Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldve picked it slightly differently, but doesnt everyone say that?
In my opinion, swap 'Jealousy' and 'Action this day' for 'If you cant beat them' and 'All dead, all dead' and it would be a perfect compilation for 77-82. The stand out tracks on this album are 1) It's Late - this is a bit of an epic with a great chorus and Freddie belting out some sensational vocals. 2) Spread your wings - what can I say?! This song is a favourite...
Published on 29 Jun 2011 by Mr. C. Clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars collection stuff
Not a big purche to buy, but a love music and Queen is music. It a nice trilogy of far stuff or cut stuff.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldve picked it slightly differently, but doesnt everyone say that?, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. C. Clarke (Newtownards, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
In my opinion, swap 'Jealousy' and 'Action this day' for 'If you cant beat them' and 'All dead, all dead' and it would be a perfect compilation for 77-82. The stand out tracks on this album are 1) It's Late - this is a bit of an epic with a great chorus and Freddie belting out some sensational vocals. 2) Spread your wings - what can I say?! This song is a favourite amongst Queen fans and I always feel sorry for Sammy when I listen to it! One of my favourite ever songs. 3) Put out the fire - classic rock track which contrasted from the other tracks on Hot Space, Brians guitar sounds great on it.

Its hard to believe that this is a selection of tracks that are not greatest hits. I dont think any other band thats existed could release a B-side style album of such high quality (and thats not even including Deep Cuts 1 and 3!) I highly recommend this album to anyone that appreciates good music, particularly rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first 'cut' is the deepest!, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Having picked up 'Deep Cut's 3' in HMV, I was impressed by the way the production team had selected, re-mixed and mastered some of the lesser known tracks from Queen's last five album's (especially the posthumous Freddie Mercury ones!). For someone who want's to experience some of the band's lesser known material without having to delve into the plethora of albums available, this series is ideal.
This album is more of the same, concentrating on the bands output between 1977 and 1982. For me the first track 'Mustafa' (taken from the album 'Jazz') is one of the best, written by Freddie in a nod to his arabic influences it is a brilliantly constructed track, beginning in mono with arabic chant's hauntingly sung then bursting into stereo with some raucous hard rock. Track two continues the hard rock theme with 'Sheer Heart Attack', written by drummer Roger Taylor and interestingly not taken from the album 'Sheer Heart Attack' (it was not completed in time) but from 'News of the World'. Track three Deacon's 'Spread Your Wings' is a solid rock ballad with lovely vocals from Freddie and some good guitar playing from Brian May.
Tracks 4 & 5 'Sleeping on the Sidewalk' and 'It's Late', both written by May with the guitarist singing lead on the first, offer contrating sides to May's songwriting style, the latter reminding me of his contributions to the bands earliest albums 'Queen I & II'.
'Rock It' taken from he album 'The Game' and written by Roger Taylor is another hard rocker sung with typically gravelly zest by the talented drummer and sporting a nice intro by Freddie. The next two tracks, this time written by Brian May are taken from the albums 'Jazz' and 'The Game' respectively. The first, 'Dead on Time' is another well constructed track which melds into the guitar riff from'Keep Yourself Alive' before finishing with an almighty thunderclap at the end. The second, 'Sail Away Sweet Sister' is a nicely melodic ballad sung by May himself (I found myself humming away to this for days afterqwards!). May's next entry 'Dragon Attack' will be familiar to anyone who has seen the 'We Will Rock You' video as it was played regularly on the North and South America and Canada tours and though guitar and bass heavy, signals the shift toward more night club friendly rock.
Which brings us nicely onto the infamous 'Hot Space' album, represented here by three tracks 'Action This Day' a concert favourite by Roger who shares lead vocals with Freddie. 'Put Out the Fire' written by Brian May as a critique of the worlds tolerance of firearms and 'Staying Power', written by Freddie and far too camp for my liking! Finally, 'Jealousy' again written by Freddie and taken from 'Jazz' album is a piano-based ballad with sentimental lyrics.
'Battle Theme' from 'Flash Gordon' is tagged on at the end, almost as an afterthought but is a good representation of May's sterling efforts on that soundtrack.
With a good, informative inlay booklet and song lyrics this is a good purchase for Queen fans who, like myself, don't have to have everything the band ever released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Rock, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Just some of the best album tracks & lesser known singles by the best rock band ever. Sheer Heart Attack & Rock It (Prime Jive)show just how well Queen could rock. A must for all Queen collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars collection stuff, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Not a big purche to buy, but a love music and Queen is music. It a nice trilogy of far stuff or cut stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen, album samples, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
anything Queen record, I love it. I would recommend this to anyone who haven't listened to a Queen album before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freddie Lives On, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Interesting array of tracks not always heard on mainstream radio. Freddie was and still is a legend , a true champion
Cheers Michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, all the best tracks of this period that weren't released in the charts (I think these are better) It's like my own personal Greatest Hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Deep Cuts, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Disc arrived earlier than given time.

As a Queen fan, it is them playing some of their best recordings that don't always get aired on radio..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
good album but missing a few tracks by deacon being if you cant beat em and need your loving tonight otherwise great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Deep Cuts 2, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 (Audio CD)
Need I say any more than what I've already said on my reveiw to Deep Cuts 3.You just can't beat Queens early stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982
Deep Cuts, Vol.2: 1977-1982 by Queen (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews