Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfashionably Brilliant Queen
Jazz came out during the peak of punk, and showed that Queen had lost none of the pomp and bombast of their early days. This album saw them once again ploughing their uniqie furrow across a broad range of styles from hard rock through jazz and rock'n'roll to acoustic ballads. Opening with the ludicrous but oddly wonderful Mustapha, it is Freddie who dominates, his...
Published on 25 July 2000 by Joe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bland and the funky
For some reason, this is the Queen album that seems to divide opinion the most; I don't know why as it is certainly no worse than any of the other albums released during the band's golden era. But then, its not completely brilliant either. As ever Queen stretch themselves over a variety of styles, which, as usual, makes for an ambitious if inconsistent record...
Published 9 months ago by wavey davey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfashionably Brilliant Queen, 25 July 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
Jazz came out during the peak of punk, and showed that Queen had lost none of the pomp and bombast of their early days. This album saw them once again ploughing their uniqie furrow across a broad range of styles from hard rock through jazz and rock'n'roll to acoustic ballads. Opening with the ludicrous but oddly wonderful Mustapha, it is Freddie who dominates, his vocals soaring over all the album's best moments such as the stunning single Don't Stop Me Now and the cheeky (no pun intended) Fat Bottomed Girls. Throughout he is ably assisted by guitarist Brian May, whose liquid playing on the heavier Dead on Time and Let Me Entertain You are also high points. This album has often been overlooked by the public, perhaps overshadowed by the punk phenomenon - but also maybe because the production sounds slightly tinny compared with other, fuller Queen releases. That doesn't, however, disguise the quality of songs such as In Only Seven days and Leaving Home Ain't Easy - the latter being one of May's best, more poignant Queen moments. It's fair to say that drummer Roger Taylor's contributions towards the end of the album are not his best, and thus a star deducted. But this is still a record to come back to time and time again for sheer variety, slick musicianship - and breathtaking confidence! Great fun, and for all budding musos out there - the best inner sleeve ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Poster, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
I recall buying this on vinyl when i was 11 and opening up the poster than came with it...ahhh happy days indeed.

But im not rating the poster, im rating the album!

So, firstly, Mustapha....what a great opening track, totally bonkers, but i love it. Dont Stop Me Now is the best Queen track ever written (IMO) and any alnum with it on must be half decent.

Like most Queen albums (like most albums by anyone) there is some filler. Im not that keen on More of that Jazz or Fun It...but the harder tracks (If You Cant Beat Em and Dead On Time) are good, if not classics. Again i think Brians Leaving Home is a weak track and you could take a lot of his songs from the late 70s and stick them on a Brian solo album rather than on a Queen album and it wouldnt have impacted the Queen album

Seven Days and Jealousy are both good, simple tracks from Freddie.

So probably not as strong as NOTW and Queen needed to change something as the 80s approached, which they managed with ease with The Game. Id give this 3.5 stars, but as i cant, benefit of the doubt gives it a 4 rather than a 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's late seventies european romp, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
Queen teetering on rock mountain at the end of the 70's before their leap towards the pop drenched 80s. Its got some fantastic moments; Dead On Time is one of May's greatest riffs and Jealousy is a bona fide Mercury classic. Mustapha is quite literally mad..... the song that has benefited most from this overhaul and infinitely better than the 1994 cd release. Of course it has the singles Don't Stop Me Now, Bicycle race and Fat Bottomed Girls... all three showing Queen at their most playful.The extras are OK but as with the other releases it suggests that there isn't that much left in the old Queen volts......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great Queen album!, 19 Nov 2001
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
I love this album! Has to be THE most overlooked Queen album! Remember when Queen albums sounded like they'd spent ages writing 'em and the songs weren't just bashed out on a synth? This is the last one! The ensuing 'Game' with its hollow sounding production (even 'Save Me' sounded washed-out compared to the single mix!)was for me, a massive let-down after Jazz and its predecessor, the titanic News of the World...
Anyway! What has Jazz got?-the lot! Great songs, great production (Roy Thomas Baker!) and the classic Queen quirkiness. 'Mustapha' starts off sounding like a 'Game' song, then Brian's gorgeous guitar comes crashing in and all fears are banished! Fat Bottomed Girls has extended May riffery transforming the track from its single incarnation to a self-respecting rocker. 'Jealousy' is a bit of vintage Mercury (RIP)swoonery..what a gorgeous song! At this point I must mention Deacon's 'In Only Seven Days'...surely the best and most poignant holiday romance song ever penned! Absolute perfection; rather than using synths, May orchestrates away in the background, Fred laments for all he is worth, and the final, 'Oh so sad, alone' lyric leaves you imagining the bereft vacationer's plight!A classic!
May is on form...'Dead on Time' Rocks! And this is the album with the seminal and wonderful 'Don't Stop Me Now'. Another classic.
'If You Can't Beat Them' is a melodic multi-layered Deacon-penned rocker with a brilliant phase-shifted outro section. 'Let Me Entertain You' is here too! Not to mention others such as the wistful 'Leaving Home Ain't Easy', a May corker with vintage lush-sounding Queen vocal harmonies. Wow. If you like Queen get this classic! I never could understand why this album has been so overlooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bland and the funky, 9 Oct 2013
By 
wavey davey (Fareham, Hants) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
For some reason, this is the Queen album that seems to divide opinion the most; I don't know why as it is certainly no worse than any of the other albums released during the band's golden era. But then, its not completely brilliant either. As ever Queen stretch themselves over a variety of styles, which, as usual, makes for an ambitious if inconsistent record.

So what has Mr Fusspot deemed good? Well, for a kick off we have Queen's best ever song, and i do mean best: 'Dead on Time'. Never heard of it? No, it wasn't a hit, and as far as i know, never (or only rarely) played live. Shame, as it rocks like a swear word. Never has Brian May's guitar sounded quite this angry, and even his words are fairly aggressive. Topped off with a thunderclap at the end (courtesy of God, apparently) this really is an undiscovered classic. I know the heavier stuff isn't for everyone, but hey, Queen are usually referred to as a rock band so I am assuming that a potential buyer has some interest in the genre. Anyway, 'Fat Bottomed Girls' is a goodun, a more laid back slab of rock; 'Bicycle Race' is a clever pop type song that gives Freddie Mercury a chance to list all the things he doesn't like; 'Leaving Home aint Easy' is a ballad style song full of May's typically earnest musings. The album closer, 'More of that Jazz' is a reasonable Roger Taylor sung rocker with a catchy stuttering drum motif. The last in the good batch, 'Let Me Entertain You', is a rare Freddie up tempo guitar led song, but it highlights my main gripe with this album; its too quiet. This song in particular has always sounded muffled and the remastering has done little to alter that, but maybe its just my ears that are faulty.

As for the bad...'Jealousy' and 'In only Seven Days' are a couple of sappy ballads; 'If You can't Beat Them' and (dare i say it) 'Don't Stop me Now' are dull/camp pop fare. 'Mustapha' is just plain weird, an eastern flavoured ditty with Freddie chirping away in arabic or something. In 'Dreamers Ball' the group broadcasts blues, but unfortunately it is a little dreary.

Which leaves the funky. Which is only one song actually, 'Fun it'. This is certainly the first song to suggest that certain members of the band had begun to discover the emerging disco scene of the time, a sound that would start to feature more prominently in subsequent albums. Its not for me.

So do you deluxe or do you not deluxe? Even for the committed Queen fan, the bonus disc doesn't offer much. There's the edited single version of 'Fat Bottomed Girls'. Why you would want this when you already have the full version on the album proper is beyond me (plus this version is already available on the Greatest Hits) and if that wasn't pointless enough, you get an instrumental version of 'Bicycle Race'. Again, why? Theres also a version of 'Don't stop me Now' with long lost guitars. It might be my ears playing up again, but I couldn't tell the difference. 'Let Me Entertain You' gets a live run out, and while this actual version may be previously unreleased, I doubt the version on Live Killers is much different. The only song that gets close to being interesting is the accoustic demo version of 'Dreamers Ball', but once you've heard it, you probably won't be rushing back for repeated listens. Had I known this before I bought it, I would have got the single disc version, and would recommend you do the same, just in case Queen really do get around to 'clearing the vaults' any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
Lovely perfect item to play again and again. Good service from supplier too.Will definitely be completing my CD collection of all my Queen vinyl albums (better late than never eh?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality is an issue, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz [2011 Remastered Version] (Audio CD)
As good as expected, quiet different from usual Queen albums hence the title,however the digital remastering technician must have been having a tea break or something here,as the first few tracks are so quiet ,volume has to be turned right up,later the album suddenly finds its feet with the volume and has to be turned back downbecause its suddenly practically piercing the ol eardrums,this is really the main let down with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe some people think 'A Kind of Magic' is better than this.., 22 Oct 2010
By 
I. P. J. Brayshaw "Big Fish" (Seville, Spain.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
Every Queen album previous to this seemed to contain a 'rock classic'(Do hate that term) and it could be said that Jazz does not contain one great great song around which the rest of the album is built and for this reason it is often overlooked but I would go as far as to say that this is one of their most consistent and yet diverse offerings. Added to this we find a band on top form performance wise. The sheer unbrideled enthusiasm of 'Don't stop me now' is difficult to match with a wonderful vocal while 'Mustapha' and 'Bicycle Race' offer few clues to inspiration or influence. 'Dreamers Ball', 'Leaving Home Aint Easy' are other gems and it really is hard to find a dull moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for die hard Queen fans, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Evangelos Tozos "ET" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
First of all this not a 2008 digital remaster.Secondly it is a Japanese issue.Inside the ,admittedly, very good re-packaging is a leaflet on which you can find in very small letters that this is a 2001 digital remaster made by Raincloud Productions under exlusive licence to EMI.Now what counts is the sound in comparison to the 1994 digital remasters.The sound is audibly more clear and they have boosted the treble and bass which to some may seem a bit tiring as the cymbals ring around too prominently.So if you're not a very hot Queen fan skip this as it offers little more than the cheaper earlier remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era, 29 Dec 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jazz (Audio CD)
Queen’s 7th studio album really is the end of an era, being the last album of the 70’s, and the last album before the arrival of new producer Mack, synthesizers, drum machines, Freddie’s moustache and other horrors of the 1980’s. As usual with Queen’s golden period 1970’s output there’s a huge amount of genre-hopping on display (though oddly enough no actual jazz), great musicianship and massive layering of vocals and instruments on the production. The only slight downside here is the mix which is far too aggressive with the volume, and by trying to give the guitars huge impact at certain points certain moments are unnaturally quiet in the mix e.g.: the opening of ‘Let Me Entertain You’, or ‘Mustapha’ – if you’re not aware of this and have your volume set at what appears to be a correct volume you may well blow your speakers when the guitar kicks in after a couple of minutes!
After a surprisingly subdued showing on ‘News of the World’ Freddie returns to songwriting dominance on this album, with the ridiculously up-beat ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’ and the ridiculous yet infectious ‘Bicycle Race’. ‘Let Me Entertain You’ is more of a straight-forward rocker, and obviously best intended for a live audience, but the real hidden gem here is the ballad ‘Jealousy’, which must have been a strong contender for a single release. The oddest track on the album meanwhile is the opener ‘Mustapha’, as Freddie starts with what sounds like a Middle Eastern call to prayer and the song ends up as a bizarre but heavy rock track.
Brian’s songs are uniformly strong, with the gorgeously sleazy ‘Fat Bottomed Girls’ possibly topped by the frantic high-speed rocker ‘Dead On Time’. ‘Dreamer’s Ball’ is one of Queen’s tongue in cheek old-fashioned musical pastiche’s, while ‘Leaving Home Ain’t Easy’ (which Brian also provides lead vocals for) is a heartrending song that must rank amongst Brian’s best tunes.
John Deacon provides a top quality pair of tracks with the brief but gorgeous holiday romance song ‘In Only Seven Days’ and the less expected rock of ‘If You Can’t Beat Them’.
Sadly Roger Taylor provides what is the closest this album has to a weak track with the disco song (anticipating the 80’s) ‘Fun It’ – the main guitar riff is actually very good but the lyrics are so gormless (“Just shaking the soles of your feet…”) that it’s difficult to take it seriously. Thankfully Roger comes good with the album closer ‘More Of That Jazz’, a moody track dominated by an addictive guitar line.
‘Jazz’ may not be quite up to the level of ‘A Night At The Opera’ but it is certainly up there with the rest of Queen’s top ‘70’s albums, and for some bizarre reason is often overlooked. Queen would make some good albums in the 80’s, but ‘Jazz’ is the last GREAT one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz [2011 Remastered Version]
Jazz [2011 Remastered Version] by Queen (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews