Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now yer Talkin'
I took wasn't overly impressed when i reviewed BCC'S debut(i stand by every word),it was overated and rushed,overlong with some tracks probably in need of some more work,however this is the business,Hughes has reigned in some of his over elaborate singing and puts in a consumate performance here,as do all the band members,its great to hear Sherinian get a more prominent...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars getting better
Won't bore you by repeating what has already been said, but this album is a vast improvement on BCC1. They do seem to be playing more as a unit than a bunch of musicians who have come together to record an album, but I still feel that their output isn't as good as the standing of the members of the band would suggest it should be. Egos clashing or too many ideas who...
Published on 3 July 2011 by S. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now yer Talkin', 16 Jun 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I took wasn't overly impressed when i reviewed BCC'S debut(i stand by every word),it was overated and rushed,overlong with some tracks probably in need of some more work,however this is the business,Hughes has reigned in some of his over elaborate singing and puts in a consumate performance here,as do all the band members,its great to hear Sherinian get a more prominent role.

As a disc this is head and shoulders above the debut(which was ok in parts), this rocks from start to finish and will be in your CD player for months,standout tracks 'Outsider' and 'Save Me'.

A superb release which can justifiably be looked upon as an album of the year contender,well done lads,cant wait for the gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worm holes must exist..., 14 Jun 2011
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... because listening to this album is like falling through one back to the 1970s. It is like rummaging through your old music collection and finding an album you bought back then, and then put away and never played, until now. If you were fortunate enough to grow up during the 70s and 80s and loved rock, then my god you are going to love this. Just when you thought that you'd heard all the great rock from your youth that there was to be heard, this comes along. I don't mean this is in any way dated - far from it. It is fresh and vibrant, but it is also just SO of that era. I am 16 again.

Glenn Hughes will be 60 this year. I hope I'm in as good shape when I get there. The power and range in his voice is incredible, no hint whatsoever of it beginning to fade.

Joe on guitar is, as usual, stunning. The whole band is.

I won't bore you with more track by track analysis. This is just spine tingling, ear splitting rock. You need to listen to it. A very worthy second album. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Country Communion Return With Brilliant Sophmore Album, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Producer Kevin Shirley and Black Country Communion have returned with a brilliant follow-up album to 2010's eponymous debut album. The new album "2" kicks off with vintage classic rock will balls in "The Outsider" - an epic tour de force that touches on just about every rock genre you can think of, including prog rock keyboards, circa Yes and Deep Purple, courtesy of former Dream Theater keyboardist, Derek Sherinian.

Track 2 "Man in the Middle" is a gut crunching rock guitar riff with a low bass end threatm which doesn't let up for a single minute. The album flows with non-stop classic riffs and superb musicianship.

Stand out tracks include the Zepplinesque "Save Me", which originally started off as a riff that Jason Bonham came up with after the he played drums at the Led Zeppelin reunion at the London o2 Arena in 2007.

Joe Bonamassa's guitar playing is impeccable throughout, however, the shining star of the album is Glenn Hughes, former Deep Purple "Burn" singer and bassist, who evokes some of the best rock vocals so far this decade. He sings in leaps and bounds, displays real emotional gusto and makes you believe that rock and roll will live forever.

But it's the closer on the album "Cold" that really hits home with it's emotional and heartfield golden rock gods moment.

If there's one classic rock album to own this year, Black Country Communion's "2" has to be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an improvement!, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, now we're getting there! The first BCC album was good but there was a lot of songs that could have been on a Glenn Hughes solo album and others that were a bit too "jamming" and hurried up.
With BCC 2, we get a BAND ALBUM. Songs that neither belong more exclusevily to Hughes or Bonamassa or Bonham but to A BAND, and where we can certainly hear more of the great Sherinian (he was barely there on the debut album). Although the general feel leans more towards a Zep style (apparently that's what Shirley was aiming for while recording the drums), it also features brilliant Deep Purple touches (The Outsider is Burn's little cousin) and bluesy feelings.
Glenn singing is more in control (he can sometimes overdue on his solo albums), Bonamassa's playing and singing is great (even if he always sounds to me as a bit of a poor man's Hughes-not so much on this album!), Bonham is heavy and but very groovy.
The songs are mostly darker and mid-tempo, the band is tight, the playing precise and intense;
the keyboards solos and arrangements are incredibly tasteful.
This album comfirms to me that the debut BCC was only a blueprint and that the best was yet to come...Well here it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars getting better, 3 July 2011
By 
S. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Won't bore you by repeating what has already been said, but this album is a vast improvement on BCC1. They do seem to be playing more as a unit than a bunch of musicians who have come together to record an album, but I still feel that their output isn't as good as the standing of the members of the band would suggest it should be. Egos clashing or too many ideas who knows, but it doesn't quite do it for me. I'm a fan of Joe Bonamassa and for me his last album is a much better listen, as is most of his recent output. That aside it has lots of energy, but it is nowhere near my list of top albums of the last twelve months
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All killer, no filler, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most frequently played CD in my collection has just been replaced, but by its follow-up. I loved BCC 1, but BCC 2 (being very careful not to type "BBC")completely blows it away. While the former had some great songs interspersed with some so-so ones, every one of the songs on the new album is a belter.

Much was made in the interviews about how much they enjoyed rushing the first album, how things sounded live and spontaneous as a result, but that never rang true. The production, musicianship and, most importantly, songs on this one have stepped up several notches.

There is, again, a distinct 1970s feel to the album, which is no bad thing in my eyes. Cynics, of which I count myself as one, could call it a little bit derivative and unoriginal, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it. That sound was great, so roll with it. Besides, if anyone has the right to chuck out Deep Purple and Led Zep style music, a former DP member and the son of a Led Zep one certainly can stake that claim. On only two songs is that really obvious - the opener The Outsider, whose guitar/Hammond call and response interplay could have been taken from any DP album, although the riff is not particularly Blackmore style, and Save Me, an unquestionable and unashamed tip of the hat to Jason Bonham's dad's band, but a great song in its own right. The rest of the songs have their own BCC style, perhaps similar in style to a mix of Hughes' Soul Mover album and, to a lesser degree, Bonamassa's You And Me, but heavier than both.

Significantly, keyboard wiz Derek Sherinian is no longer an also-ran in the production. Buried in the mix on almost all songs on the first album, he is brought much more to the fore on several songs, and they benefit from it. The overall sound of this album is rounder, more complete.

Summing it all up, and I mean this with no exaggeration whatsoever, this is the best album I have bought in the last 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speechless, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just got this album and it blows me away entirely. Did not expect such an explosive follow-up. I've heard it 3 times now and ... I am speechless. Sounds still better than the (excellent) first one. Definite chemistry here between these guys, and Glenn must have some youth elixir (maybe it's this band ...). Anyway, don't read this. BUY ASAP - MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep, Floyd and Sabbath reincarnated, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the opening riff of 'the outsider' to the deeply emotional lyrics of 'cold', 2 is a unique album, capturing the sound of 4 of the greatest musicians in the world, in one room. Glenn's vocal work is proof of his right to be called 'the voice of rock' but his lyrics are equally as profound. Bass playing is impeccable as per usual...
Joe doesnt need a description, he is joe bonamassa, the greatest rock guitarist in the world today..'not to mention his voice sounds amazing on Hadrians wall and An ordinary son.
Bonham's drumming however, blew me away the first time i heard his - he is the Led Zeppelin of the group, the fast and furious, hard-hitting monster behind the heavy and occasionally groovy rhythms on this record. Great fun just to close your eyes and focus in on some of his work
And with Derek's keys adding an extra dimension to an already incredible sound, BCC continues to grow from its debut with this hard-hitting, screaming tribute to Classic Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for people starved of Led Zep vibes, this will be manna from heaven, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Was it just me, or was the Black Country Communion debut album a wee bit over praised? Maybe folks were just desperate for some trouser straining seventies style rock, but it wisnae really all that good. For sure, it was good to hear Glenn Hughes wrapping his tonsils around something a bit more substantial than he has of late, but after some initial slavering, I haven't returned to it since. Thankfully, this is better.

It's the same mini-supergroup as on last years debut, with guitarist Joe Bonamassa, drummer Jason Bonham and one time Dream Theater keyboardist Derek Sherinian making up the ranks, and it comes out firing on all cylinders with a couple of explosive rock tracks in the shape of 'The Outsider' and 'Man In The Middle'. It's an album that seems to be firmly aimed at the music starved ranks of Lez Zeppelin fans, rather than fans of bands associated with the back catalogue of the members, with the most obvious song being 'Save Me', a tune that Jason Bonham says originated with the Led Zeppelin reunion rehearsals four or so years back.

It does seem more like a band album this time around, unlike the debut which had project written all over it, and on songs like 'Little Secret' and 'Faithless', the band seem to have fully gelled as a unit, with Sherinian in particular, considerably more audible. A lot of the music is fairly relentless, and it's when they ease back a notch that things work best, as on the aforementioned 'Little Secret', which is as close as they get to the blues, and on the big ballad, 'Cold'.

The two weakest tracks are the ones where Bonamassa takes on the vocals, with the Led Zep III sound of 'The Battle For Hadrian's Wall' not really coming off, although he does better on 'An Ordinary Man', where the band have a bash at some Bad Company. They also visit Led Zep II for 'I Can See Your Spirit', but if you're looking for an out and out rock classic then 'Smokestack Woman' overcomes its title with ease. The best vocal is most definitely 'Cold', which sees Glenn Hughes pulling out all the stops.

It's a more complete album than the debut, and for people starved of Led Zep vibes, this will be manna from heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic album, 3 Nov 2011
By 
R. N. ESPIŅEIRA "Rne" (Malaver , Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before starting to make a general analysis of the disk, I have to say I can not be impartial in any way. The tremendous voice of Glenn Hughes, the frequency wonder that reaches even impossible (for age), it makes me into ecstasy, and that make you levitate just like that, of course, always, like it or not, raises many integers all it touches (with his wand) when we checked a few days ago realized that performance-cameo with Rata Blanca. It is a voice that captivates. That's why law anticipate that the true star of this album is that voice, the voice (the Rock), I would say: a voice that Glenn has been educating and filing for well done, full of passion, of shades: is a whole. Of course, if that voice was not well dressed for musical composition, appropriate rhythmic bases and some complexity that the rock was abandoned (in favor of other virtues less lucid) in the 80's, single drive product would become a medium . Not so.

Black Country Communion 2 has all the earmarks of a classic from start to finish: a record that seems from another era, when rock was in its best products, in those years long for 70. Not everything is Hughes, in any case, Bonamasa masterly hand has also been noticeable and for me is welcome, as well as the unique and singular Sherinian on keyboards or Bonham on drums and cymbals. Anyway. So those who are lucky enough to attend this Azkena be in luck. The thing looks promising and more than good.

The album starts very powerful, with a crescendo that leads to Hughes, a very fast-paced riffs and keyboards Purple (thank you Lord for being so Sherinian, who has taught you?). "Outsider" is a good choice, in my opinion, to open this DiscAZ.

The disc continues to rotate and enveloping this time with a second theme entitled "Man In The Middle" more Rainbow in certain passages. To say that the guitars are cracking is to use the obvious because it will be a constant in all the work. To say that the complexity in the composition, so varied, and that production, sound and others are outstanding is also undeniable attend. Without being one of the topics that filled me, is heard considerably.

The acoustic guitar is the leading voice in the third song, "The Battle For Hadrian's Wall", a lyrical ballad of broken cry sometimes timely changes of pace. Coral tones to background Isaak guitar, something Desire also if you like, and very Purple-as always-last stage, very Zeppelin (as desired) tend to the sublimity and started to sing, so that when it rings The next topic we are several inches from the ground.

"Save me" begins very liquid notes of piano, with a tone of epic-lyrical tendency, by which one drifts away. The melody and the voice pleasantly welcome us, to the gentle taps to help the end and, above all, that touch of Moorish (Arabic) on keyboards that are what give the issue a personal touch. Again interference Purple, Zep and Sabbath are appreciated. It is certainly one of the best tracks on the album. I think we'll soon see receiving deserved praise.

"Somekestack Woman" is the typical song provides little filler (not by that I mean that I do not like), but the transition to believe that, in my opinion is one of the major themes of the album, "Faithless" . The blues-rock touch is ideal for those notes full of feeling that Hughes's throat emerge in spurts, imbuing the soul with melancholy. Some might say that this is just rhetoric, but flatly wrong: it is that from the air, from up here where we can use one vocabulary appreciative and bombastic. New Purple touches on keyboards tend to arabesque, to create gardens, floral motifs and scrolls indefinable smoke. This topic is altogether lovely. So I'm sorry.

"An Ordinary Son" is soothing and melodious. Zep contains sequences (that is where lies, in my opinion, the most debt, with the permission of the experts). But as in all such songs included on the disc, tearful tones are destroyed by changes of rhythm, timbre and volume, and are such moves which outline its uniqueness.

"I Can See Your Spirit" is another issue that is not apparent from the influences Sanal, but it's presented as something inflated or hollow, except for the plucking and those keyboards so recognizable.

Listening to "Little Secret" you think you could not leave without Bonamasa make its mark heavily blues at one of the issues. But the thing is, in its generous travel, goes occasionally in rock fronds, a sad counterpoint to the voice of the great Hughes boasts over this splendid album full of nuances here advise , and deserves some listening before launching any type of lawsuit too hasty.

The album ends with "Crossfire" (which, without going into details, it's only a matter more Marillion resonance (¿homage? And the song "Cold" which was a preview of what the album would contain a more than decent ballad that ends up being the icing on this splendid disc, a disc may not be sublime without interruption and certainly not a groundbreaking album, but a hard work (teacher) in which some groups would look devoid of personality today . Looking back to that good old rock we serve as a reference, sometimes (not always, you know that there are current examples that blur this assertion) can yield substantial benefits. And the music world thanks you. I so do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

2 [VINYL]
2 [VINYL] by Black Country Communion (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews