Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Well Digger's Daughter
An absolutely beautiful and stunning film. From the moment the film opens, with the shot of Patricia (the eldest daughter of the well digger and superbly played by Astrid Berges-Frisbey) walking across a Provencal field strewn with poppies to take her father his lunch, it was obvious that one was in for a cinematic treat. The scenes of the Provencal countryside are...
Published on 21 Mar. 2012 by Chalcotribist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant.
On the plus side the scenery was delicious, makes me want to go to Provence and experience it for myself. On the other hand the dialogue was difficult to follow for someone who was taught "schoolbook" French and has only lived and conversed in Paris; perhaps they were speaking in a dialect but the sub-titles are there to fall back on. Other reviewers have...
Published 1 month ago by Jellybeanpuss


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Beautifully made film. A simple story of some charm and innocence, and very well realised by these actors and their director. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paradise lost, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
This movie makes me realize that paradise is lost. It shows a world and innocence that does not exist anymore. It is one of the best movies ever, human, touching , in one word, brilliant.
The Provence is amazingly beautiful and the actors are sublime.
Could watch this over and over again.
zealot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well, well, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
B. L. Rudd "GUITARIST" (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
A simple story based on a work from Marcel Pagnol, beautifully directed by Daniel Auteuil. I enjoyed this gentle, well cast movie that captures a bygone age in La Belle France. Daniel Auteuil is a national treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Well Diggers Daughter: beautiful and uplifting, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Philip Crocker "freelife" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful and evocative of the time, no modern displaced romance just set in another time here, but ordinary people of their age reacting as best they can to a time old problem, and i might add, probably handling it a lot better than we do in our so called advanced society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely sentimental story. I adore Daniel Auteuil and the Provence setting. I suppose Pagnol is always playing the sentimental card in his books. Interesting to see how very sexist people were in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifu film, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film,reminded me of Tess.Looks beautiful and story held my attention throughout. If you liked Jean de Florette or Tess, you should watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like the French film genre and this was up to ..., 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. B. M. King (Preston, Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I like the French film genre and this was up to expectations. It would have fallen under the radar but for a review in the guardian tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful film from Daniel Auteuil who is proving to be ..., 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Florence (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Another wonderful film from Daniel Auteuil who is proving to be a very good director as well as actor. A morality tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, lovely heartwarming film - I thoroughly recommend it!, 2 Jan. 2015
By 
Keith "Dinosaurwhosings" (marlow, buckinghamshire, U.K>) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful story, beautifully and sensitively portrayed - superb cinematography, a real treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
About the prejudices of the between WW1 and WW2 era in France but ends on a uplifting note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD]
The Well-Digger's Daughter [DVD] by Daniel Auteuil (DVD - 2012)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews