Customer Reviews


539 Reviews
5 star:
 (340)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


319 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, improved....
I compared the 18v and 12v of this cleaner in a leading electrical store - the 18v is a completely different beast to the 12v. It's like comparing your dyson to those horrible dustbusters of old that didn't really pick up.

I did notice the problem that Which Magazine and several reviewers on here noted - the flap that was supposed to stop the dirt you've picked...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by stripestripe

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good suction, some faults though
This vacuum cleaner does work with good suction and feels well made. However there are a few things wrong with it that would prevent me from fully recommending it.

It is heavy and it is noisy.

It charges with a trickle charger and does not indicate when charged (only that it is charging). That's fine if you are going to leave it charging on the...
Published 16 months ago by splodman


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

319 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, improved...., 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
I compared the 18v and 12v of this cleaner in a leading electrical store - the 18v is a completely different beast to the 12v. It's like comparing your dyson to those horrible dustbusters of old that didn't really pick up.

I did notice the problem that Which Magazine and several reviewers on here noted - the flap that was supposed to stop the dirt you've picked up from falling out of the cylinder and back down the spout is too weakly sprung - but I thought I could live with that given its immense suction power.

However, I can confirm that the model Amazon sent me a couple of weeks ago has had the offending flap design modified by B&D (as B&D told Which Magazine they would do and it works perfectly.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Very good and useful. A little noisy but good suction and battery life excellent. Would have been nice to have a wall mounting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black& Decker Dust Buster, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Ellen Ann (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
This has to be the grand daddy of all dustbusters! Very powerful and therefore very effective. I feel that I am winning the "dog hair" battle at last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good suction, some faults though, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
This vacuum cleaner does work with good suction and feels well made. However there are a few things wrong with it that would prevent me from fully recommending it.

It is heavy and it is noisy.

It charges with a trickle charger and does not indicate when charged (only that it is charging). That's fine if you are going to leave it charging on the base and use it no more frequently than every few days but don't expect several full uses per day. It lasts long enough, around 10 minutes, but the noise makes sure you don't run it unnecessarily.

The major flaws are around the air output. The air exits from the bottom - right near the area you are trying to vacuum and so has a tendency to just blow all the debris you are trying to vacuum up around the room. It needs a duct to blow out the back.

Also, when you start the vacuum it blows a cloud of fine dust out - I assume that until the cyclone is established the debris isn't held in suspension and all the finer stuff can exit through the motor. It is bad enough that I always hold it outside to start it. It has done this from new with a new filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top performer, 20 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is indeed a top performer. Yes, it is a little on the heavy side and a tad noisy. However, that is the price you have to pay for the high power and suction this cleaner delivers. Don't expect the charge to last more that fifteen to twenty minutes though. This item is ideal for cleaning car seats and household stairs, which are the main reasons I bought it. For these applications, the length of charge is not a problem. I keep mine permanently connected to the charger so it is ready to use instantly. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little DustBuster, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Very pleased with this. Very powerful. Slightly heavier than I expected and noisier, but this is more than offset by the flexibility and suction. Nice design too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker 18v Dustbuster, 2 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent product, far better than the usual crumb suckers. Very nimble and great power and duration, enough to clean a car VERY WELL! Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Absolutely brilliant!, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
I've previously owned two dustbusters over the years and they've been OK for picking up dust, but not much else. However, this model is in a completely different league! Forget dust... this is a real dirtbuster! It has fast become the most useful gadget in my home. In the kitchen it's great for getting rid of all those seeds that go every everywhere when you buy a new loaf of bread. In the bathroom it make's short work of the dust, fluff and hair that accumulates whenever your back is turned. It happily copes with stairs and saves having to lug a full-sized vacuum cleaner up and down. And the pivot head will get into just about any nook or cranny that you have. Suffice to say I use mine several times a day. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed with this item. Not fit for purpose!, 26 Jan 2013
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
My husband really liked the look of the 18v Dirtbuster Pivot from Black and Decker, with three young children we very often have broken biscuits and chrisps skattered around the house and this looked ideal for this kind of job.
So for Christmas 2011 I bought him the 18v one.
On the face of it, the cleaner was perfect for the job, but claims of 10 minutes plus running time were found to be greatly exagerated. Right from the start, it was only effective for six to seven minutes and it took 12 hours to fully recharge. Not what we were hoping for.
Never the less, it did the job perfectly, all be it for shorter than hoped periods.
Now coming up to present date, things have got worse. The cleaner has been on charge for 13 months now, it is used every day until almost flat, but now it only works effectively for three minutes before loosing so much suction that it useless.
I would seriously not recommend buying the 18v Dirtbuster under any circumstances, it has been an expensive waste of money and a big dissapointment. I just wish I'd taken it back the first day I used it.

To summarise: The Dirtbuster Pivot 18V from Black and Decker is expensive to buy, performs badly, takes a long time to recharge and has dergaded to scrap within 13 months of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one!!!, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Pivot Dustbuster Handheld Vacuum Cleaner - 18 Volt (Kitchen & Home)
This is fantastic handheld vacuum.
I used to have a dyson handheld and at that time I thought that dyson is the best.
But I was wrong!
This Black and Decker 18v model is way better than dyson, no doubts.
It is very small!!!
It is very powerfull!!!
It is compact!!!
It is comfortable to hold!!!
It is easy to use!!!
It is easy to empty a dust container!!!
Its battery lasts longer!!!
You can keep it on a charger if you want to without worrying of damaging the battery!!!
It is very robust!!!
Two hidden attachment within the machine!!!
Filter will have to be cleaned quite often.
This is simply the best handheld vacuum these days - on my opinion of cause!!!
Very much recommended!!!

Update: I have been using this one for more than a year now and still very happy with it. The only thing is - filter has to be cleaned quite often. But no big deal as it is very easy to do.
Still very recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews