Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, Paul at his most experimental
It's good to be thrown off balance every once in a while and this record certainly dose that! Before this, I'd only really heard stuff like "Flaming Pie" and "Flowers in the Dirt" - both containing great tunes but nothing quite as daring or uninhibited as this record. It seems that when McCartney is not thinking about the final outcome and just allows his mind to wonder...
Published on 3 Sept. 2011 by Nick Stephenson

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Macca, damn, you're nutty and brittle
Another curate's egg from the back catalogue of a highly underrated (Beatles work obviously excepted) and insane pop genius. 'Coming Up' is a brilliantly executed stoopid pop moment, a masterpiece of homemade disco. 'Temporary Secretary', one of Macca's loopiest tunes, must be heard to be believed. 'Waterfalls' is a lovely yet also deranged ballad. There's some bluesier...
Published on 9 Sept. 2002 by kilamuk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, good in parts, but not up there with the four and five star albums he has produced., 19 April 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
This is a curate's egg of an album and I have mixed feelings about it.

As he did after the breakup of the Beatles when he home-produced the great 'McCartney', Paul went home after Wings folded and produced this by himself, with the instruments plugged directly into the tape machine. It has that home-produced feel to it and there are tracks that sound, frankly, a bit rough. There are others, though, that are very good. So bear that in mind if you decide to buy this: it is quite idiosyncratic.

The album starts with 'Coming up' - an infectious rhythm and a catchy tune. Some people say that this side of Macca is lightweight and silly. The thing is, though, I challenge anyone to listen to it and then not have it in his / her head for the rest of the day. Once heard, never forgotten.

'Temporary Secretary' is one of those tracks that I like or dislike according to the mood I am in. 'Waterfalls' is a ballad that could have benefitted from higher production standards and a string backing, I reckon. A good melody though.

In all honesty, though some people love this album, I don't rate this as one of McCartney's best. Much of it is McCartney nurdling on his instruments at home to see what might evolve. But a Maccanurdle is better than most, so this album has its moments and it is worth owning and playing occasionally. I revisited it recently and found myself enjoying it more than I remembered.

It's interesting and it's certainly good in parts, but it's not, by any stretch of the imagination, up there with the four and five star albums he has produced. Three stars for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 15 Mar. 2010
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Considering McCartney made this album at home in his own little studio, its not bad. However, don't expect a totally polished performance as the limitations of not having professional studio facilities and supporting artistes do take their toll. That said.... there are still a few gems on the album and for fans of Paul its a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Main CD Very good., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
My husband gradually replacing some old tapes with CDs so he knew the album well. I was glad to track it down. Not so easy for older albums.
He was not very impressed with bonus CD. Should have probably stuck to the basic package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing diversion for Macca, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Eleanor Hamilton "mini_hamilton" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I'd never heard this LP before and was gobsmacked by the brave diversion Macca takes. Obviously he is a man who can afford to take risks but he really pushes the envelope. Highly experimental throughout, with clear Karutrock and Dance Music/electronica influences. The bonus CD also contains some terrifically weird stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul's home recordings, part two, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
Andrew Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Ten years after his solo debut, 'McCartney', Paul decided to put Wings on the back burner and record another album at home. Whereas at least some of the sessions for 'McCartney' took place at the Abbey Road studios, this album was recorded entirely at Paul's farm in Scotland. The opening track, 'Coming Up', is in my opinion one of Paul's catchiest tunes, and some of the ballads, like 'Waterfalls' and 'One of these days', are very melodic. I think that some of the other tracks are less successful. I find 'Temporary Secretary', although released as a single in 1980, repetitive and irritating. The CD released in 1993 adds three bonus tracks. 'Check my machine' and 'Secret Friend' were recorded at the same time as the album tracks in July 1979 and included as B-sides to singles in 1980. Although 'Goodnight Tonight' is an excellent song, its inclusion here is puzzling since it was released as a single by Wings in the spring of 1979.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Macca messing about., 27 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
This is McCartney "messing about" and so is a bit patchy in my opinion. Itcame after the excellent ,but at the time much maligned album "Back to theEgg" and the high quality production of "Tug of War". This sounds likeneither. Here is my track by track analysis
1. Coming up - a crazy and somewhat successful single. Good fun and verylighthearted.
2. Temporary secretary - Sounds like the sequencer got stuck and Paulstrangely records something very very annoying.
3. On the way - OK - but mostly forgettable
4. Waterfalls - Could havebeen a Beatles song. Best on the album.
5. Nobody knows - A throwaway piece that sort of gets on your nerves aswell.
6. Front parlour - Lift music
7. Summer's day song - Nice and gentle and very nursery rhyme lyrics butstill has a lot of charm.
8. Frozen jap - Instrumental about life in prison ? More lift music.
9. Bogey music - Better than the Frog song .
10. Dark room - Another bit of leftfield pop and quite good.
11. One of these days - one of the best on the album,mellow and easy onthe ear with a catchy melody.
12. Check my machine - Instrumentalrubbish (previously a b-side)
13. Secret friend - ditto
This album is really a demo with a few polished tracks. However it reallywasn't meant to be a classic. It is Macca refusing to "play it safe" andtrying something a bit different. Does it work ?
For casual pop fans not really. For Macca/Beatles fans it's patchy.
This album to me is better considered along with McCartney's Firemanalbums or Thrillington LP. Unlike them though, this was commercial hit. Ithas it's moments but really lacks depth. Worth it though just to get"Waterfalls" and "Coming Up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as i remember!, 18 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I first heard this album in the late 80's,when I was on my "voyage of discovery" of the beatles and everything connected with them.I have to say that at the time I was not impressed. Sandwiched between the underrated "Back To The Egg", and the superb "Tug of War" albums, this came as something of a shock. It started well with "Coming Up", (even John Lennon liked this one!), and then went into the almost unlistenable "Temporary Secratary". After that it was all downhill for my young ears! This album was the one I hated, and did not bother to purchase when the back catalogue was remastered in the early nineties. Flash forwars to 2011, and I decided to redress the balance, and fill the gap in my Macca collection, and take the plunge with this album! I was pleasantly surprised. Although it doesn't quite reach the heights of some of his other albums, there is much to enjoy on this. Tracks like "On the Way", and the closing track "One of these Days" bring back some of the vibe and feel of "Mcartney" and others like "Bogey Music" and "Darkroom" see Macca embracing the coming decade, synths and all. Maybe now, at the age of 41, I can see where he was coming from. The second disc has some outtakes and unrealeased tracks, the best of which are "Blue Sway" and "All You Horse riders" If you enjoyed Maccas last outing as the Fireman, Electric Arguments, then you should enjoy these. Overrall very impressed with these re-issues, although would have liked some sleeve notes, putting everything into context, and deatails of where the extra tracks came from. After the great treatment of the Band On The Run re-issue, is it to much to expect the same for the rest of the catalogue? Docked half a star for lack of sleevenotes! (Temporary Secratary is still a pile of c**p!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, odd instrumentals., 10 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
If you can ignore instrumentals on side two of this record, then it is an absolute stunner from Macca. It's totally homemade, down to the mix and enginnering. McCartney plays and sings everything on record. The range of instruments is much larger than McCartney I, including what sound like woodwinds and brass instuments. Not only this, the standard of his drumming has improved since McCartney I. Outstanding tracks, Coming Up, On The Way, Temporary Secretary, Waterfalls, Bogey Music, One of these Days and Summer's Day Song. The album is in parts stunning, particularly the drum and bass style Darkroom.
This record is way out there in the fields. It reminds me of the Beach Boys' "Smiley Smile". Its one of Macca's best, if not the best he has come up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brave But Disappointing, 22 Feb. 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
The start of McCartney's second solo career got off a pretty disastrous start with the 'Wonderful Christmastime' single in December 1979 which although quite an inoffensive catchy yuletide offering was so obviously no serious attempt to match Lennon's 'Happy Xmas War Is Over' single from 1971, that it must have been some kind of joke. It is far worse than the Wings album 'Back To The Egg' from earlier the same year. So it was a one off mistake we all assumed.
Then in the late spring of the following year, 1980, Paul put out a Solo Album. Called 'McCartney 2'. This would not only provoke debates as to why this wasn't a Wings record bit inevitably invited comparisons with Paul's first solo venture, entitled 'McCartney' from ten years earlier in 1970. And suffered by comparison. For this record is not only not in the same league as that inauspicious though pretty damn impressive debut, it is also not even as good as the last Wings album 'Back In The Egg' (1979). Which invited its fair share of unwarranted criticism from the usual quarters. But at least 'Back To The Egg' was a full blooded attempt at something different. With more than a few highlights and a great spirit in evidence throughout the entire album.
McCartney 2 like its predecessor from 1970, is obviously a Home Recording. Recorded at home. And in its way it is as brave an attempt at a different sound as 'Back To The Egg' or anything Paul has done before or since. But here it is a lacklustre effort, mostly. For unlike on 'McCartney', the doodling here is for the most part uninspired in its melody, vastly inferior in its lyric and just comes across as what it actually was. Not a serious attempt at making an album. And no reason to split Wings up for sure. And although Paul has said that it was not until after Lennon's death (in December 1980) that he finally decided to 'fold' Wings, it cannot be a coincidence that the poor sales of 'Back To The Egg' surely prompted Paul to try his luck under his own name, infinitely more well known after all. Not until his 1982 album 'Tug Of War' (1982) did he do this decision anything like justice. This first solo album for 10 years was a mediocre affair if we are honest. Not that you would think that from the opening track (and single) 'Coming Up'. Which was a brave and interesting single and so different from anything he'd done up to this point that you would hardly recognise it was from him. Bliemy...even New Musical Express gave it a good review. Precisely for that reason. So a good start.
But it's pretty much downhill from here. 'Temporary Secretary' is still as pretty bad as it was back then. Awful synthesiser. 'On The Way' is a pretty good bluesy rocker, 'Waterfalls' is a decent ballad for sure, and the last track of Side 1 (vinyl record) is an engaging non sensical romp which is fun to listen to.
But Side 2 is nowhere near as interesting. Two forgtettable instrumental doodles (yes, Doodles), a melodic but meandering slow number 'Summer's Day Song', the funny but disposable 'Bogey Music', the avantgarde-ish but equally disposable 'Darkroom'. Side 2 is only rescued at the end by the sublime ballad 'One Of These Days'. Which is simply Great.
So in summary, I first bought and enyoyed this album back in 1980. And even with hindsight it has its moments, if not the Tale Of Two Ditties some critics have said of it, it is at best, even from me, the tale of no more than four or five ditties. And that by my standards is a little disappointing. By this great man's standards anyway.
The bonus tracks are no better I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I received after a month (written to be sent by dhl, i received it by ordinary mail from USA), but it's a great thing! Deluxe edition gives the real dimension of this record and of the genius of Paul...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McCartney II
McCartney II by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews