Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first one.
I enjoyed the first Parish & Richards book a lot, and if anything this one's even better. The semi-comic banter between the DI and his young female sidekick/stepdaughter verges on the twee again, but there's a very strong ending and plenty of good police work leading up to it, and as before it's all written with style and pace.

The world of Parish and Richards...
Published on 3 July 2011 by P. Stephens

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read.
2nd book I've read in this series. As enjoyable as the first. Easy to follow, not too complex.Love the relationship between Parish and the ever sorry Richards .
Published on 29 July 2011 by Magbagpuss


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first one., 3 July 2011
By 
P. Stephens (Bath, B&NES United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first Parish & Richards book a lot, and if anything this one's even better. The semi-comic banter between the DI and his young female sidekick/stepdaughter verges on the twee again, but there's a very strong ending and plenty of good police work leading up to it, and as before it's all written with style and pace.

The world of Parish and Richards is one in which most people are decent, friendly and helpful, and just a few are murderous or corrupt. In a way the author is being brave by portraying things like this, since although it's actually quite true to life, it doesn't make for great dramatic tension and can make things seem a little bland at times. Don't let that put you off though - this is a cracking read with plenty of tough action, and the danger awaiting its most lovable character doesn't bear thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pator, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
The second book in the series, but although preferred the first one this is still really good, and am looking forward to reading number three.The story is good and the banter between the two main characters is just as funny although I must admit that if Constable Richards keeps on saying "oh, you are mean sir" I think I will start screaming as I found this statement very repetitive and annoying and probably the reason for only four stars.Without giving the ending away, I felt that there was too much going on towards the end in relation to people getting injured in one way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
The second of Tim Ellis books i have read and another 5 stars from me, I am becoming hooked on the Richards & Parish duo, Tim Ellis has a way with words that makes his books so easy to read without losing the suspense, he touches on the nasty things a serial killer has done to his victims but without the usual gore that leaves the reader horrified. I love how he has bought these two partners together and the humourous banter that goes on between them. The Wages of Sin didn't disappoint, excellent read, now off to read the next in this series, 'The Flesh is Weak' and can't wait to start it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read., 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
2nd book I've read in this series. As enjoyable as the first. Easy to follow, not too complex.Love the relationship between Parish and the ever sorry Richards .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Ellis Parish and Richards, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
I think this is one of a great series. It is an easy read - great for holidays. You get engrossed in the characters and want to get the next book. Would make a great TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first book in the series I bought this one immediately and was very disappointed. The plot was ridiculous towards the end and the author had obviously not researched anything to do with hospitals including misspelling common medical terms like prostate and humerus as well as allowing his villain easy access to an intensive care unit when they are all locked secure units these days. Made it all very silly and as most of the main characters were in the hospital all at the same time (ridiculous) and some made miraculous recoveries it made it totally implausible!Proof reading would help a lot of unnecessary other spelling mistakes too!Waste of money! Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's a copper...not a 9 year old!, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
I'm happy to write a good review, and to award the book 4 stars as the plot itself is an excellent one; however in a note to the author can I please point out that though Richards may be young, she's not a child....please allow her to grow up a little. I mean, you have her being treated at home like a primary school child (taking away her tv channels???) Give her a little attitude, a flat of her own and a vocabulary which goes further than "Sirrrr" and "You are mean". Don't end every sentence she speaks with Sir because in real life it simply wouldn't happen. Give her some rope and let her run with it!

The other characterisations are fine...some of them are excellent, and as I previously mentioned the plot is sound.

I liked the first book....I liked this book, and i look forward to more Parish and Richards; but please, in the name of my sanity, allow Richards to evolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely forgettable, 8 May 2012
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first book in series, and felt quite strongly that it was a poor attempt at a police mystery, I decided to buy and read the second book ('Wages of Sin'). Having now competed this onerous task, I am now absolutely sure that my initial instinct was correct - the books are total drivel! The relationship between Parrish and Richards are so shallow and contrived as to be beyond belief - neither would foster in the real world of policing. The author appears to be obsessed with food and, in particular, Parrish's appetite, and the frequent injection of sex is merely intended to titivate, rather than contribute to the story line.

Won't bother reading any more, even at the discounted Kindle price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wages of Sin, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the 1st book in this series, as it was well-written and the dialogue between the detective and his constable was witty. This 2nd book is still well-written, but the writer is repeating the same dialogue as previously used. How many times do I want to read that the detective likes 'coffee with four sugars' and the constable calling the detective "mean"? Also, the relationship between the constable's mother and the detective is bordering on unprofessional and the details of their sex life is are totally unnecessary. I don't plan to read the 3rd book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Research!, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Wages of Sin (Parish & Richards 2) (Kindle Edition)
The author has obviously done some research for this book, he found out that they use Pennsylvania Ash for baseball bats but then goes and says he swung it like he was playing in the SuperBowl! My wife, who knows very little about sport, knows it's American football in the Superbowl and Baseball in the World Series! Maybe more attention to detail is in order! Also I find the leading characters very childish, I have lost count of the times Richards said " don't be mean Sir" or "you're so mean Sir". I am halfway through this book and will not be finishing it and certainly won't be buying any more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews