Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
This is a truly fantastic album, the 1977 follow up of "A Day at the Races". Whether you're a Queen fan or not, you'll know at least two of these songs as the album opens with Brian's "We Will Rock You" and Freddie's "We Are The Champions". So if you've never bought any Queen before, this is a good place to start! Personally, my favourite...
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all.......
News of the world was always spoken of as "Queen's answer to punk" and even Roger Taylor described it as "with a lot of harder stuff on it, slightly more raw..." Until I listened to it, I was expecting a watered down Queen, little production, 11 songs in the "Sheer Heart Attack" mould. Therefore, I was shocked to find that the album is as diverse as ever, and (though in...
Published on 6 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
This is a truly fantastic album, the 1977 follow up of "A Day at the Races". Whether you're a Queen fan or not, you'll know at least two of these songs as the album opens with Brian's "We Will Rock You" and Freddie's "We Are The Champions". So if you've never bought any Queen before, this is a good place to start! Personally, my favourite tracks are "Spread Your Wings", the epic and emotional "It's Late" and "My Melancholy Blues", a spectacular and powerful blues-style masterpiece. As I was brought up on Queen, I love this album, there isn't a single track on it I don't like but I think anyone would think this, life long fan or not! I highly recommend it to anyone, young or old! I'm only 17 but still think it's fantastic, Queen still have, (and always will have!) that special something, whether it's in Brain's outstanding talents, Freddie's beautiful voice or just the combination of the right people at the right time. So if you're young, I still recommend you buy this - you won't regret it, they're fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripped Down. Well, Almost..., 19 Nov. 2003
By 
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
After the everything-including-the-kitchen-sink production of "A Night At The Opera" and its follow-up "A Day At The Races", where on Earth could Queen go? Somewhere completely different is the answer this album provides.
Despite opening with two of Queen's most famous anthems (the second of which, "We Are The Champions", is possibly their most classically Queen-sounding single alongside "Bohemian Rhapsody"), this album is largely free of the bombastic, grandiloquent production which had become their trademark. This was 1977, the year of punk, and this album seems to represent Queen acknowledging the shift in public tastes to embrace a more stripped down, fuzzier, dirtier sound. Their equivalent of recording in the garage, perhaps - albeit a garage decorated with Persian rugs, chandeliers, marble cherubs, and fountains spewing champagne.
"Sheer Heart Attack" is the most prominent example of this. Fast, energetic and intense (and a staple encore in their live set for a few years subsequently), this is Queen letting off steam in a way most unusual for them on record.
The tender and melancholy "All Dead, All Dead", written and sung by Brian May, immediately switches the mood, and is one of only three songs containing his marque complex multitracked guitar work.
John Deacon's "Spread Your Wings" is simply beautiful; a narrative lyric about an unhappy young man's resolve to escape the confines of his small-town existence, dead-end job under a sneering boss and "leave his dead life behind". The sparse production adds an extra dimension to the song - I could be a little over-analytical here and suggest that it emphasises the emptiness of the protagonist's life and the desperation of his plight, but that would be a bit pretentious. Oh well, I've done it now anyway.
"Get Down, Make Love" is something of an oddity. Stark production rules again, bringing Roger Taylor's heavy drums to the fore alongside Freddie Mercury's lusty vocals, until the guitar-led chorus. Then we get to the middle section - a cornucopia of very strange noises indeed. A variety of effects are applied to Mercury's vocal gymnastics, and a listener unfamiliar with Queen's "No Synthesisers" ethic during the 70's could be forgiven for thinking they are hearing one here. It's actually May's guitar, played through something very technical and clever (at the time) that I know absolutely nothing about, other than that it makes his guitar sound very other-worldly and not at all like a guitar...
"Sleeping On The Sidewalk" is a one-take almost-live blues song. In many ways it sums up the overall feel of the album - the sound of a real band playing together and enjoying themselves. According to May, the first take was recorded totally live as a guide, but subsequent attempts to capture it lacked the "lazy" feel of the original, so what we hear on the album is for the most part assembled from the original take.
"Who Needs You", another Deacon composition, is again a simple arrangement simply produced, before "It's Late" returns us to the bleary, muddy, dirty sound explored earlier on the album. This is all-out hairy rock with a great stadium chorus, overblown but not over-produced and an energising, invigorating listen. Turn it right up.
One would think that this would be the logical big finish for the album, but Queen instead opt for a more subdued ending with Mercury's "My Melancholy Blues", a comment on his new-found glamourous lifestyle and its downside. It's actually quite a dark piece - Mercury reminds us here that despite his wealth and the allure attached to being a rock star, he's still a human being with human frailties. Even rock stars get lonely.
This album successfully bridges the gap between the bombast and operatics concluded on "A Day At The Races" the previous year, and the more poppy sound explored on "Jazz" the following year. Always prepared for a challenge and never satisfied to simply stick to one formula, Queen would continue to explore new sounds throughout their career. "News Of The World" is a fine example, and represents one of several significant and refreshing moves forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock'N'Roll Regality!, 26 July 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
Coming on the back of Queen's biggest albums of the time - A Night at the Opera and A day at the Races - this record was a marked change in style, both songwriting and production wise. Whereas those two records were dripping with overdubs and high production values, News of the World revelled in more straight forward drum/bass & guitar numbers such as We Will Rock You, It's Late and the lovely blues pastiche Sleeping On The Sidewalk. That's not to say the big numbers aren't there - We Are The Champions is a stadium classic and how Spread Your Wings didn't make it on to any of the Greatest Hits albums remains a mystery. But there are less celebrated gems here like Brian May's All Dead All Dead and, best of all, Freddie's most overlooked song, My Melancholy Blues - a beautiful jazz lounge number that Queen pull off perfectly. A favourite with many Queen fans, this album showed all four members making significant contributions throughout, and marked a turning phase with its more democratic approach to songwriting. From its great sci-fi magazine parody sleeve to the cracking songs within, this is a terrific album. Well worth a listen - and for any Queen fans that don't have it - for shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era?, 26 Mar. 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
This album marked the end of "early Queen" (in my opinion) before the raw, hard edge gave way to a more polished and studio-based feel with later albums.
Hardly a bad track on it (although "Fight from the Inside" and "Get Down, Make Love" won't be to everyone's taste) the highlights are certainly the delightful Deacon classic "Spread Your Wings" and the energetic, rocky "It's Late" in which Brian and Roger really let go!
In being drawn to the more obvious tracks ("Champions" and "Rock You") don't overlook the hidden gems including "Sleeping on the Sidewalk" and "All Dead, All Dead" (both with Brian on lead vocals) and Freddie's "My Melancholy Blues" which ends the album on a poignant note as Freddie opens his heart to us at the piano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of different, 12 May 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
When Queen released this album Punk and New Wave were about to change the music that a generation of teenagers bought. So from the beginning this album was unlikely to be received as well as previous Queen albums - and it wasn't.

Certainly there is nothing on this album that matches Bohemian Rhapsody from two years earlier. However, I prefer this album to "A Night At The Opera" over all. For me the anthemic qualities of "We are the Champions" and "Spread Your Wings", together with the stylistic variety of "Sleeping on the Sidewalk" (Rhythm and Blues) and "My Melancholy Blues" (Piano Ballad) is what made Queen such a great band. Sometimes its the little things on this album that I really like, such as Roger Taylors fabulous drum break at 2:48 near the end of "Sheer Heart Attack". If that isn't enough have a listen "Its Late". As the Amazon reviewer said this is the best track on the album. If I had to pick only one Queen track this would be it. Its over 6 minutes long but it has everything you'd expect from a great Queen track. The only quick way I can think of describing it is that they should have performed it at Live Aid - it would have fitted perfectly into the great set they did there.

There are a few weak tracks in my view, hence only 4 stars, but overall this a better album than its given credit for. Any Queen fan will know this already, but for anybodyelse, apart from a compilation this is as a good a place to start if you're buying Queen for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Sixth Queen Album, 11 Sept. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
Track Listings
Queen - News Of The World.

CD Info.
1xCD
2011 Remastered Edition.
Includes Free AutoRip Download

Track Listings.
1. We Will Rock You
2. We Are the Champions
3. Sheer Heart Attack
4. All Dead, All Dead
5. Spread Your Wings
6. Fight from the Inside
7. Get Down, Make Love
8. Sleeping On the Sidewalk
9. Who Needs You
10. It's Late
11. My Melancholy Blues

Timelord Thoughts.
Opening with two iconic Queen Anthems 'We Will Rock You' & 'We Are The Champions', Queen's sixth studio album titled New Of The World which was a sly dig at the former newspaper for the "Is This Man A Pratt" article it ran about lead singer Freddie Mercury this 4 times platinum album is full of gaudy operatics & tearful ballads that features Queen iconic sound deliver a truly unique & wonderful album that is stylistically different to previous Queen albums which revels in heavy drum, bass & guitar tracks delivering 11 excellent tracks including the outstanding Spread Your Wings & the rock driven Sheer Heart Attack.

With it's colourful unique Sci-Fi parody album sleeve this marks a transition in the band at a time when the punk scene was in full flow & only now can fans appreciate how good this album is with Freddie's powerful & emotionally driven vocals to Brian May's catchy guitar riffs aided by John Deacons heavy Bass sections & of course Roger Taylors awesome drumming.

Overall, News Of The World is another classic Queen album that may have been overlooked upon original release & sees the band in a transitional stage of there career & yet are still able to deliver all the ingredients that make Queens style of music sound modern now with excellent digitally remastering which has enhanced the sound superbly on this reissue which now sounds clearer & sharper than ever before making this a must buy purchase for Queen fan's.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MUSIC LEGENDS', 14 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: News Of The World [2011 Remastered Version] (Audio CD)
Queen' formed way back in 1970, 'John Deacon' joining in 1971 which gave us the
four that first hit the charts with the single 'Seven seas of Rhye' March 1974' the
number reaching number 10..........'Freddie Mercury' 'Brian May' 'Roger Taylor'
and 'John Deacon' now began their legendary journey.
The group wrote nearly all their own material from the word go, for me 'Queen' were
the best instrumental outfit i can remember down the years, they were also vocally
superb, front man 'Freddie Mercury' great voice and extraordinary showman.
When the group wrote 'Bohemian Rhapsody' they were unsure how it would be received
by the public at large, must say, the first time i heard it i remember saying, ''that's next
weeks number one, of course it was the 1975 hit remained at number one for nine weeks,
their fourth release had launched the group into super-stardom.
This album was released in 1977 and contained a bucket-full of great sounds including
chart hits ---'We Will Rock You' (anybody see 'A Knight's Tale' ? the song opened a
jousting tournament, one of the funniest film sequences i can remember....priceless)
'We Are The Champions' the two songs mentioned were first release as a double 'A'
release reaching number two in October 1977, 'We Will Rock You' re-released in 2000
reaching the top-spot.
Other memorable tracks on-board include --'Sheer Heart Attack' .....'All Dead All Dead'
'It's Late' and 'Who Needs You' (listen to 'Roger's drumming in the number 'It's Late'
If I'm being honest, i love just about all the music 'Queen' ever released down the years
before, sadly, extrovert vocalist 'Freddie Mercury' passed away 24th November 1991
aged just '45' of course 'Bohemian Rhapsody' along with 'These are the Days of our
Lives' topped the chart in December that year for five weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars News of the World, 23 Feb. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
To give such a good album only 4 stars is probably a travesty in itself, but there again we are judging by previously set "Queen Standards" here and coming on the back of "Night at the Opera" and "Day at the Races" this album was always going to be judged a little harshly.
It really is a fine album in its own right though, 11 wonderful tracks, each one as diverse as the next, covering a multitude of styles and carrying them all off in unique Queen style.
There really isn't much to say about the double-whammy opening of "We will rock you" and "We are the champions" that hasn't been said before, but it's worthwhile listening to the original studio sound of "We will rock you" to remind you of the much more muted and even subtle tone it has when compared to the much more well known raucous stadium stomp it usually gets. "Sheer Heart Attack" has been quoted as Queen's attempt at punk, it certainly is a full-on, far heavier sound than anything that had come before but whether it is punk or thrash metal before its time can be debated by the music experts.
Other highlights include the beautiful John Deacon offering of "Spread your Wings". His finest song? Well I'll let others decide that, but it certainly isn't recognised as highly as it should be. Brian's rockabilly "Sleeping on the sidewalk" is great fun as it the other Deacon song, the Latin cha-cha of "Who needs you".
The finale of the album is two songs, which again by all the rules of music shouldn't fit together yet somehow they are simply perfect. Brain let's rip in the rock saga of "It's Late" including its unique "Scenes" making it a real rock-opera and then Freddie cools us all down with the late-night cabaret of "My Melancholy Blues", all dusky tinkling piano, brushed drums and smoky atmospheres.
Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 11 Jun. 2006
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of 70s Queen, and despite the fact that this album was recorded in the late 70s, I was unsure of how it would be (as Queen's music tended to get more pop orientated into the 80s). Despite my initial suspicions about this album, I was given it as a present at Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it from track one.

A fantastic mixture of rock, and the more Freddie trademark sound; this album isn't one of their best but definitely ranks pretty highly in my collection. The album consists of punchy anthems (We Will Rock You/We Are The Champions), more gentle and emotional ballad type tracks (All Dead, All Dead/My Melancholy Blues), Mercury's personal favourite style that later morphed into Hot Space type music (Get Down, Make Love), and remaining tracks that are generally pleasing to listen to. I personally listen to tracks 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10 and 11 the most; however there is nothing wrong with the other songs on the album - I just think you need to be in a certain mood to enjoy them properly. Then again, every Queen fans tastes are different.

News Of The World definitely has some of the most underrated Queen songs ever written featuring on it, so it's a definite listen for those wishing to hear some of the less publicised songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Spreading WIngs . . ., 8 Oct. 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News Of The World (Audio CD)
I like this album a lot. I bought it late in collecting Queen stuff, because the well known stuff was right at the beginning of the album. (That made sense at the time(!))
It's a joy to listen to tho'. Some real good stuff as before, with the usual 'types' from each individual: -
Melancholy from Brian (Sleeping On The Sidewalk),
Rock from Roger(Fight From The Inside),
Weird from Freddie (Get Down Make Love),
Classic pop/rock from John (Spread Your Wings)
"It's Late" deserves a mention n despatches as does "My Melancholy Blues" which is basically Frieddie & piano until brushed drums & bass come in (I've heard an alternative version of with Brian interjecting some tasty guitar which just adds a fresh touch to the song). I'e often wondered why they didn;t do that on the album version.
Nevertheless a very well rounded album, which is indeed an end of an era. A different flavour of album atarted appearing after this, with more of a pop sensibilty about them.
This one tho' repays repeated playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews