Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you wanted to know about 1066 and a good bit more
If you ever had lessons at school on the history of England you surely learned about 1066, the Battle of Hastings and William the Conqueror, but who ever mentioned King Edgar? Martin Lake has certainly done his research and unearthed this previously invisible claimant to the throne.
William, Edgar and surrounding characters are expertly portrayed in this story of...
Published on 25 May 2011 by R. Dunn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 26 days ago by C G HOLTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you wanted to know about 1066 and a good bit more, 25 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
If you ever had lessons at school on the history of England you surely learned about 1066, the Battle of Hastings and William the Conqueror, but who ever mentioned King Edgar? Martin Lake has certainly done his research and unearthed this previously invisible claimant to the throne.
William, Edgar and surrounding characters are expertly portrayed in this story of hopes and disappointments, loyalties and betrayals. The interplay between them, particularly between the mature, practised warrior politician William and the boy Edgar, forced rapidly to learn to scheme and survive in the jungle of intrigue, teases the reader with its twists and turns. This Norman world is not so different from ours, the people are very real in their motives and desires, some selfish, some selfless. they act and speak as we would. It's all very believeable.
I thoroughly enjoyed this story, it never drags, the pace never slows,something is always about to happen.
I'm waiting impatiently for the follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lake creates an enthralling and entertaining historical drama, 18 May 2011
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
This book is a good read, a fast paced historical adventure utilizing colourful and complex characters to tell a truly dramatic story. The book holds your attention as you experience, through the characters, the dilemma associated with hard and complex decisions, feel the conflicting emotions and sense the building tension. It is a coming of age story set in a different world, a different time, but full of the timeless human emotions that define us all.

Lake has woven a complex web which is laden with complexity and beauty that as you traverse threads that lead you deeper and deeper into a thrilling and ultimately rewarding adventure.

I relay enjoyed this experience and have already started to read Lake's second book, Pick and Mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost King, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
What a fascinating period of our history - and a great example of how history is written by the victors! King who? Did not know what I was getting into - but wow- how did I miss this one - what a great read, face paced, plenty of action and the right amount of detail to be convincing. went straight on to the second book Wasteland (The Lost King)which was equally brilliant and can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1066 - What Happened Next?, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
If you've ever wondered what happened next in the days, weeks, months and first few years following the Battle of Hastings then this is the book for you. We know William won the Battle but did you know it was a long time before he won the War? This easy to read and well researched book throws some light on what resistance some of the Brits put up against William the Conqueror claiming the Crown of England. We follow the campaign to make Edgar Atheling the new and rightful King of England and the fact that we know in the end the attempt failed doesn't stop this book being a gripping read. It is fast paced and the characters are well drawn. I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading the next book in the trilogy about Edgar as there are plenty of loose ends left at the end of the book to make you want to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little-Known Event in English History, 27 July 2013
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
This novel deals with the little-known figure in history, Edgar Altheling, great-nephew of Edward the Confessor, and his claim to the English throne in 1066. After the Normans seize the kingdom after the Battle of Hastings, Edgar becomes the leader of the resistance at the young age of fourteen. His journeys take him to Normandy, where Duke William attempts to make peace with him, and Scotland where he has family and allies to help his cause. There is a good mixture of strong characters both real and fictitious and the dialogue is authentic. Once you have read this, give the sequel, Wasteland, a try. I am very much looking forward to the third instalment in this great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you didn't know about the conquest of England, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Ann Marie (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
A really good historical novel about characters I had not previously heard of - the rightful successor to King Harold after he died at the Battle of Hastings. We all know about William the Conqueror, but what about the REAL king of England? Well written, believable characters, especially as we watch the young Edgar grow into maturity. A real page-turner - I was eager to find out what happened next. Definitely will read the sequel(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plausible and good reading, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
One of the better novels on the English resistance after 1066. Edgar atheling is a complex, elusive and frustrating historical character but that allows for some scope in trying to portray him within a novel such as this. Martin Lake is convincing in his characterization of the key figures including Edgar. We can never know the non-Norman version of events in the dark days after 1066 but this is a worthy effort to portray an England that is about to change forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking Good Read!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
I'd recommend this story and its sequels to anyone who likes a story that's a fairly easy read and rattles along at a good pace. A real page turner! It's got plenty of action, tension, tragedy and human interest. If you like history, so much the better, but you don't need to know anything about the Norman invasion or even be interested in history to enjoy this story. The characters and the situations they find themselves in are utterly believable. Martin Lake is a terrific writer and deserves to be better-known.
I've read plenty of historical fiction and much of it is heavy-going. I couldn't put this one down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
Started this book with no real expectation and suddenly found myself turning the last page. A gripping read, well written and involving. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars England's Forgotten King., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost King: Resistance (Kindle Edition)
Like most people my interest in the events of 1066 usually end abruptly during the late afternoon of October 14th but of course the events at Hastings were only the beginning of the actual conquest. Martin Lake has chosen to tell that story through the experiences of the last of King Alfred's line, Eadgar Aetheling. It is a story which races along and holds your attention throughout as the young King attempts to stay one step ahead of the conqueror in a land largely stripped of its fighting men and natural leaders in the three great battles during the autumn of that fateful year. The author's decision to tell the story in the first person adds to the drama and I am looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost King: Resistance
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews