Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rousing Stomping Blues Album!
This is a great blues album from Seasick Steve, beginning with the introspective and quiet 'Treasures'. Then the fun begins. The title track is a real stomper with heavy blues slide guitar. 'Burnin' Up' is surely one of Steve's best songs and reminds me of John Lee Hooker - it begins quietly and conversationally then develops into this wonderful toe-tapping number...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by David Lusher

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to Brook the Trend
Let me begin by saying I love SSS and I have every one of his albums, but I have to say that if this had been the first album he had released, it would have been the last and only one I bought!! Where's the originality that he brought to his earlier albums????
Even John Paul Jones didn't manage to lift it for me. Some tracks sounded just like Johnny Cash and others...
Published on 7 July 2011 by V. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rousing Stomping Blues Album!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a great blues album from Seasick Steve, beginning with the introspective and quiet 'Treasures'. Then the fun begins. The title track is a real stomper with heavy blues slide guitar. 'Burnin' Up' is surely one of Steve's best songs and reminds me of John Lee Hooker - it begins quietly and conversationally then develops into this wonderful toe-tapping number. 'Don't Know Why She Love Me But She Do' is a rhythm-driven masterpiece (the percussion on this album is superb) a bit like early Led Zeppelin complete with slide guitar. 'Have Mercy On The Lonely' and Whiskey Ballad' are on the quieter side, then 'Back In The Doghouse' comes bursting in with thumping drums and electric slide. And it goes on! There is not a duff track on this album; Steve's vocals are terrific - I'll stick my neck out and say this is the best album he has ever released. Boy can he rock! This deserves to be a massive hit and is one of the best things I've heard all year. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't Teach an Old Dog New Tricks:Seasick Steve-Steve has a Party,sings of days gone and provides us with some real treasure, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Another great recording from Seasick Steve, one of the true blues greats. Bursting onto the scene in 2006 with his patented brand of up-tempo blues played on a variety of homemade instruments, accompanied by spoken word stories of his life as a hobo, he has released a series of essential records.

With this album he shows that this old dog has managed to learn a few new tricks. He starts off with an uncharacteristic slow tempo moody song `Treasures'. The then kicks it up a gear and gets into full swing with the rocking `You can't Teach An Old Dog New Tricks', which sets the tone for the rest of the album of scorching foottappin blues. As an added bonus, there is a 12 minute hidden track in which Steve tells more of his hoboing adventures, something that was sadly missing from his last album. He has expanded his musical palette a bit, with the aid of bassist Jon Paul Jones (yes, he of Led Zeppelin fame), who adds a rock steady rhythm and some rock credentials to the album. All in all this extension of Steve's basic sound works incredibly well, making this a classy and classic record.

The key to Steve's artistry is that, like all great blues artists, he has lived a full and eventful life, with much hardship. His writing and singing is inspired and informed by the years of hoboing around America. It adds another dimension to the recording, a touch of realism that sets it apart. It's reminiscent of the great Blues artists in 1950's Chicago, such as Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf, many of whom had tough lives before (and after) they found fame. Indeed, there are several occasions when Steve plays guitar breaks that sound a lot like Muddy Waters or John Lee Hooker.

This is music straight from the heart. No meaningless lyrics, pointless overproduction or synthesisers, it's real music played by real people with a great deal of skill and a deep love of what they're doing. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys music with feeling. Probably not of interest to fans of Cowell style plastic pop. This record really deserves to collect a lot of awards.

If you enjoy this then check out Steve's other offerings, `I started out with nothing', `Doghouse music' `Cheap' and `Man From Another Time'. I would also recommend `Electric Dirt' by Levon Helm, another record made with feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironically, he HAS learned some tricks!, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Teach An Old Dog New Tricks [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I've been a fan of Seasick Steve since he first started popping up on 'Later'. I loved Dog House Music but found his next couple of albums were pretty much the same old sound & in a couple of places, seemingly the same riffs. But he's really developed here, having put a band together so it's no longer just his old guitar & the box he used to stomp on for percussion. Instead, there's more of a heavy sound. But none of the baby's gone out with the bath water - there's still Steve's distinctive tunes, great vocals & raw lyrics.

This is a great blues album, every track a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to Brook the Trend, 7 July 2011
By 
V. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me begin by saying I love SSS and I have every one of his albums, but I have to say that if this had been the first album he had released, it would have been the last and only one I bought!! Where's the originality that he brought to his earlier albums????
Even John Paul Jones didn't manage to lift it for me. Some tracks sounded just like Johnny Cash and others like poor versions of John Prine songs. Sorry for the negatives but if you want to be introduced to SSS first try "Started out with Nothing" and go on from there!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album, 30 May 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Since first hearing him about three years ago, Seasick Steve has now become one of my favourites. This, his latest album has all the tracks written by Seasick himself, except track 6 'Whisky Ballad', which was written by Paul Martin Wold. Playing the banjo, along with his selection of guitars, all the tracks here are yet more great blues music.

Joined by the likes of Dan Magnusson, John Paul Jones, Gerogina Leech and others, there are some fantastic riffs, and your feet will start stomping. If you have never listened to Seasick before, it is about time you did, and find out what you are missing out on. The booklet accompanying this cd has the lyrics, and also about the cover photo of the album, Twm, a Labrador Collie cross.

If you are a fan of blues, then this is an album for your collection. Although there are 12 tracks on this, there is in fact 13, but the last one is just Seasick Steve reminiscing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLENTY OF LIFE LEFT IN THE OLD DOG., 4 Jun 2011
In a word,brilliant.
TEASURES kicks the album of nicely to get the groove going.
YOU CAN'T TEACH AN OLD DOG NEW TRICKS is a very true account of who he is,and it is very Steve.
BURNIN' UP is a really good take on unrequited love,quickly gets inbedded into your head.
I DON'T KNOW WHY SHE LOVE ME BUT SHE DO is again what you'd expect from Steve,and it's the kind of track that we love him for.
HAVE MERCY ON THE LONELY shows sympathy to those without love,and advises to grab it if it's there.
WHISKEY BALLAD though not written by Steve is sung in the typical manner we've got a lot of respect for.
BACK IN THE DOGHOUSE makes you laugh at frustrating situations beyond your control,bad areas of life you just can't avoid.
UNDERNEATH A BLUE AND CLOUDLESS SKY takes a look at life for what you can make it,rather than what you can't,really good stuff.
WHAT A WAY TO GO cetainly doesn't pull any punches in looking at how unfair working hard to die too young is.
PARTY i would say is a little different for Steve,but works really well.
DAYS GONE looks at getting old but keeping your spirit strong,gotta love him for it.
LONG LONG WAY is a brilliant way to end a brilliant cd. growing old and trying to pass on experience,and to appreciate life.
Then of course,there's another story telling moment,and his true stories and really something to hear. If you like Steve,you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well received present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. S. E. Chapman "Airmender" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great music, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the music of Seasick Steve but this is outstanding. Worth a listen even if you've never heard him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews