Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars98
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2012
Just bought one of these two-packs for the kids' bike to go on our Thule aerobars. The one-off pre-assembly was a little fiddly due to a surprising number of separate parts and not-great instructions, but once I'd done the first and worked out what all the bits do, the second was obvious, quick and easy.

As we have the aerobars, I used the included T-track bolts. Fitting to the car with these is really easy: slide them in and shut the clamps. They slide easily, so it's possible to mount a bike with the clamps open, then slide the whole thing across the car before shutting the clamps - useful if you only have good access to one side of the car, or if you want to mount more than two bikes to the roof.

Getting the bike up onto the roof is the hardest part - here, our nice low Merc estate came into its own. I wouldn't want to do this with a Galaxy. However, the carrier does its job well here - drop the tyres into the channel, hold it vertically and roll it into the clamp. If the clamp is already adjusted for the downtube size, it can be locked shut with a simple action: otherwise, it's a few turns of the screw. The wheels are then secured with the plastic straps which work very well when new. They look like they might be a potential weak point when aged, but easily replaced with a toe-strap or two - remember them?

All in all, very impressed - light, quick, easy and well worth the money. These will see a lot of use.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I originally bought some 539's (the g grip type of thule cycle holder) but the units were well worn and had some play even after tightning and replacement of some parts, so I bought 2 of these racks as a replacement. Whilst it could be argued that you need to move the bike fore and aft on the rack and are not as quick as the 539 I believe that the design is better for bikes with external cables and carbon bikes in a number of respects. For example, the two arms mean that if the unit were to come loose it would still hold the bike in position, the design is unlikely to rub the rubber holder against the gear cables on a bike and so are unlikely to mark the frame, on my carbon (im paronoid about over tighting) the way the frame is gripped means it doesn't have to be super tight.

Overall after a couple of goes, its easy to use, very very stable and is unlikely to mark or damage my bike frames. I have transported only racers on these racks.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
It's very important and only mentioned in manual and not on product description that:
- maximum bicycle weight is 17kg
- maximum travel speed is 130km/h (80mp/h)

Each set include 2keys. (Single Pack - 2keys, Twin Pack - 2keys)

Well designed and easy to assemble (IKEA style)

I used to mount 3 bikes on the roof of my SAAB 93

I've purchased Thule FreeRide 532 Twin Pack Roof Mounted Cycle Bike Carrier and standard Thule 532 Freeride Cycle Carrier - Silver. At that moment price was better than Triple Pack.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Thule cost more than some other makes but you tend to get what you pay for. These are really solid roof carriers and have the flexibility to fit different bike frame sizes, which is useful if you've got adult & child bikes or road/mountain bike combinations. The ability to lock them to the roof bars and lock the bikes into the carriers themselves is handy. They were simple to put together out of the box with clear instructions. Buying them as a pair provided good value compared to other internet prices at the time. Delivery was prompt and the product was well packaged. I can fit 4 of these on the roof of an estate car with the bikes facing in alternate directions. Overall, well made product that I expect to last for many years.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Very easy to fit bicycle carrier with the expected quality of a Thule product. They arrive mostly assembled and can be fixed on both square bars and wing bars using the T-mount. The setting up procedure is simply based on the side of the car you are intending to have the bike as you will want the frames locking handle facing the nearest edge of the car. If you are putting more than two bikes on the car you may need to fix the carrier on facing the opposite direction so that they don't touch each other ands its best to consider this prior to assembly in regards to the frames locking handle.

The actual mount itself has its own locking handle to securely fix it to the roof bars and uses the same key to lock the frame handle. The two straps for the wheels are best looped out of the way when you are trying to put the bikes on the roof as they will otherwise get trapped under the tyres. A simple strap hole is positioned on the opposite side of the tyre mounts for this purpose which is quite easy to use one handed. The bike itself is easily held in position by the arm that raises in to position. I've found it best to have this arm fully lowered when putting the bike on the car and then raise it and roll the bike into position. Once the frames locking handle is fully engaged the bike is firmly mounted and the tyre straps can then easily be threaded through the wheels and tightened.

The reason for the 4 stars rather than 5 is simply down to the fact that amazon have sent out the product as a twin pack, but with separate keys for each. I have four of these carriers and the first two purchased elsewhere were supplied with a complete set of locking bolts all using the same key. Unfortunately thanks to this rather short sighted approach by amazon I now need to carry 3 sets of keys that look almost exactly the same which gets rather tiresome at night when I'm trying to unlock one of the centre bikes and have to go through all the keys.

Overall an excellent product which is easy to assemble and holds the bikes very securely on the roof of the car.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Thule is not the cheapest product but it is quality. Friends have purchased similar products that are store branded from a well known store but the difference in quality is very noticeable. Easily constructed on first use and then just a five minute job thereafter. The racks hold the bikes firm and give confidence on motorways and twisty country lanes
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Brilliant bit of kit, works exactly as hoped. Yes, they are a little more expensive than other brands, but you get what you pay for sometimes and I felt the quality of this product was worth a little more. (Especially when it's used to carry an item worth 5 times their own value!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I purchased these to go on the top of a ford s-max and after a bit of head scratching they are in fact easy to fit. The bikes are well anchored on the rails and the clamp in the middle is strong enough to hold them in position. I cannot imagine for a second anyone leaving their bikes unattended thinking they are held firmly enough to prevent them from being stolen but they do provide me with enough confidence that they will not become detached when driving.

For anyone reading this who has an s-max I will add something fairly obvious. Getting your bikes up onto the roof is logistically challenging. I use a step ladder and still struggle on my own. You are likely to scratch the paint work on the side of the car and have to try and clamp them into position and then lift the wheels to put them into the straps. You then have to take your step ladder with you to take the bikes off again.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
A great set of bike carriers, would be 5 stars if the instructions were any good. First one took about 40 mins to put together the second took 5 minutes. But once built and fitted they are excellent, very sturdy and up for the job.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
The video looked so easy showing how to attach the bike to the car. The only part i didn't take into consideration was getting the parts out the box and building it, then putting the heavy bike on the roof of a tall car. After i had done that it would be simple. Just follow the video i found on youtube. No......3 hours later i had done it!! Common sense really prevails when using this and unfortunately, on the day i did it, i seemed to have left my common sense somewhere else. However, once the bikes were attached we got to Cornwall from London with both bikes making the journey without falling off or getting loose. I would recommend this product but give yourself some time to put it together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)