Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Walk All Over You...again and again...and again
Get ready for some genuinely British entertainment! A factory making bespoke gentleman's shoes falls on hard times after the death of its managing director. Enter the "& son" who tries to turn it around. Unfortunately the market for quality, bespoke gentleman's brown brogues has diminished. After attending a shoe fayre in London, son decides to see a bit of nightlife and...
Published on 8 April 2006 by Freespirit

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh
The film is good however the copy I ordered never arrived, so only got to watch on cable TV a few years ago.
Published 5 months ago by Honeybun


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Walk All Over You...again and again...and again, 8 April 2006
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Get ready for some genuinely British entertainment! A factory making bespoke gentleman's shoes falls on hard times after the death of its managing director. Enter the "& son" who tries to turn it around. Unfortunately the market for quality, bespoke gentleman's brown brogues has diminished. After attending a shoe fayre in London, son decides to see a bit of nightlife and ends up in a drag bar in Soho. Enter ex-boxer /come drag queen who looks absolutely stunning in his/her 6" heels - but "these boots are killing my feet". Can the bespoke shoe maker help?What follows is great entertainment. The factory boss has an idea to start making 'gentleman's shoes' for the drag queen market in London and this is where the film starts to get really hilarious. The shoe factory is 'Oop North' where men are men and political correctness has not yet gripped the psyche. I won't spoil the plot by telling you too much but when glam queen enters the factory to see his/her new prototype shoes his/her face is a picture...This film is very funny,very British! it is touching, intelligent and definitely worth watching. Acting is just superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy about real life, kinky boots and drag queens., 5 Mar 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Desperate to salvage his failing boot factory Charlie Price (Joel Edgerton) is persuaded by drag queen and shoe designer Lola/Simon (Chiwetel Ejiofor) to create a niche market in kinky boots for drag queens and transvestites.

This is not laugh out loud comedy, it is a humorous look at real life problems, a failing business, societies difficulty in accepting cross dressing, a dedicated work force suddenly lead in a direction they do not like.

The film is carried by the wonderful performance of Ejiofor (a very fine actor with a number of awards, catch up with him in "Dirty Pretty Things" and "Children of Men") as drag queen Lola who cross dresses in real life although we never learn anything about Lola's private life.

There are some great musical moments in the film, particularly the catwalk scene and the final cabaret club performance by Lola.

Very British, very entertaining and with a lot of depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One For Shoe-Lovers, 4 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This was a heartwarmingly funny british movie. For those of us who love shoes it was absolutely a must see. Shoes so lovingly and intricately made you have a whole new appreciation for them. Also a wonderful love story, and great soundtrack. Could not help but sing along and dance in my seat. I will have to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy at its best, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Richelle Arundel "Rikki" (Hull, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I loved this film. In my view it is in the same class as Full Monty. OK the story line is pretty predictable once it is set up - but it deals with so many difficult LGBT issues in a sensitive way that I think everyone should watch it. The reactions of the Northampton employees in an old fashioned shoe factory to a gay man, a man in a frock, a black gay man are all dealt with brilliantly and the climax to the film is fabulous. Great fun movie that deal with serious issues in a way that is educational and entertaining way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars just for the fun it gave us, 20 Nov 2006
By 
Roy Brookes "roybrookes" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I watched this film with my girlfriend and we both loved it. The character of Lola is a wonderful invention (but based on fact - there is a true story behind this film). The acting is very good; not over the top but believable. There is comedy and tragedy in this film and you really feel for the characters.

We shall certainly watch it again and again. It is now part of our "collection" of films with a "drag" theme. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinky boots wow!, 11 April 2006
By 
Mrs VH Boyle (Leeds, West yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I personally loved this film and my hubby did too (although he is more of an action man!) it has something for all, quite sad at the beginning but then moves on, great imagination and quite refreshing that they didnt need to use bad language, just very good acting. A real good girlies movie but men dont be put off! ENJOY XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Films Rule, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Movie Moose "majestic-moose" (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This was a really great film; filled with a good sprinkling of humour, laughter, touching moments, foot tapping music and it'll broaden your horizons. Myself, my partner and a couple of friends sat down to watch it, for the first time last night, even though it has been in our DVD collection for some time - now I'm kicking myself for not having watched it before now. Everyone felt it was a good all-rounder.

It's got good casting, good direction & great cinematography, it a really believable film based on a true story. It's a good bit of British merchandise - go on give it a go and support our Film Industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens for the 21st century, 1 April 2009
By 
Citi Kiti (Salisbury, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
KINKY BOOTS truly is a great little film about the intersections with which modern society confronts us. It's also about people who follow impossible dreams, take hare-brained risks to achieve them, and can still boogie no matter what life does to them. I rate it triple A and 5 stars. Like a Dickens story, it's realistic, touching, romantic, and has a cliff-hanger ending that I still enjoy after having watched the film countless times both before and after I bought it. It's also laugh-out-loud hilarious. The sound track is spot-on, captures the changing moods from opening titles to final credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kinky boots, 29 Mar 2006
By 
Ms. N. J. Sparks "Nicky" (Blackburn, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This Film is very entertaining and is very tongue-in-cheek with the humour.
I went through all the emotions as the story unfolded - comedy elements were very funny but also there were sad parts that made me weepy. I have to say that this is one of the best british made films that I have had the pleasure to have seen and roll on any sequel. I couldn't believe that the leading man was an austrailian - his british accent was most convincing but the best part is at the end - but you have to watch it yourself to find out.
All in all a fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good film, 12 Feb 2009
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kinky Boots [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
The plot line aside (the other reviews cover that), this is a credible and intelligent film (my own top 2 criteria). It engages you in real well drawn characters and their own challenges. It leads you into, if not suprising, some nice new ideas and you come out really feeling for the people, the issues and even for the shoe company's future.

On another point: Lola is a massive hit, a top class actor, personality and what a cabaret performer.

I didn't expect such a rich experience from an accidental find; a keeper this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kinky Boots [DVD]
Kinky Boots [DVD] by Julian Jarrold (DVD - 2011)
£7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews