Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic historical piece, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
I was blown away with the quality and authenticity of this replica beaker. It has a nice weight to it and the engravings are of an exceptional standard. My beaker will take pride of place at home for all to see. Going to enjoy it with good Rioja gran reserva tonight!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History dream, 14 July 2013
By 
Naome Pierre "S.P.Q.R." (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This item is just perfect! Beauty of metal brilliance, purity, fineness of the engraving, the weight of the object, and I dream of Rome dominating the world while I drink a fresh honey wine in this beautiful cup with hints of victories. .. This product is also ideal for decoration than for actual use! it is magical and evokes my passion of the Roman Empire!It was really a desire to acquire this cup: as a historical dream that haunted me! I do not regret! ESSENTIAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine piece of Pewter Ware which looks historically authentic, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
The wine beaker is a substantial piece of pewter, this is no lightweight silver plastic product!

Without wishing to echo other reviews I would like to draw attention to the raised surface work. The figures in particular have been very carefully crafted. The detail on the figures looks quite historically authentic.

Looking at the upper part of the wine beaker there is what appears to be an imperial image in silhouette. It certainly reminds be of Vespasian.

Perhaps the beaker should have been dedicated to the 2nd Augusta and their most illustrious commander - Vespasian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work of Art, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for such a beautiful,authentic,sculptured,designed Roman beaker. I am so proud to own a quality
piece with exquisite detail. You are a craftsman with a natural gift for creating a piece of history.
Any plans to create a really nice figure of a Roman Centurion or similar approx size 8 inches. Thank you again
Raymond Kemp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ETERNAL AS ROMA, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Dristin J. Suarez (Carolina, PR Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
The Roma Victrix beaker is truly a tribute to an idea that grew to change the world forever. Its fine and accurate design is impeccable. Art and history blended, forming an incredible representation to tell a story of the Roman Empire as embodied by its most famous symbol, the Roman Legionary. The artist achieved a level of detail that makes it come alive. If you are a serious about Roman's quest for greater glory, get this Roma Victrix beaker and share its artist's perfection. It is one of a kind. Buy this Roman Calix and enjoy some Falernum...but not too watered down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Item, 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
I purchased this beaker from the United States and, in all respects, I have been extremely impressed with it and the experience. The quality of the beaker is outstanding, and it looks even better in person than it does in the photos because the design is in such high relief. Very few things today are made to this quality standard. It equals or exceeds in quality many of the fine works produced by craftspeople in the 19th Century and earlier. It is expensive, but you would be very hard pressed to find a cup with a Roman theme, made in any era, of comparable quality, and if you ever did find one it would be vastly more expensive. Considering the quality, the price is very reasonable. Considering the alternatives, it is a bargain. Also, the subject matter of this beaker, a Roman legion, is rare for a beaker and very interesting and appealing. If you are considering this for yourself or as a gift for someone else, you will not be disappointed. In addition, the service the company provided was remarkable. Shipment was prompt, and they checked in constantly to provide updates and ensure that I was satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rome victorious, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
i thought long and hard about buying this item but i am so pleased that i did.Superb product,first class service from the sellers.All my friends wish that they had one.Would definately buy from the business again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in miniature, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Writing as 'James Becker', I'm the author of several novels which deal with real historical events, and I am only too aware of the crucial importance of getting things right. Nothing destroys the credibility of a book faster than an error of fact.
The calathus sold by Calix Imperium is of course a pewter drinking vessel, not a book, but I was both delighted and impressed to see this same level of attention to detail exhibited on this product. The vessel has three panels, each of which depicts a different scene showing elements of the Roman fighting machine. Each panel is historically accurate, and can almost be considered to be a history lesson in miniature, as well as a tribute to the research skills of the designer.
The quality of the calathus can't be faulted. The engraving is sharp and clear, and the depth of the detail simply cannot be appreciated until you hold the vessel in your hands and examine it - no photograph, no matter how good, can fully replicate this. This is not a cheap item, but in my opinion it should be regarded as a modern antique, because there are no other products currently available which exhibit anything like the same quality and attention to detail.
For enthusiasts of the Roman era, this would make a wonderful gift. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calix Imperium - a remarkable product., 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This remarkable pewter wine-drinking vessel has been designed and executed with great care. Its heroic engravings are beautifully executed, with authentic imagery and fine detail, and the overall dimensioning is historically accurate.
I sincerely hope that this is only the first of a series of such treasures, which I believe could well become collector's items in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My best buy, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
The first time I saw it was two years ago, a temporary exhibition at the Museum of History of Catalonia in Barcelona, I thought of put it on my wish list for gifts of Saturnalia, but the family had other things meant to me and I took a disappointment. I went back a few months and was no longer in the museum shop. Finally after some friendly negotiations with the museum staff tell me they got the name of the product, which I spotted on Amazon
Once in my hands the product has given me the illusion of the first day I saw him. Take it and fill it with wine is an experience that moves to ancient Rome. A must for those who love the world of the legions and the Roman culture.
Everyone spoke of the excellent quality of its relief, yes, but also I consider it necessary to say that the 100 euros spent are the best investment in terms of satisfaction that I have done lately.

Salve Sol Invictvs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
68.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews