Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well acted and ingeniously structured
A clever movie, very well acted, and ingeniously structured. It was based on an Israeli movie of the same name, which I haven't seen but which I assume was similarly structured in the way that the two time periods (1966, 1997) were handled. One particular success is the way that the different generations of actors are convincing and credible as their younger and older...
Published 7 months ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weighty historic-espionage drama
The Debt is cut into two time-periods (1966 & 1997) so there are 6 actors playing three characters. David is played by Sam Worthington ('66) & Ciarán Hinds ('97), Stefan is played by Martin Csokas ('66) & Tom Wilkinson ('97) and Rachel is played by Jessica Chastain ('66) and Helen Mirren ('97). Their mission in 1966 was to bring a Nazi war criminal to justice - The...
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well acted and ingeniously structured, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
A clever movie, very well acted, and ingeniously structured. It was based on an Israeli movie of the same name, which I haven't seen but which I assume was similarly structured in the way that the two time periods (1966, 1997) were handled. One particular success is the way that the different generations of actors are convincing and credible as their younger and older selves. We can believe that Jessica Chastain grows older to become Helen Mirren, Sam Worthington to become Ciaran Hinds, etc. and that speaks to the care in the writing of the parts as well as the skills of the actors involved. The reservation I have concerns the thirty years we don't see: we do see the anguish of the choice that the younger characters make (to tell a lie for the good of Israel is the way that Stefan Gold, the senior Mossad agent, frames the reasons for the lie), but when the three agents are feted as heroes, there is moral discomfort on the parts of the female agent Rachel (Mirren) and David Peretz, the other agent involved (Hinds). That moral discomfort is heightened when Rachel and Stefan's daughter publishes a book about the 1966 operation that confirms the heroism of the agents and, unbeknownst to Rachel's daughter, cements the lie. Revelation of the truth would of course discredit the agents and devastate the daughter, whom we see in the opening scenes at her big publication party.

There comes a point where it seems that the truth will be revealed and the question is, what to do about it. I won't give away the later part of the 1997 story except to say that Hinds and Mirren act their moral conflicts and scruples convincingly, but one does wonder how Rachel, Mirren's character, in particular managed the intervening years. Especially one wonders how she handled the knowledge of her daughter's work on the book. Divorced by this time from Stefan (who had impregnated her in the course of a one-night bedding in 1966), and as morally scrupulous as she seems to have become, is it credible that she would have let her daughter build her reputation as a writer on what she (Rachel) knows to be a lie? David, the most morally scrupulous and most troubled of the three, leaves Mossad and Israel and his guilt seems to lead him to have to seek psychiatric help, but we only hear about that; it's not shown. Things from Rachel's 1966-1997 life are likewise not shown. Mirren is a good enough actor to convince us of her 1997 moral discomfort, but it's her success in communicating that that makes us wonder about the intervening years. For all that, though, this is well worth seeing -- there are elements of suspense and action too that are well handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karma has a way of seeking you out, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Fuinnimh (Kalamazoo, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
I go to movies all the time while in release, one to two a week. Seeing Jessica Chastain in both The Help, and Tree of Life, made me decide to see The Debt.

Director John Madden directed Shakespeare in Love which won 7 Academy Awards including, Best Actress for Gwyneth Paltrow, and Best Supporting Actress for Judi Dench. He also directed Prime Suspect 3 starring both Helen Mirren and Ciaran Hinds, who both star in The Debt; and Captain Corelli's Mandolin.

The Debt parallels real events. Mossad agents abducted Eichmann in Argentina in 1961, tried him in Israel, and executed him. The notorious Dr Mengele, the butcher of Auschwitz fled to South America, narrowly escaping the Mossad in Argentina, fleeing to Paraguay, and then Brazil. Birkenau is known also as Auschwitz Birkenau. Twenty four surgeons experimented on human captives, often performing unnecessary surgical operations without anaesthetic.

In 1965, a rookie Mossad agent played by Jessica Chastain, crosses Checkpoint Charlie and joins two male agents in East Berlin, to identify and kidnap the notorious surgeon of Birkenau, now a gynaecologist. She must pose as a patient, and subject herself to the cold probings of her intimate place by the butcher, and take close up photos without arousing suspicion.

Photographs of his terrible deeds haunt her and fill her with apprehension and fear. Photographs of smiling babies adorn his waiting room wall. A man who once took life from the world, now charged with bringing life into the world.

Her legs in stirrups, vulnerable, afraid, he probes her intimate space with his instrument, as he asks probing questions, about her unfamiliar accent, about her mother, about how she found him. It's tense and gripping. He gives her sex advice, and injections which will help her become pregnant. Meanwhile her desire grows for the sensitive agent, but David though attracted is closed off, and a romantic triangle develops. Will the doctors advice pay off?

When the mission goes wrong, the three agents and their captive remain in the same house. He would rather escape than die, and rather die than face trial. He senses the weakness in the relationships of his captors, and in their psyches, and pushes them to their psychological limits. He says things you would not expect to hear in a movie. As tensions mount, the great psychodramatic moments of the movie unfold. It's strangely intimate. He pushes the mother button with Rachel, while she shaves him with a cutthroat razor, and tears stream down her porcelain cheeks. She goes to the bathroom to throw up. When David, the sensitive one replies to him, 'you are a monster,' you can see from his facial expression that he is getting off on it. He plays them off each other. She is with him but it's you she wants. He seems able to read her mind, to guess her real name, intuit her condition. Here the acting is simply amazing and totally absorbing.

The doctor succeeds in his goal. They return to Israel, with an invented truth, and a heavy secret. Thirty years later that secret will force Rachel out of retirement, so the real truth can remain unknown.

The Debt is part suspense, part thriller, part psychodrama, its parts stirred by three great acting performances.

Jessica Chastain as the lead is incredible, with a face crafted by the cinematic gods, one of the best new talents I have seen. I was totally wowed by her performance.

Jesper Christensen delivers an astounding performance as the doctor, perhaps I am supposed to feel shock and outrage, yet I found it gripping and strangely delicious to watch the psychological cat and mouse game between him and her.

Helen Mirren, shows a harder edge as the older Rachel, always a gripping presence.

I love movies with a heroic female protagonist. When plans go awry, she steps out of the shadows looking for a light, she ventures into the stirrups, and she fights. She feels the fear and does it anyway. She is an everywoman required to do dangerous things. Other movies with great female protagonists would be Black Book, and The Girl Who Played With Firemovies. I wish Hollywood would make make more movies like these. All these are European movies.

If you're like me and like psycho dramatic thrillers. I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mwah to Helen Mirren!, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
This is brilliant! Present and past perfectly intertwined, and, of course, the ever so wonderful Dame Helen Mirren leading the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual, gripping and suspenseful film., 20 Jan 2013
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a difficult movie to classify as it doesn't really fit into the normal tidy genre pigeon holes; it's not action though there's a fair amount of violence and plenty of tension, it's not really a thriller but there a smattering of intrigue and it's not a romance despite a certain amount of personal entanglement. It, however, definitely is not a comedy. The story focuses on the current life of three principle characters and their actions thirty years previously as Mossad Nazi hunters. The action cuts back and forth slickly between these two time periods as the capture of an infamous concentration camp `doctor' is planned and executed. The pace and tension are carefully managed to draw you into the lives of the protagonists as the lie that has been gnawing at their consciences but that has shaped their lives is gradually revealed. The cast are superb, and the assured direction & cinematography make for an absorbing and gripping experience. The ending is slightly predictable but is left nicely open ended - not very tidy but thought provoking nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The webs we weave, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an exciting drama which also manages to be much more moving than I had expected, and to raise some complex moral issues, rather than be simplistically pro-Mossad as I had feared.

Intense concentration is required to catch all the details and nuances, as the plot is revealed in brief, fast-moving scenes switching back and forth between the 1960s and the 1990s. It is hard to summarise the plot without giving away too much, as I think some previous reviewers may have tended to do.

Essentially, in the '60s, three driven young members of Mossad have been tasked to capture a notorious Nazi doctor,"the surgeon of Birkenau", now practising gynaecology, of all things, in an East Berlin hospital, and to bring him back for trial in Israel. Although there are some major hitches, the three claim to have managed to kill him and are feted as heroes for the next three decades. This accolade is of course questionable since the man has been denied a fair trial, which would have shown the Israelis to be morally superior to their oppressors.

It becomes apparent that the facts are not quite what they seem. The film becomes less of a righteous if fanatical Nazi hunt and more of a psychological drama - the relationship between the three agents, two men and a beautiful woman. The "leader" Stephan is ambitious, David is traumatised by the loss of his entire family, and Rachel also often appears too emotionally vulnerable for the task.

Under pressure, the trio begin to behave in often all too understandably flawed and "human" ways. We see how the captured Doctor Vogel plays on this. I disagree that he comes across as "too nice" because he seems to love his wife: in his lack of real remorse for past crimes, his crude anti-semitism and his ability to manipulate and goad his youthful captors, he is particularly chilling and sinister.

There is also plenty of scope to debate the three agents' various motives for their actions, which cover a wide range: fear, altruism, ambition, personal advantage, to maintain status and the love of others, or simple pragmatism. How should they have behaved at each stage? How would we?

Although some plot details do not hold water when you think about them afterwards, I do not agree that the film tries to cover too much. The complexity seems to me to add to its value and effectiveness. I also do not feel that it loses its way at the end when the fifty-something Rachel sets off for the Ukraine to honour "a debt" and conclude unfinished business. The end of the film is not what you would expect, and leaves matters slightly open for you to draw your own conclusions, which is often the mark of a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 1 April 2014
This review is from: The Debt (Amazon Instant Video)
Not sure why people have reviewed this film negatively, as it is very watchable and certainly not boring.

It moves at a reasonable pace and there are a number of good character actors in it.

Not unmissable or in the league of the Odessa File or Boys from Brazil but certainly worth watching if you like "Nazi hunter" type films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Credit to Actors, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Debt (Amazon Instant Video)
An atmospheric Spy/Thriller, based on a very captivating Tale with great use of flashbacks and more modern Scenes to tell a generation long Story. Typically good acting from all of the main Stars, a really enjoyable couple of hours viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
This is a super film and good quality DVD. Fast delivery and a simple no hassle transaction which is always appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE..., 31 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
A young woman has written a book about her brave parents who captured and killed a Nazi war criminal. The details of the tale could have only come from her parents, which contradicts reality. The movie reminded me of my dad who told us kids WWII stories. Dad was stationed on a converted aircraft carrier which cruised off the coast of North Carolina. He never saw any action...but we heard stories about how his vessel (USS Solomon) captured a U-boat and how he worked on Ted Williams' airplane. There was a U-boat captured, but not by his ship and he did work on planes similar to that of Ted Williams. My sister believed every word and wrote a paper on WWII for her class based on my dad's inaccuracies. The teacher was a WWII buff and we then discovered dad was a BS artist. Imagine writing a book based on stories your parents tell you and selling it to the world!

Helen Mirren is a great actress and basically if she is in it, I am willing to watch it. The story of the killing, as related in the book is fairly simple. The Nazi was captured and tied up. He got loose, attacked Rachel Singer (Helen), gave her a facial scar and fled. As she was laying there in her own blood, she manages to pull out a small hand gun and shoot the fleeing Nazi in the back, from a considerable distance in my opinion, and kill him. But is that how it happened? That is what the movie is about. Jessica Chastain plays the young Rachel Singer as she teams up in Berlin with Sam Worthington and Marton Csokas to bring the evil Dieter Vogel (Jesper Christensen) to justice. As it turns out Dieter is now a gynecologist, so guess which of the three spies stages visits with him?

The film moves slow in many scenes. Helen Mirren is her classy self. I thought Jessica Chastain did an excellent job in her role which got better as the movie progressed. Marton Csokas has a good scene toward the end of the film and Sam Worthington should stick to Avatar. You want to watch the film to see how things play out...which is to say I liked how things progressed but I wasn't overly pleased with the ending. 4 1/2 stars

F-bomb, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well constructed and well acted film. Thought provoking and excellent!, 16 Jan 2012
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Debt [DVD] (DVD)
For me, this was one of those rare films that holds the viewer throughout because of the quality of its construction, the storyline and the acting.
It concerns a three person team from Mossad sent to East Berlin in the mid-1960's to investigate the indentity of a local doctor. Is he the infamous 'Surgeon of Birkenau' responsible for experimenting upon and causing the death of many thouands of people?
The team's mission, is to identify him and to abduct and take him out of East Berlin to Israel. The film opens thirty years later with the three team members reflecting back upon the events that occurred. The plot cannot be elaborated much without spoilers, but suffice it to say the drama that ensues is gripping and thought provoking, raising issues of personal responsibility, duty to self, family and coutry, and guilt, as well as others.
The acting was top quality, with excellent performances by the different actors playing the three main characters thirty years apart, including Dame Helen Mirren, Tom Wilkinson and Sam Worthington.

One of the most memorable films I have seen for a good while. Highly recommended.

This film is actually a remake; the original version an Israeli production in Hebrew available with English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Debt [DVD]
The Debt [DVD] by John Madden (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews