Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Army General
Good interesting read. I'm a United fan so I clearly loved it. Ha it's the first book that I've read all the way through, I hate reading too but enjoyed this book though.
Published 14 months ago by Gareth Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Page flicker
Not as good as other books on the same subject but worth a read just to get United's take on things .
Published 5 months ago by DL Partington


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Personally gripped by annecdotes, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
I have a personal reason for giving this 4 stars, and that is because 'I was there' at many of the matches described. The book uncovered the reality of a world of pointless football tribalism and violence that I knew was going on, but only saw the tip of. It evoked memories of matches and incidents from 40 years ago, and in that way was a compelling read - for me.

The downsides are the quality of writing and the language of narration, however. I don't mean the bad language, that goes with the territory and, to be honest, there was less than I expected. The problem was Tony's terminology, which in many cases would probably only truly be understood by somebody who was similarly involved in the hooligan world, which I wasn't.

So, if you were there, in the 'peaceful' Red Army, then you may well find the book opens your eyes as it did with me, or simply, takes you back to a time when football was a passion and 'way of life' for many of us. If you weren't part of that era or a United supporter, then you'll probably not get much out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
It is what it sets out to be, a book about football hooligans told about Manchester United supporters who like to drink a fight.

If this subject interests you it's worth reading of not I would try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Page flicker, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as other books on the same subject but worth a read just to get United's take on things .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrier, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
Superb insight into one of football hooliganism great phenomenons,man utds red army of the 70s. Wrote with an honesty that puts the cockney supermen to shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Army General, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
Good interesting read. I'm a United fan so I clearly loved it. Ha it's the first book that I've read all the way through, I hate reading too but enjoyed this book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read for any football fanatic. amazing story. this book shows the reader the ugly side of the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
I have read all the books on this subject and this has to be the best book i have read..I could not putthis book down and if you want to lose yourself in old school football violence then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, the genuine article, 1 Dec 2004
By A Customer
Red Army General is unique in it's genre - a completely honest account from Britain's most respected hooligan, Tony O'Neill.
Unlike many of it's ilk, this book is refreshingly frank in dealing with not only the Red Army's many famous victories over their fiercest rivals, but also their occasional fearsome beatings at the hands of often suprising opponents.
This in turn adds to it's crediblility - you won't find any claims of invincibility which litter similar books from the likes of the I.C.F and other supposedly 'untouchable' London firms.
Instead the author tells us how it was that Man United became and still are Britain's number one hooligan firm.
It never mattered to United whether they took a beating or lost their 'unbeaten' tag. What mattered most was turning up, having a go and, to quote the author, "Whatever happens, happens".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ski Jumpers and Kio's Wasn't In It..., 4 Dec 2004
By 
Big Ski (New York City) - See all my reviews
I have just finished Tony O' Neill's honesty-fest hooligan tale, and was well impressed at his refusal to pander to current trends and depict himself as a "casual". Instead, he told a unique story of a young lad growing up fast in an era that many have dismissed as a mere stepping-stone to what went on later. It is definitely an honest account of United's exploits, but we have to remember that when Tony is being truthful in telling you that the lads got a slap, a lot of the time it was in the process of doing things that other crews simply didn't do - or even dream of doing, namely, steaming into other peoples' "ends" and trying to take them by force! Most other "honest" hooligan accounts are about defending home turf against United, or else making it to and from some moody gaff without getting too much of a pasting. I don't know much about it but O'Neill sounds like a credible gentleman criminal in that he disagreed with the use of weapons and other misdemeanours, such as burglary, etc, instead choosing to be the director of operations where it mattered, like the account of the tube station at West Ham, or the routing of the scousers at Maine Road. I just wish the book was longer, and with more pictures. I read it in about three hours straight, and it left me wanting more. Maybe I'm a poofy "casual", or maybe I just appreciate a story by someone with a more original perspective - and this was definitely that. The second part comes out next year.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring Boring General, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Army General (Kindle Edition)
Was the fifth of five books read on holiday, and to be honest only got it because it was free, But it was hard work to read, repetitive and became boring very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Army General
Red Army General by Tony O'Neill
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews