Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Farce is strong with this one!
Once again, the Robot Chicken gang rips into the "Star Wars" franchise with a combination of total affection, utter lack of mercy, and stop-motion toys.

We follow the lives of four characters throughout the rise of the Galactic Empire, starting with Palpatine's decision to go into politics, choosing his Sith apprentice, and keeping the galaxy under his thumb...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Beedo Sookcool

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance but plenty of cringe too
Obviously very silly, don't buy if you aren't a fan of stupid humour, toilet humour etc. The laugh out loud moments will have tears in your eyes, but there are also lots of drawn out sketches which didn't do it for me. Probably extra good after the pub with a group of mates. My fave was the blue jazz man. Genius.
Published 15 months ago by Katwoman434


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Farce is strong with this one!, 5 July 2011
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, the Robot Chicken gang rips into the "Star Wars" franchise with a combination of total affection, utter lack of mercy, and stop-motion toys.

We follow the lives of four characters throughout the rise of the Galactic Empire, starting with Palpatine's decision to go into politics, choosing his Sith apprentice, and keeping the galaxy under his thumb. Li'l Anakin Skywalker grows up tormented by his love for an aloof and frankly wickedly teasing Padmé, and then gets into another fine mess when he gets crisped on Mustafar and has to learn what all the different buttons on his chest do . . . and then figure out how the Hell he's supposed to go to the toilet with all that gear and leather fused onto him. Boba Fett, after losing his father on Geonosis, gives Vader and Palpatine a run for the title of Biggest Jerk In The Galaxy, which he stands a fair chance of winning. Finally, Gary the Stormtrooper just continues to have a string of stressful days at work. He's asked to drive the Death Star for a spell and makes a hash of it, he messes up a door-to-door search for droids on Tatooine, and he takes his buddy's speeder bike for a spin on Endor and ends up causing unintended carnage that might cost the Empire the war.

But it's not just these four main characters that get their chance in the spotlight. See Prune Face in action. Discover why C-3PO never learned Spanish as one of his six million forms of communication. Hear Chewbacca speak intelligibly. Find out what happened to Max Rebo after Jabba's sail barge blew up. Witness Lando telling it like it is. Learn Jar Jar's deepest, darkest secret. And there are many more mirth-inducing quick-fire sketches on top of all that! But there's more to this DVD than just loosely-connected comedy sketches; there's a boatload (more than three hours' worth) of bonus features, as well.

There are FOUR sets of commentaries on the show itself (two sets for various voice actors, one for the writers, and one for the crew, all of which sound more like a bunch of friends getting together for a laugh than serious technical discussions), the mandatory Chicken Nuggets augmentation, fun at the Skywalker Ranch premiere, fun with Uncle George, fun at the Star Wars Celebration V convention, fun at a touring skate-party with costumed skaters, three behind-the-scenes featurettes, three trailers (two for the show itself and one for the video game "The Force Unleashed II"), and 25 deleted scene animatics, the absolute best of which probably has to be Gary the Stormtrooper takes his daughter work again . . . on Hoth! (That one needs to be made into full animation. No argument.)

If you're a fan of "Star Wars" and/or any of the other [adult swim] animated offerings, this disc is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch For Star Wars Fans. Two Thumbs Up!, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
Bigger, longer and even better than the previous two (yes it's possible!) With focus on the Emperor's story, plus frequent appearances from Vader, Gary the Stormtrooper and fan-boy favourite Boba Fett, this Episode proves once again that The Dark Side is more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May the force be with you..., 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this back in december, when Adult Swim premiered it, and I can't wait for the DVD release. Episode 3, is as good as, if not better than, all the previous episodes, with the added bonus of being about an hour long! Amazing.

Also looks like all the usual extras are here, which is a bonus and I can't wait to see em (been holding out for them over getting it on itunes, DVD on here is only a quid more with LOADS more stuff)

All in all, I'm pre-ordering now, I already know the features brilliant, can't wait for those extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scraping the bottom of the barrel a bit, 21 Nov 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
I own all the seasons and all the previous specials so suffice to say that I am a pretty big fan of the chicken. However I do hope that this will be their last start wars special. Its not that the content wasn't up to the same standard that it has always been up to, it's just that you really get the feeling that they are really scraping the barrel now for star wars gags.
One thing I like about purchasing robot chicken DVD's is that they are always extremely good value for money as the extra content that is included is always very generous and this one is no exception.
This is recommended to any RC fan out there, but compared to rest of the specials this one is lacking slightly, which isn't really a big criticism if you take into account the high quality of the last few specials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I Thought He Smelled Bad, Say It With Me, On The Outside!!, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. A. Durning "A. Durning" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best Robot Chicken's they have made. Made me laugh when I was going through a tough time. The usual characters are hilarious (Boba Fett and The Emperor are stand outs). If you're a fan of Robot Chicken then buy this DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 25 Jun 2014
By 
S. Brown (A galaxy far far away.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
Stumbled upon this gem after a night out. Was stuffing my face with kebab after a belly full of Guiness whilst surfing the TV channels and up pops Robot Chicken: Star Wars. Really appeals to my sense of humour and as lover of Star Wars (well the first 3 films anyway) I was hooked. Someone in the household deleted it off the Sky planner (if I find out who it was - recriminations will be long and painful) so had to buy it.
The only downside (for me) is that the swearing is bleeped out. If the swearing wasn't bleeped out it would of got a legendary 5 star satus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 April 2014
By 
L. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
Normally with films like this they are scraping the barrel for comedy when it's the third and above, and doesn't reach as good amount of humour as the previous ones, however I found this one just as good as the previous, better than I expected it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Tweed98 (Bishops Stortford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
I watched these all on Sci-Fi channel over christmas after the arguments at the end of the Family Guy star wars episodes. I'd have to say these are slightly funnier than Blue Harvest and way better than the other two FG eps with this episode 3 one being the best. It tells the story of Palpatines rise and fall with Boba Fett and Gary the Stormtrooper added in as side stories. This is an hour well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different to the first two..., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
All throughly enjoyable. Different set up from the first two sketched based volumes, viewing it from Palaptine's perspective. Having only heard about the Robot Chicken Star Wars sketches from other sources, made worth while watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to watch, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD] (DVD)
First watched on tv. Could not wait to own it and watch again. Some scenes are better second/third time round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III [DVD]
7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews