Human as an album is summed up by one song, Lack of Comprehension represents everything that is great about this album as well as Death. It has unique ideas that show the band experiment with their sound whilst being as heavy as we would expect from a death metal album. It's the perfect balance that I look for in a band, they are willing to experiment whilst staying true themselves.
Human is not only a landmark Death album but is also a landmark metal album, it fully showed off the full potential that death metal had at the time and it's influence can be felt in progressive and technical death metal bands to this day. Is it my favorite Death album? To be honest I'm not sure, but is however a fantastic album that is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brutal Death Album. Chuck Schuldner r.i.p was a god., 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
After first purchasing Sounds of Perseverance and then Symbolic i was fortunate enough to come across Human. Once again a fantastically orchaestrated Death album. From the first song "Flattening of Emotions" you know exactly what you're in for. A tidy drum beat starts the song before Chuck begins his shredding. This album, as with all Death albums, has a subtle mixture of Crushing riffs, double foot drum beats, difficult solo's and harsh growling. Overall this album isn't as hyped as Leprosy or Symbolic, but its well worth buying if you are a Chuck Schuldner fan like me. His best work was done with Death although Control Denied were very good. I recommend this band and this cd to any metalhead who likes fast, aggressive Death Metal. 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from death, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
Again this is an album you will already own if your into death metal,it's more technical than leprosy and spiritual healing but it doesn't lack any of chucks locality to the cause of being the godfather of death metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
Whenever anyone asks me why I love death metal, I play them this cd. "Human" is an absolute classic, it is beautiful, technical, brutal and also timeless in equal parts. Lovely, punishing riffs combined with Chuck's (RIP) vocals which are spot on, being primal, yet clear, decipherable and coherent. This is a masterclass in quality death metal and to me it's also a blueprint of how to do death metal properly. I play this on a daily basis and any true death metal fan (nu skool or old skool) should have this in their collection/playlist. Buy now, you will not be disappointed!! You can thank me later!! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best from Death, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human (Audio CD)
I love all Death albums and to me it is the best one.
The album is very short but very magical, can put it in repeatable.
If you like metal riffs and solos, and the lyrics is good too, you should own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human
Human by Death (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews