Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 good tales
Jeffrey Archer's 'Twelve Red Herrings' are imaginative, well-written short stories. Archer (now Lord Archer, the variously popular-then-disgraced-then-popular-currently-disgraced Tory almost-leader) is better known for his novels, but has proven himself to be a good author of short stories as well.
Each of the twelve tales in the collection contains an unexpected...
Published on 22 Dec. 2005 by Kurt Messick

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly disappointing and unbelievable as they are written. The plots are disjointed and not good
I love short stories, but hated these. I thought the fact most of the stories are true stories would make this very interesting, but they are delivered so badly, they are simply annoying.
I don't want to give any spoilers so will be a bit vague, but hopefully you will get the idea.
The idea is that the ending hits you as a surprise and isn't what you expect,...
Published 4 months ago by J. Vance


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant so good that i bought it for a Xmas gift for someone else, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Paperback)
I`d not read Jeffrey Archer before but since reading twelve red herrings I`ve read three more of his books and enjoyed them. Twelve red herrings is a book of twelve short stories. each story is different and a couple of them left me thinking " that was not what I expected" or "that was clever"...I was so impressed that I bought a copy for one of my grand daughters xmas gifts. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Helen J. Woodhouse (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
Some good stories, but I was not aware it was a novel of short stories. I prefer a good novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Archer you will like it, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
I don't really like Jeffrey Archer, but it delivered as expected. The prose is just about acceptable (I cringed at lines like: 'I devoured it hungrily'), but as we all know, his real knack is for telling stories. If you like easy reading, and you don't mind the way Archer's pomposity often leaks between the lines, then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jeffrey Archer Mmmm, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting a little more from an Archer book, just as you start getting into a story it then ends and you are on to the next, his books are much better when there is just the one story.

If you dont mind jumping from one story to another in a short space of time then it is probably a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fishing For Twelve Good Bites, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
Love him or hate him there is no denying that Jeffrey Archer knows how to write cracking good stories. I enjoyed every one of these red herrings, which are great to read when you only have a short time available - bus journeys; train rides; doctors' waiting rooms. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the short stories, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
B. R. Swetman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
I wonder if these were the start of plots he could not develop and so turned into short stories. Whatever the reason, they are great. Most set in the last century but none the less, one wonders if there is more than a grain of his experiences in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Bedtime short stories, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
Time always shoots by reading Jeffrey Archer. These stories are fast moving, absorbing and short enough to hold the attention when reading in bed without waking up in the morning to find the ipad (or kindle) on the floor and the lights still on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
These short stories don't do justice to Jeffrey archers story telling capabilities. He does not have time to involve the reader in an intricate plot as he normally would with a longer book. Enjoyable short reads, but something missing for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more of the same but a good read, 1 April 2014
By 
HK (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
All his books are very similar and predictable. Even so they are all good reads. He knows how to write to hold the reader. THere is one exception to this comment. His prison dairies are exceptional and stand alone as a valuable contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Reading, 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Red Herrings (Kindle Edition)
TYhese are great reading for holidays. Their length is just about right, and the endings are well up to Jeffrey Archer's usual style.
AS is usual the stories are easily read and are very enjoyable when one is in a relaxed mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Red Herrings
Twelve Red Herrings by Jeffrey Archer
£0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews