Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She kept the nest that hatched the egg
When I went to see this movie I knew nothing about it. The trailer merely indicated a period courtroom drama starring James McAvoy.

While I would hesitate to call it one of the best movies of the year, undoubtedly this movie or more precisely the story this movie relates impacted me more deeply than most do. So much so that I have bought several books on the...
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by L. Power

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film that will appeal more to a person who is knowledgeable about the history of the American civil war..
I think this had the ingredients of being a good film but for me it was flat and a bit boring...It shows the trial of Mary Surratt,but the way this film is put together is to me a bit of a muddle...Indeed the whole of the country was in a muddle at that time,having just finished a civil war,so perhaps I did not look at it as a modern USA citizen would.

Abe...
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. D. Surrey


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Conspirator, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film that tells the story behind a well known historical event- the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. It was especially interesting to me as some years ago I visited the sites in Washington DC where the events took place. James McAroy was brilliant as the former Union war hero who was assigned defence attorney at the military tribunal for Mary Surratt. Initially reluctant he finds himself questioning the ethics and justice of trying this woman- the mother of one of the conspiritors in whose house the plot was hatched.

Robin Wright gives a dignified performance as Mary- the woman who was on trial by the military and sentenced to death for expediancy and revenge rather than for any proven guilt.

The extras were of special interest as the scenario was explained in historical context. We were left unable to know if this was an innocent woman or part of the plot- was it always to kill or maybe to kidnap- no easy answers but feeling that the verdict rested not on tyhe evidence but on the desire to make someone a scapegoat.

A remarkable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Slow-burner, 22 Nov 2011
By 
N. Alterskye "muso_confuso" (MK, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
Good film - slow burner but I thought that the pacing was spot on for what is an historical period drama. I never even knew about the intrigue behind Lincoln's assassination so this was a learning experience for me. Great to see Robin Wright Penn and Toby Kebbell in a film again - great, undervalued actors of the current film generation.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly reccommend!!, 23 July 2014
By 
kevin batey (newcastle, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought on a whim and i am glad I did, a sad true account of a country in uproar after the assasination of abraham lincoln and its obsession to capture and deal justice to the assailants, though not all were guilty......I will say no more, great performances highly reccommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo good., 30 July 2014
This review is from: The Conspirator (DVD)
absolutely fantastic film. great story, well told. the fabulous James McAvoy is brilliant as always and Robin Wright is ethereal and understated. Great directing from Robt Redford. Can't recommend this film highly enough. The story and the characters stay with you afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The silencing of law amidst the weapons, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
This film barely made it to cinema release and despite having a sterling cast and a director in Robert Redford seems to have received little attention generally.

Redford has always been a politically engaged individual who has made political films. He showed with the exquiste "A river runs through it" that he was confident enough with a story to take his time with it, and with the, in my view, very underrated "Lions for lambs" that he was not afraid of making films about ideas that also discuss ideas in some detail.

These elements are drawn together in this movie which explores a dark coda to the Lincoln assasination: the military tribunal which tried the conspirators. The film focuses upon Fredrick Aiken, a former Union officer and lawyer, who is drawn, rather against his will, into defending one of the alleged conspirators, Mary Surrat, the owner of the boarding house where John Wilkes Booth met with his co-conspirators.

This facinating story is not well known, and Redford has drawn from it clear parallels with some of the contemporary abuses of American power that war time has brought.

I think James McAvoy is one of the most exciting actors alive and here he delivers one of his trademark ham-free performances as Aiken. The rest of the international cast delivers fine support, particularly the great Kevin Kline, brilliantly convincing as Edwin Stanton, the War Secretary, whose single-mindedness in prosecuting the war to preserve the Union threatens the very principles of the Union in the absence of Lincoln's wise authority.

In summary this is a thoughtful, tense and at times very moving courtroom and civil war drama that celebrates moral courage where others have focussed on the physical variety. Vastly better than most of what is available at the multiplex of a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting insight into a little known piece of americana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Conspirator [Blu-ray], 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this film to be a bit slow to start, but enjoyed it the story line was interesing but if you do not enjoy trials then it is not for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
item as described and delivered quickly thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product - Great Service, 29 July 2014
By 
R. H. Cripps (Rutland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Product - Great Service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conspirator [DVD] (DVD)
As described. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Conspirator [DVD]
The Conspirator [DVD] by Robert Redford (DVD - 2011)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews