Customer Reviews


444 Reviews
5 star:
 (278)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


294 of 303 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, improved....
I compared the 18v and 12v of this cleaner in a leading electrical store - the 18v is a completely different beast to the 12v. It's like comparing your dyson to those horrible dustbusters of old that didn't really pick up.

I did notice the problem that Which Magazine and several reviewers on here noted - the flap that was supposed to stop the dirt you've picked...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by stripestripe

versus
91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed with this item. Not fit for purpose!
My husband really liked the look of the 18v Dirtbuster Pivot from Black and Decker, with three young children we very often have broken biscuits and chrisps skattered around the house and this looked ideal for this kind of job.
So for Christmas 2011 I bought him the 18v one.
On the face of it, the cleaner was perfect for the job, but claims of 10 minutes plus...
Published 18 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

294 of 303 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, improved...., 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
I compared the 18v and 12v of this cleaner in a leading electrical store - the 18v is a completely different beast to the 12v. It's like comparing your dyson to those horrible dustbusters of old that didn't really pick up.

I did notice the problem that Which Magazine and several reviewers on here noted - the flap that was supposed to stop the dirt you've picked up from falling out of the cylinder and back down the spout is too weakly sprung - but I thought I could live with that given its immense suction power.

However, I can confirm that the model Amazon sent me a couple of weeks ago has had the offending flap design modified by B&D (as B&D told Which Magazine they would do and it works perfectly.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Very good and useful. A little noisy but good suction and battery life excellent. Would have been nice to have a wall mounting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Had this now for a few months so thought I would post my comments on its suitability as a hand held Hoover. Suction is fantastic, very powerful for such a little unit. The light on the base is Really bright so ideal as a night light in the kitchen...lol. easy to clean the dust bowl however cleaning the filter is messey and as the unit is so good at its job cleaning the filter is a two weekly job. Really clogs up quickly. Have to bash it quite hard to clear all the dust from the fiter. I think you can buy replacement filters but have not looked into this yet. You will not be disapointed with your purchase and the battery lasts long enough to do a whole flight of 15 stairs and much more around the house in one go.

Update 8/6/13.... Unit still going strong bought a couple of extra filters for around the 8 mark each...took a risk and rinsed out the old one and let it dry out for a few days in the sun...hey presto works fine so you can wash the filter. I did not use any cleaning agents just warm water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black& Decker Dust Buster, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Ellen Ann (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
This has to be the grand daddy of all dustbusters! Very powerful and therefore very effective. I feel that I am winning the "dog hair" battle at last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker 18v Dustbuster, 2 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent product, far better than the usual crumb suckers. Very nimble and great power and duration, enough to clean a car VERY WELL! Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Absolutely brilliant!, 8 Nov 2011
By 
L. Dutton "seagull" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
I've previously owned two dustbusters over the years and they've been OK for picking up dust, but not much else. However, this model is in a completely different league! Forget dust... this is a real dirtbuster! It has fast become the most useful gadget in my home. In the kitchen it's great for getting rid of all those seeds that go every everywhere when you buy a new loaf of bread. In the bathroom it make's short work of the dust, fluff and hair that accumulates whenever your back is turned. It happily copes with stairs and saves having to lug a full-sized vacuum cleaner up and down. And the pivot head will get into just about any nook or cranny that you have. Suffice to say I use mine several times a day. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and versatile!, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Overall great performance, 18v. Good Quality/Price ratio. Angle adjustable. Fits extremmely well in reduced spaces. As a CON I'd say the battery life is quite short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed with this item. Not fit for purpose!, 26 Jan 2013
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
My husband really liked the look of the 18v Dirtbuster Pivot from Black and Decker, with three young children we very often have broken biscuits and chrisps skattered around the house and this looked ideal for this kind of job.
So for Christmas 2011 I bought him the 18v one.
On the face of it, the cleaner was perfect for the job, but claims of 10 minutes plus running time were found to be greatly exagerated. Right from the start, it was only effective for six to seven minutes and it took 12 hours to fully recharge. Not what we were hoping for.
Never the less, it did the job perfectly, all be it for shorter than hoped periods.
Now coming up to present date, things have got worse. The cleaner has been on charge for 13 months now, it is used every day until almost flat, but now it only works effectively for three minutes before loosing so much suction that it useless.
I would seriously not recommend buying the 18v Dirtbuster under any circumstances, it has been an expensive waste of money and a big dissapointment. I just wish I'd taken it back the first day I used it.

To summarise: The Dirtbuster Pivot 18V from Black and Decker is expensive to buy, performs badly, takes a long time to recharge and has dergaded to scrap within 13 months of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little DustBuster, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Very pleased with this. Very powerful. Slightly heavier than I expected and noisier, but this is more than offset by the flexibility and suction. Nice design too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one!!!, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
This is fantastic handheld vacuum.
I used to have a dyson handheld and at that time I thought that dyson is the best.
But I was wrong!
This Black and Decker 18v model is way better than dyson, no doubts.
It is very small!!!
It is very powerfull!!!
It is compact!!!
It is comfortable to hold!!!
It is easy to use!!!
It is easy to empty a dust container!!!
Its battery lasts longer!!!
You can keep it on a charger if you want to without worrying of damaging the battery!!!
It is very robust!!!
Two hidden attachment within the machine!!!
Filter will have to be cleaned quite often.
This is simply the best handheld vacuum these days - on my opinion of cause!!!
Very much recommended!!!

Update: I have been using this one for more than a year now and still very happy with it. The only thing is - filter has to be cleaned quite often. But no big deal as it is very easy to do.
Still very recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews