Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars45
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2012
I'd never heard this LP before and was gobsmacked by the brave diversion Macca takes. Obviously he is a man who can afford to take risks but he really pushes the envelope. Highly experimental throughout, with clear Karutrock and Dance Music/electronica influences. The bonus CD also contains some terrifically weird stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
This album has the song "Nobody knows", which is as close as McCartney gets to saying nobody really knows what life is all about. And he says he likes not knowing. There is also a Golden Slumbers, nursery style song with lyrics "The world will soon be waking to a summer's day": Read "our present miserable nightmare of consciousness is but a dream". But he never is quite saying that because Paul McCartney is aspiritual. His spirit is entirely in his music and sometimes the lightness of it makes it depressingly unprofound. So there is a kind of fun immaturity mixed with traces of melodic splendour that drift about inside him. As he said in a song not on this album "What have those songs got to do with me?"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
The sequel to 'McCartney' (1970), McCartney 2 was released on that album's 10th anniversary in 1980. Originally conceived as a double vinyl album, it was eventually reduced to a single LP. I spotted a 'Bootleg' 2CD set of the more complete version, once upon a long ago. The 1993 remaster included 2 extra tracks from the project; the lengthy 'Secret Friend' (10:30) and the bizarre, but enjoyable 'Check My Machine' (5:51). The other bonus cut on the '93 release was the memorable April 1979 hit 'Goodnight Tonight', which really should have found a home on the 'Back To The Egg' CD coupled with its excellent B side 'Daytime Nightime Suffering'.

'McCartney 2' retains the handmade feel of 'McCartney'. Recorded at home on a 16 track analogue recorder, with microphones plugged directly into the back, bypassing the recording console for a very 'analogue' sound. Again Paul played all the instruments, with additional vocals from Linda McCartney.

The album contains the singles 'Coming Up', a hit in April 1980, and a US Number 1; 'Temporary Secretary', which did not trouble the charts too much, despite its excellence, and the ballad 'Waterfalls', a hit in June 1980. The message of the latter song is basically "take care of yourself, because I love you".

I have always liked the sound of the bass, drums & guitar on the track 'On The Way'. 'Nobody Knows' is an upbeat song about the need for some privacy in Paul's life: "that's the way I like it, so that nobody knows". 'Frozen Jap' is a pleasant, up-tempo instrumental. which opened side 2 (on vinyl). 'Summers Day Song' sounds like a 'Hymn'. The jazzy 'Bogey Music' was inspired by a 1977 book 'Fungus The Bogeyman' by Raymond Briggs. 'Darkroom' is one of the stranger, more experimental songs. 'One Of These Days' is a pleasing ballad which (normally) is the closing song.

I bought the original vinyl LP soon after its release in 1980, the original 'Fame' label CD (sadly, it was sold) and later the 1993 CD. The 2011 remaster offers a further upgrade in sound quality, and a cardboard replica sleeve. Having bought the 1CD edition, I cannot comment on the 2CD release, but if it comes closer to the original album concept, then I suspect it is a worthwhile purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 18 June 2011
I first heard this album in the late 80's,when I was on my "voyage of discovery" of the beatles and everything connected with them.I have to say that at the time I was not impressed. Sandwiched between the underrated "Back To The Egg", and the superb "Tug of War" albums, this came as something of a shock. It started well with "Coming Up", (even John Lennon liked this one!), and then went into the almost unlistenable "Temporary Secratary". After that it was all downhill for my young ears! This album was the one I hated, and did not bother to purchase when the back catalogue was remastered in the early nineties. Flash forwars to 2011, and I decided to redress the balance, and fill the gap in my Macca collection, and take the plunge with this album! I was pleasantly surprised. Although it doesn't quite reach the heights of some of his other albums, there is much to enjoy on this. Tracks like "On the Way", and the closing track "One of these Days" bring back some of the vibe and feel of "Mcartney" and others like "Bogey Music" and "Darkroom" see Macca embracing the coming decade, synths and all. Maybe now, at the age of 41, I can see where he was coming from. The second disc has some outtakes and unrealeased tracks, the best of which are "Blue Sway" and "All You Horse riders" If you enjoyed Maccas last outing as the Fireman, Electric Arguments, then you should enjoy these. Overrall very impressed with these re-issues, although would have liked some sleeve notes, putting everything into context, and deatails of where the extra tracks came from. After the great treatment of the Band On The Run re-issue, is it to much to expect the same for the rest of the catalogue? Docked half a star for lack of sleevenotes! (Temporary Secratary is still a pile of c**p!)
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
In 1966/67 Paul McCartney considered putting out an album of experimental music entitled "Paul McCartney Goes Too Far", He told John Lennon of his intention and he told him "You should do it man", needless to say he didn't but some 14 years later he put this out, "McCartney II". Now we have this, the re-mastered issue with a bonus disc. This album is my all-time favourite McCartney album, I love it when Macca experiments a little, so as you can imagine I love the stuff he's done as the fireman and his twin freaks album. There is one song on this album that could've easily found itself on the white album had it been written then and that is the closing track "One Of These Days" (very blackbirdish..). The material on the
bonus disc can be found on various bootlegs, but the sound quality on this is far superior, my only critique is why include wonderful Christmastime?
inspite of this if you like to hear something a little different and quirky from McCartney then give this a spin
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
This is a curate's egg of an album and I have mixed feelings about it.

As he did after the breakup of the Beatles when he home-produced the great 'McCartney', Paul went home after Wings folded and produced this by himself, with the instruments plugged directly into the tape machine. It has that home-produced feel to it and there are tracks that sound, frankly, a bit rough. There are others, though, that are very good. So bear that in mind if you decide to buy this: it is quite idiosyncratic.

The album starts with 'Coming up' - an infectious rhythm and a catchy tune. Some people say that this side of Macca is lightweight and silly. The thing is, though, I challenge anyone to listen to it and then not have it in his / her head for the rest of the day. Once heard, never forgotten.

'Temporary Secretary' is one of those tracks that I like or dislike according to the mood I am in. 'Waterfalls' is a ballad that could have benefitted from higher production standards and a string backing, I reckon. A good melody though.

In all honesty, though some people love this album, I don't rate this as one of McCartney's best. Much of it is McCartney nurdling on his instruments at home to see what might evolve. But a Maccanurdle is better than most, so this album has its moments and it is worth owning and playing occasionally. I revisited it recently and found myself enjoying it more than I remembered.

It's interesting and it's certainly good in parts, but it's not, by any stretch of the imagination, up there with the four and five star albums he has produced. Three stars for this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2010
Considering McCartney made this album at home in his own little studio, its not bad. However, don't expect a totally polished performance as the limitations of not having professional studio facilities and supporting artistes do take their toll. That said.... there are still a few gems on the album and for fans of Paul its a must have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 27 April 2004
This is McCartney "messing about" and so is a bit patchy in my opinion. Itcame after the excellent ,but at the time much maligned album "Back to theEgg" and the high quality production of "Tug of War". This sounds likeneither. Here is my track by track analysis
1. Coming up - a crazy and somewhat successful single. Good fun and verylighthearted.
2. Temporary secretary - Sounds like the sequencer got stuck and Paulstrangely records something very very annoying.
3. On the way - OK - but mostly forgettable
4. Waterfalls - Could havebeen a Beatles song. Best on the album.
5. Nobody knows - A throwaway piece that sort of gets on your nerves aswell.
6. Front parlour - Lift music
7. Summer's day song - Nice and gentle and very nursery rhyme lyrics butstill has a lot of charm.
8. Frozen jap - Instrumental about life in prison ? More lift music.
9. Bogey music - Better than the Frog song .
10. Dark room - Another bit of leftfield pop and quite good.
11. One of these days - one of the best on the album,mellow and easy onthe ear with a catchy melody.
12. Check my machine - Instrumentalrubbish (previously a b-side)
13. Secret friend - ditto
This album is really a demo with a few polished tracks. However it reallywasn't meant to be a classic. It is Macca refusing to "play it safe" andtrying something a bit different. Does it work ?
For casual pop fans not really. For Macca/Beatles fans it's patchy.
This album to me is better considered along with McCartney's Firemanalbums or Thrillington LP. Unlike them though, this was commercial hit. Ithas it's moments but really lacks depth. Worth it though just to get"Waterfalls" and "Coming Up".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I bought this album on CD after hearing it recently for the first time. It is an interesting album and one of McCartney's more experimental. He played all the instruments himself on this one. I was already familiar with the hit "Coming Up" (great song!) from the Wingspan collection and "Waterfalls", both of which are standout tracks here. "Bogey Music" is probably the only track I wouldn't be that fond of, but standout tracks (apart from the aforementioned "Coming Up" and "Waterfalls") would be "Summer's Day Song", the acoustic "One of These Days" and the instrumental "Frozen Jap". I may be wrong, but McCartney seems to be slightly ahead of the trend on this album with an electronic sound, in places, that would come to define much of 1980s music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 10 December 2000
If you can ignore instrumentals on side two of this record, then it is an absolute stunner from Macca. It's totally homemade, down to the mix and enginnering. McCartney plays and sings everything on record. The range of instruments is much larger than McCartney I, including what sound like woodwinds and brass instuments. Not only this, the standard of his drumming has improved since McCartney I. Outstanding tracks, Coming Up, On The Way, Temporary Secretary, Waterfalls, Bogey Music, One of these Days and Summer's Day Song. The album is in parts stunning, particularly the drum and bass style Darkroom.
This record is way out there in the fields. It reminds me of the Beach Boys' "Smiley Smile". Its one of Macca's best, if not the best he has come up with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
At the Speed of Sound
At the Speed of Sound by Wings (Audio CD - 2014)

Tug Of War
Tug Of War by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2015)

Ram by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.