Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem
This is a fantastic little film, about a super-shy Northern girl (Jane Horrocks) who hides her secret talent - an amazing singing voice - from her mother until one fateful day she is 'discovered' by the ultra-slimy Michael Caine, the flash man-about-town who sweeps Little Voice's mother off her feet but ultimately turns out not to be very nice after all. There are...
Published on 13 Mar. 2000

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty coming of age drama
LV spends all her time in her room listening to her dead father's record collection at full blast. She hardly ever speaks (even when directly spoken to). Her overbearing mother takes everything LV does as a personal slight.
Two men look set to change all that: There's the shy telephone engineer who notices LV and wants to get to know her better. There is also her...
Published on 5 Sept. 2004 by Francisco

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth trying, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Jane Horrocks stars in this film and does an amazing job of it...considering she done all of it with her own voice it is quite astounding. Not reccomended for children, Good story behind although I was slightly disapointed at the ending. Overall one to try out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
I picked up this video because I knew Jane Horrock's other work in the London Donmar Warehouse production of Cabaret (Sally Bowles). I had no idea that I would be speechless over this video after I'd seen it, and that I would be recommending it to everyone I know. This is such a great piece of work with a stellar cast, and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little voice lost?, 31 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
Certainly a great premise for a story and the Scarborough setting perfectly conveys the feeling that this could be any time from the 50s to even present day. The film shared similarities with Kes - repressed daughter, overbearing mother, dubious boy friend of the mother and a passion driving the offspring on. It was bleak like Kes too. It relies heavily on the main characters. Brenda Blethyrn is a blisteringly accurate northern caricature almost painful in its accuracy or was it OTT? Jane Horrocks is good and can certainly sing but lacks charisma and sex appeal. You need that sass to be a diva. Scarborough looks fantastic almost fairytale like. There is one scene where its juxtaposed with New York - very clever. my only complaint would be the ending without giving it away. Michael Caine of whom I am a fan, ends disappointingly. He was a great character here. Its an oddly shaped story but not without merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a film, 2 April 2000
By A Customer
What a film. It really does take the p*** when a film from L.A that costs $200 millon (Titanic), manages to clean up at the oscars and is not even the same league as this work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Piece of Viewing., 20 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Looking for a heart felt drama that is not too long? then Little Voice is for you.
Truly amazing acting & script writing.
Brenda Blethyn & Jane Horrocks make this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill film, 18 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
i love this film and ordered it for a friend as he haddnt seen it. He loved it british acting at its best and fast delivery thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LV has talent, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
What a terrific actress Brenda B is. I absolutely love this woman!! She is so funny in this film as the blousy mother of LV. What talent Jane Horrocks has. You would think the actual singing stars like Marilyn Monroe and Ms.Bassey and Judy Garland were in this film. JH does all her own singing she is so clever. Brilliant funny and sad this film. Recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
Great characters (if a little irritating at times) and superb acting by all. When I first saw this film, years ago, I was blown away when the final credits revealed that Jane Horrocks was actually singing LV's songs. I've been a huge admirer ever since. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Voice, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite films - funny, sad and memorable all at the same time. Could watch it over and over again. Great performances by Jane Horrocks,Brenda Blethyn and Michael Caine. Fantastic music and story line. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
I heard about this movie while on holiday in Scarborough and as that was where I was born I was interested in the sights. I remembered the area it was filmed in as I only lived a few streets away so this was a real walk down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Voice [DVD]
Little Voice [DVD] by Mark Herman (DVD - 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Brassed Off [DVD]
Brassed Off [DVD] by Pete Postlethwaite (DVD - 2007)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (260)   
Buy new£4.00
In stock

Made in Dagenham [DVD] [2010]
Made in Dagenham [DVD] [2010] by Sally Hawkins (DVD - 2011)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (208)   
Buy new£3.00
In stock

The Full Monty [1997] [DVD]
The Full Monty [1997] [DVD] by Robert Carlyle (DVD - 2003)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (178)   
Buy new£3.87
In stock