Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dan Starkey at his best
I have read several of Colin Bateman's Dan Starkey books over the years and I think that this is one of my favorites. Dan has moved home and is determined to have a quiet life but then his old mate Mouse gets in touch and things start to go pear shaped. Mouse owns Belfast celeb gossip mag Belfast Confidential and he thinks that someone is trying to kill him on the eve...
Published on 12 Dec. 2006 by Helenbookworm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not a patch on Divorcing Jack.
I think this is one of the better Dan Starkey novels, but have the feeling the author is still struggling to recapture the style of the first in the series, which had a lot more to it. Or maybe I've just got older and harder to please?
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by Neil Carnduff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dan Starkey at his best, 12 Dec. 2006
By 
Helenbookworm (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
I have read several of Colin Bateman's Dan Starkey books over the years and I think that this is one of my favorites. Dan has moved home and is determined to have a quiet life but then his old mate Mouse gets in touch and things start to go pear shaped. Mouse owns Belfast celeb gossip mag Belfast Confidential and he thinks that someone is trying to kill him on the eve of the publication of the magazines annual power list.
When Mouse is killed in an arson attack Dan has to admit that he might have been right and sets out to both run the magazine and find out who killed his best mate. As always a plot that is fairly far fetched but in Bateman's hands it is so entertaining that you just don't care. I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Excellence from Bateman, 7 July 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
After 'Driving Big Davie' I was scared that Bateman had lost his ability to write a great novel. Dan Starkey, the journalist who appears in many of his books, was a depressed and changed man. The humor and ultra violence that made books such as 'Divorcing Jack' and 'The Horse with My Name' so excellent had seemingly misfired.

It was with great pleasure then that I found Bateman to be on some of the best form of his career with 'Belfast Confidential'. Dan Starkey is back in Northern Ireland and once again becomes involved in a murder mystery when the editor for a popular gossip magazine is murdered. Can Starkey survive his latest case and more importantly his latest job as the new editor of 'Belfast Confidential'?

This book works so well due to the characters. Starkey and his wife should really be unsympathetic as they are constantly arguing and being rude. However, a genuine feeling of love comes through, add to this a series of great support characters, you have a book full of laughs.

This book is very funny and in places violent. The only negative I could see was that the story did not wrap up as cleanly as I would have liked leaving me slightly confused near the end. However, the journey getting there was an absolute pleasure and I recommend this to people who like crime comedy novels.

Likely to be my book of the year - Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starky strikes again, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Dan Starkey Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Bateman is not only from my home town but I love his humor and I'm only sorry that more of his work is not on TV or made into films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bateman does it again, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
I have yet to read a bad Bateman novel. This continues the Dan Starkey saga, if you have not read any others it won't matter too much, as each novel stands alone, however, any unread Bateman is an opportunity missed. I have just purchased a lot of his back catalogue in the used category as sadly they are out of print - his publishers really should address this. Belfast Confidential is another of his wise cracking murder mysteries with a gritty plot and laughs aplenty. If you like to curl up with a good book then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up and down like a yo yo... great!!!, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Dan Starkey Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
The only book I can remember reading through X factor. Great read. Love Bateman`s books. Can't wait to read some more. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not a patch on Divorcing Jack., 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Dan Starkey Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I think this is one of the better Dan Starkey novels, but have the feeling the author is still struggling to recapture the style of the first in the series, which had a lot more to it. Or maybe I've just got older and harder to please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 27 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
Bateman's books are so funny and well writen. They are a break from normal murder mysteries. The books are so well tied in with their location, Belfast N. Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 27 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
A pacy tale, quite gripping in its own manic way, racing to a climactic conclusion amidst hilarity and all-too-credible Norn Irish lunacy. Bateman is not just streets but whole cities and towns ahead of his smalltown, smalltime, mimics such as Garbhan Downey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun - Does what it says on the tin., 6 Dec. 2008
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
Its a Colin Bateman novel. If you are looking for a politicised, violent, tongue in cheek, thriller with an Ulster accent - you'll love it.

If you've read Bateman before, you'll know what to expect. If you haven't, start somewhere else (Divorcing Jack to be precise).

Not great literature, but great fun, some real laugh out loud moments, and a fine companion for a long flight or train journey.

(PS If you are looking for a politicised, violent, tongue in cheek thriller with a Scottish accent, try Christopher Brookmyre)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dialogue, 31 July 2007
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belfast Confidential (Paperback)
Belfast Confidential is a great book. Nicely paced and not too difficult to follow the plot. But what made it for me is the great dialogue. I laughed out loud at the exchange between Dan and his bodyguard on whether he was likely to be a murder target or an assasination. A good reader would probably ensure this a success as an audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews