Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
This is one of those books that when you start one of the short stories, you simply cannot go on until you have finished it. The classic example of this is Endgame which is a thoroughly fascinating story and keeps you interested all the way through. Chalk and Cheese is also highly entertaining.
Published on 12 Aug 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Archer at his best
This book was, to me, intriguing as nine of the fourteen books were based on true events meaning that the stories had a lot more impact on me as they had actually happened. The only problem was that it only told you which were true at the start which meant constant flicking back to the contents page.
Many of the stories were very humorous, varied enough that you...
Published 15 months ago by Rach H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This is one of those books that when you start one of the short stories, you simply cannot go on until you have finished it. The classic example of this is Endgame which is a thoroughly fascinating story and keeps you interested all the way through. Chalk and Cheese is also highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Archer at his best, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was, to me, intriguing as nine of the fourteen books were based on true events meaning that the stories had a lot more impact on me as they had actually happened. The only problem was that it only told you which were true at the start which meant constant flicking back to the contents page.
Many of the stories were very humorous, varied enough that you don’t get bored. It’s suitable for both people who want to power through them, but also people who just want to have a read every so often. I have read the book twice now in two weeks, and the stories remain just as fresh upon the second reading.
In my opinion some of the stories were not as interesting as the other; Crime Pays and Other Blighters Efforts. They were however both still very readable.
My favourite stories were Chalk and Cheese, which was a humorously ironic tale of two brothers and A Change of Heart, a story of a racist man who receives a black man’s heart during a transplant operation and changes his views, which was very touching. Also The Grass is Always Greener brings to light how we all have problems and always want what someone else has.
Overall Archer is an excellent short story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another splendid example of Archer at his best., 24 April 2001
By A Customer
On offer is another full plate of delectable short stories. Some of them are based on true events. This is yet another excellent example of Archer at his best.
From the very start you have a fine short story which took all of 30 seconds to read. How did he do that?
May we ask Jeffrey to keep rolling them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad and "death speaks", 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I,ve read most of archer's books and overall I'm a big fan,however having read most of his short story books,I must admit to an overall rating of three rather than 4/5 stars.Some of the stories have that wonderful archer magic,while some are ok at best.
When I reread these books,I will "highlight" the best chapters for future reference,because some of them definately do merit reading again and again and the best and most obvious is the story(1 page!) Death Speaks....it's an old story from way back but absolutely brilliant.....a pub philosopher's dream!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Master storyteller, 16 Aug 2009
I am a Jeffery Archer fan, particularly of the short stories, and this new collection is as good as ever, varied, highly readable, with some good twists. Some are acknowledged to be based on true events, though on the whole I prefer the original ones. The publisher's blurb states that the last story, "The grass is always greener" is the best ever. Certainly well written with up to date characters, but this basic idea is not original. Stacy Aumonier got there first with "The octave of jealousy" from the collection "Miss Bracwegirdle and others",published around 1930. For me Archer's best short story is "Old love" from "A quiver full of arrows."

Alan Bold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tepid storytelling, 21 April 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Surprised by all the good reviews, as I found this very dull and functional writing. None of the stories were overly interesting, clever or engaging. I was expecting a few twists and clever conclusions but was left unmoved by nearly all the stories.
I wouldn't recommend this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captivating stories, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
These fascinating stories are perfect reading on holidays, public transport et. al. I strongy recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Briiliant, 13 Feb 2009
Loved it - repeated the stories to others. Love the twists and turns. Recommended for light reading. - Excellent for a holiday away book. Thanks Jeffery. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Cut A Long Story Short (Kindle Edition)
One of best short story books that I have read. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To Cut A Long Story Short, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Steven D. Wittberger "Steve Wittberger" (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though it was written a few tears ago, the tales are still as biting and spell-binding as ever. A thoroughly entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Cut A Long Story Short
To Cut A Long Story Short by Jeffrey Archer
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews