Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars There is often great misunderstanding about what Tantra is and there is sometimes ...
There is often great misunderstanding about what Tantra is and there is sometimes a tendency for people to pervert the true meaning for very mundane reasons. Here, Tantra in its true Buddhist sense is explained remarkably clearly in plain language where possible.
I found this book completely riveting in its depth and clarity, talking about the most profound subjects,...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. M. Hume

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly useful
If you're already familiar with Buddhism you might find this series of books useful, but as a beginner I was put off by the unfriendly and unapproachable writing style and the obscure language without much guidance.
Published on 11 Jun. 2013 by Jessica Murray


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly useful, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
If you're already familiar with Buddhism you might find this series of books useful, but as a beginner I was put off by the unfriendly and unapproachable writing style and the obscure language without much guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not keen really, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
It seems to dictate too much about what you are all doing wrong and not that clear about what you should be doing. All up in the air ethereal stuff. Not my cup o' tay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is often great misunderstanding about what Tantra is and there is sometimes ..., 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. M. Hume (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
There is often great misunderstanding about what Tantra is and there is sometimes a tendency for people to pervert the true meaning for very mundane reasons. Here, Tantra in its true Buddhist sense is explained remarkably clearly in plain language where possible.
I found this book completely riveting in its depth and clarity, talking about the most profound subjects, and clearly from the personal experience of the author. I loved the description of the subtle winds of the body and how we can purify them using the special meditations described in the book.
I am a long way from mastering Tantra, but is feel really inspired to want to know more and to get more experience of sutra meditations as a preparation to the practices described here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thankyou, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Brooks "boogietracy" (cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
Thankyou for publishing such a clear, meaningful text for the world to read. I hope everyone gets the chance to read and take it into their daily lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a resource!, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
Tantra? Before reading the information in this book, I never knew what Tantra was all about, and maybe even shied away from it. What a nice surprise to find out that Tantra has a lot to do with purifying the negativity in my own mind! It is so nice to read such a Pure transmission of this subject. Now I see how easy misunderstandings can happen with respect to Tantra, and how lucky I am to find clear and unmistaken instructions. It is so rare to find such purity in this degenerate world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those new to tantra, this is an incredibly ..., 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
For those new to tantra, this is an incredibly clear presentation of what was once considered a very difficult topic to understand. For those with more experience in the subject, it offers an incredible skillful summary of such a vast and profound practice, which seems to offer new insights with each re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
I read this several years ago so added it to my large collection of refferance books about many subjects including religion, history and differant ways of life. I find the choice on kindle allows you to read up on just about everything you want to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A positive help in a Modern World, 3 May 2013
By 
D. F. Ashmore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
Like all Geshe Kelsang Gyatso this one contains a lot of profound wisdom even if it does tend to make Buddhism a little complicated for Westerners wanting a little help to get by in the Modern world. Can be a bit sectarian too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Path to Enlightenment, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
Never have the Buddha's Tantric teachings been explained so thoroughly than in this masterwork by Venerable Geshe-la - Modern Buddhism is an essential read for any aspiring Buddhists-a scientific roadmap to enlightenment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary., 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Buddhism: The Path of Compassion and Wisdom - Volume 2 Tantra (Kindle Edition)
If you have, as I have, the great good fortune, to study this book with a qualified teacher, it will change your life. Who could be better to explain the profundity of this book than a teacher trained by the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews