Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a great transfer of a brilliant film!
My rating is more for the blu-ray transfer as a product than the film itself. You can find plenty of reviews of the film elsewhere - in my opinion, it's a brilliant film that ought to be seen by any fan of musical theatre or even American history.

In terms of the package, this is a great deal. The main feature is in 1080p24, which looks sharp and pleasing most...
Published 22 months ago by A. Melhuish

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive repackage of an older steelbook
Just in case those steelbook collectors think this May 2011 release is a new steelbook different from the 2 disc steelbook released in 2008 by Buena Vista. It is not. Although the site says 1 disc released 30 May 2011 it is in fact the 2008 2 disc steelbook, exact same the only difference is there is a white barcode sticker overlaying the back cover original barcode...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Entertainment Bargains


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a great transfer of a brilliant film!, 30 Dec 2012
By 
A. Melhuish "smilerish" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My rating is more for the blu-ray transfer as a product than the film itself. You can find plenty of reviews of the film elsewhere - in my opinion, it's a brilliant film that ought to be seen by any fan of musical theatre or even American history.

In terms of the package, this is a great deal. The main feature is in 1080p24, which looks sharp and pleasing most fo the time, with only occasional shots showing up weak filming and/or transfer, with a lot of graininess or faded colours. These shots are very rare though. Occasionally, movement seems a little too smooth too, which may indicate some digital post-processing, but it's far from distracting.

The killer elements here are the soundtrack and the extras. I only have a stereo setup, but the soundtrack was hair-raisingly good! The best rendition of this fantastic score I've experienced.

The extras were great too, giving some nice insight into the making of this film and the history of the book. I especially liked the Liza Minelli extra, which although drawn out, is worth watching to see Liza singing Nowadays at the end.

In case it bothers anyone, all the extras seem to be 4:3 DVD quality (except the commentary I assume, but I haven't tried that), but still very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant show brilliantly captured in blu-ray, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Bernard Rosewalll "beowulf" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Surely one of the most intelligent satires written of post First World War America. This 'Musical' - which category seems to trivialise it - portrays Chicago as a town so used to violence that murder is seen as entertainment by the murderers, the lawyers, the prison warders, the press and its avid readers. The lyrics are sharp and witty; the music captures the era and is both ear-catching and memorable; the sets are strikingly imaginative and, as for the actors,they show a talent for singing and dancing one would never have suspected of them. All captured in picture-perfect surround sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for a rainy day, 5 Mar 2012
By 
S. M. Williams (Abergavenny) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! All singing, all dancing AND Richard Geer! What more could a girl want on a rainy day. Tune up before the video starts because you'll be singing along before you know it. Catherine and Renee are slinky and sexy, Queen Latifah absolutely brilliant as Mamma Morton and Richard improves every shot he's in. In most musicals, you get a few really good tunes and forget the others. Not in this musical - every song is catchy and memorable. The pace is so fast you'll lose at least 2lb in weight just keeping up with it. Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great film arrived in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous film, 28 Jan 2014
By 
B. Hanson (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this on stage so this was a gift that i appreciated very much. The music gets your heart racing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago DVD, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this as a belated Christmas present for myself and my daughter but we haven't got around to watching it yet! I have seen the film before and I loved it. Hence 5 stars. The delivery was within the time predicted. Great casting and songs. Hopefully will get a group of friends together to watch it for a girls night in (if I can get rid of hubby and son for an evening!). It's down to personal taste I suppose, so other musicals I like range from oldies like Singing in the Rain, High Society, Top Hat and Calamity Jane through to Grease, Dirty Dancing and Evita!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
Love this movie, has some great songs and numbers in it, the story line always makes me sad. Especially for Amis. i bought it because my partner had never seen it. He thought it was amazing. the item worked was as described and arrived on time :) perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Gift, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my wife and she loves it. Excellent performances from all of the cast. Dance tango is an amazing number
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic musical showing some of your favourite stars as you have never seen them before. Some extremely catchy tunes and superb choreography. A must see, add to your wish list now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with purchase, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Jillian Andrews "Serial Yo-yo Dieter" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought as a Xmas gift for my 14 year x daughter who is made about musicals & hasn't got this one yet. Very quick delivery & a nicely packaged DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicago [DVD]
Chicago [DVD] by Rob Marshall (DVD - 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews