Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Great Cult Brit-Flick FINALLY Gets It's Long-Overdue DVD Premiere...
I've been waiting for this english gem to surface on DVD for years....finally the legal rights to distribute it on DVD (from it's old bankrupt studio 'Palace Pictures') have been obtained & so we can all again re-live this brilliant 1990s story, newly remastered in Widescreen & Digital Surround Sound..!
The story itself concerns a group of rowdy Scouse 'Hen-Party vs...
Published on 31 Jan. 2012 by VJ Isaac Hunt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I am extremely disappointed as I have been searching for years for this ...
I bought this DVD a few months ago and have now only got around to watching it or rather NOt being able to watch it. Unfortunately it cannot be played as right from the beginning the DVd keeps stopping and cannot be played further. I am extremely disappointed as I have been searching for years for this DVD- Fortunately, Amazon has kindly refunded me the purchase price...
Published 8 months ago by Tirolean girl


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Great Cult Brit-Flick FINALLY Gets It's Long-Overdue DVD Premiere..., 31 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this english gem to surface on DVD for years....finally the legal rights to distribute it on DVD (from it's old bankrupt studio 'Palace Pictures') have been obtained & so we can all again re-live this brilliant 1990s story, newly remastered in Widescreen & Digital Surround Sound..!
The story itself concerns a group of rowdy Scouse 'Hen-Party vs Stag-Do' members during their night on the town, of whom all end up in the same Liverpool night-club on the eve before Linda (CLAIRE HACKETT) and Dave's upcoming nuptials...thus ensuring a memorable night of comedy, action and drama.
One of the best British comedy/drama's of the 1990's (which was sadly over-looked on it's initial theatrical run) this is one of those film's that deserved a wider audience than it got...with this new DVD re-issue forthcoming, this amazing little film will no doubt gain a new generation of fans who missed ity first time round..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best least-known movies of all time., 3 July 2008
30.04.12: Edited review further to DVD release.

I watched the new remastered DVD yesterday and it is, to be blunt, FAN-BLIMMIN'-TASTIC!!!!!!!

The picture is so sharp, the sound quality superb and it has given a whole new lease of life to this film. Watching this on DVD simply doubled the pleasure. If you are a fan of this film, then the DVD is an absolute must. You will absolutely NOT be disappointed. Anyone who was none the wiser, would be forgiven for thinking that this film was only a few years old and not over 20 - the rework on it has been that good. :-)

***********************************************************************************************************

This film is an absolute gem that never dates. I could rave on about it for hours but I will try not to and attempt to provide a review that gives a balanced account of it.

I first saw this on tv. It was up against Fatal Attraction on another channel and I had to choose which to 'watch' and which to record for later. At the very last minute I changed my mind from recording FA and decided I would tape 'Dancin' thru the Dark' instead. Well..... it was the best decision I have EVER made!!! I couldn't even try to count how many times I have watched it over the years.

The story of Linda (Claire Hackett) & Peter (Con O'Neill) is one of first loves, peer pressure & life in the North of England.

Peter & Linda were a couple when Peter has the chance to go to London to further his career as a musician. Linda wouldn't take the risk of leaving her home town and they split up.
A few years later - and this is where the film starts - Linda is off on her Hen night with her mates, ready to marry Dave who will keep her in the life she has always known.
On the same night however - and totally unknownst to Linda - Peter's band, who are now enjoying success, are in town and playing a gig at one of the local nightclubs.
They bump into each other in an Italian restaurant where Peter informs Linda of the nightclub they're playing at. Against Linda's better wishes, the rest of the hens drag her along there thinking they'll have a good laugh.
In the meantime, groom-to-be Dave has met up with his chums, in particular Eddie (Mark Womack) who has a huge chip on his shoulder and is a 'very angry young man'. They do all the usual Stag stuff including the meal at their local Indian restaurant and this is portrayed exactly like any Indian restaurant on a Friday & Saturday night.
Inevitably, the stags end up at the same nightclub as Linda, her hens AND Peter! What then follows is a wonderful tale of the hens & the stags trying to keep Linda & Dave apart, Linda & Peter apart and then trying to convince Linda she still has to marry Dave. Whilst all this is going on however, you are always aware of Eddie's anger and he becomes quite menacing as time goes on. It's done in a very subtle way though so you're more feeling the threat rather seeing it in front of you.

Willy Russell has done very well in capturing both the typical 'Northern Night Out' and the small minded mentality that folk can have when faced with people who've gone out and become successful. In the first part of the film Peter is congratulated as 'one of us who has done well' but as the movie continues, Eddie wants to beat him up because he perceives Peter as being 'too big for his boots' and 'better than everyone else'.

The ending is superb and has you holding your breath for the outcome. I'm giving nothing away here though, you'll just have to watch it for yourself.

Claire Hackett & Con O'Neill give excellent performances as the star-crossed lovers. Mark Womack gives SUCH a good portrayal of the angry young man that, to this day, whenever I see him in another role, I immediately think of this film.

Dancin' Thru the Dark was deleted in the mid-nineties so if you are fortunate enough to get your hands on a copy, hold onto it tight because they are like gold-dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last !!! Thankyou, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
I have talked about this film for years. I videoed the original but wore the tape out and bought the cassette from WHSmiths years ago (again worn out)
Thankyou for re releasing it I watched it the other day and sang all the songs (sad -I still know the words)and loved every minute of it
My daughter (17) started watching it and was hooked so much that we re watched it that night ( as my hubby tried to watch country file )
She really enjoyed the film and the music and is taking it to a sleep over so her friends can watch it ! hope fully a new generation of willy russell fans !
Its as good as I remember it and the night club (even the loos) are reminiscent of my misspent youth .the humour is brill ,the music good and the story great to follow .we've all been there ..stag and hen does were much simpler then but the realization that you can do better if you dare wasn't as evident as it is now .You can see she is destined for better things she just need to see she is better than the life offered and take the plunge. we all have fears of the future and like to stay with the security of life as we know it ... but you go for it girl your worth so much more ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real and gritty, 18 July 2003
By A Customer
Personally my favourite film of all time. A true real life gritty portrayal of Liverpudlian life. Claire Hackett is convincing as a bride to be who meets up with her 'first love' on her hen night; Con O'Neill is a convincing 'first love'...sexy! The boys on their stag do are so real it's scary! Every stag and hen do perceived on Fridays and Saturdays in any Northern town are here in this film. Willy Russell appearance in the pub is fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good copy at last!, 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my very favourite films Willy Russels Stags and Hens set in a liverpool nightclub in the 90's. The stag and hen parties collide and bride to be becomes distracted by Con O Neils character. Starts from very funny and ends up serious and menacing. I saw this with my then girlfriend at the cinema and were repeating catchphrases from the film for months! Great lines and memorable moments, this must be a perfect example how to make a gripping and engaging film with little money. Appeals to both sexes, this isnt just a chick flick.
Previously we have either had to find a worn out VHS ex rental copy, or watch a recording of the censored BBC version, or a dreadful DVD which was previously released no better than a poor VHS video. Now its here in all its glory. Some occasional light swearing which is essential to set the mood.
The soundtrack is good too, Im lucky to have found it on CD and as I drive around Liverpool for work past scenes in the film, I sometimes stick it on and think of this great little film. The Branskys nightclub didnt exist by the way, I asked enough locals about it at the time! Id pay £40 for this never mind the £6 being asked...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Willy Russell one...., 5 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
Dancin' thru the Dark is set in Liverpool, and is about an engaged couple, Dave and Linda, who are out on their stag and hen night, respectively.
While out, Linda bumps into an old flame, and begins to have doubts about her feelings for Dave, despite the efforts of her best mates.
Aside from the love storyline, it is full of typical scouse humour, and classic one liners that you'll remember for years (the wholemeal pizza one in particular)
Definitley a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I've been waiting for!!!!!, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
Wow. I have wanted this film on DVD for years, but it's not been available. I am absolutely delighted that it's available now. This was one of my all-time favourite films as a teenager. The story, script, characters and acting are great. It's love story has not dated even though the fashions have, this film is still as romantic as ever. This DVD version is great. Whoever has remastered it has done an amazing job. The clarity of the vision and sound are fantastic, it could have been made yesterday, it's so crisp. I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this DVD. Thank you whoever managed to get this re-released!!!! It has been such a treat to see this fantastic film again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect picture...At last!!, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this DVD...Great movie & a fantastic quality DVD..Shame there's no extras, but to finally have a decent quality version of this film is more than enough..Buy it..You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 25 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
A hugely underrated film, written by an author whose track record goes before him. It's been a long wait before this film is finally released on DVD but the film most certainly has stood that passage of time. Although over twenty years old now, the characters and setting are still hugely believable.

Anyone wanting an intricate ploy and/or lots of action should give this a miss. But if you're after a down-to-earth, tell-it-as-it-as, entertaining film to watch - and watch again and again - then I don't think you'll be disappointed. There are many people for whom this is one of their favourite films of all time and with good reason.

For the record, those other reviews talking about the poor quality of the DVD - they're not referring to this official release (note the release date of this DVD and the date of the reviews). Sound and picture quality are absolutely fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, just as i remembered. Perfect for those girlie nights in reminising about the 80's! Quite a bit of swearing in it so be warned if that kind of thing offends you. Contains some great 80's tunes. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancin' Thru The Dark - Digitally Restored & Remastered [DVD]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews