Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, well laid-out, but has some limitations
In this book Sellar has profiled 83 essential oils in quite a lot of depth, devoting two pages to each oil. After the usual list of names in English and Latin, extraction method and so forth, the categories listed are: aroma, features of the plant, history and myth, chemical constituents, properties, precautions, effects on mind, body, and skin, and good blending...
Published on 5 Feb 2004 by Klytemnestra

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay.
I've read better books. Maybe the physical book would better than the kindle version. Okay if you wanted to know specific oils rather than conditions the oil is used for.
Published 10 months ago by natalie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, well laid-out, but has some limitations, 5 Feb 2004
In this book Sellar has profiled 83 essential oils in quite a lot of depth, devoting two pages to each oil. After the usual list of names in English and Latin, extraction method and so forth, the categories listed are: aroma, features of the plant, history and myth, chemical constituents, properties, precautions, effects on mind, body, and skin, and good blending partners. This is pretty much the entire book, although there is a brief glossary at the end which runs along the following lines:
Antidontalgic: Relieving toothache.
Cajuput, Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Peppermint, Pimento.
There are also a couple of charts showing blending families (citrus, herbs, spices and so on) and suggested oils for skin types.
For someone who already has a basic working knowledge of aromatherapy, this is a very useful book, combining each of reference with impressive depth. I would not recommend it as the first book for a beginner, however. Sellar assumes that her readers already know how to use essential oils so does not provide any information on blending, carrier oils, methods of application, massage and so forth. In addition, the referencing tends to be one-way: it is much easier to look up an oil in this book than it is to look up a symptom. So if you want to find a good oil for, say, PMS, this book will be much harder to use if you do not already know that you should be looking at lavender, geranium, clary sage etc. The glossary at the end is of limited use and certainly does not constitute a materia medica. I find this book most useful when used in conjunction with other aromatherapy books, so that I can cross-reference, usually by looking up symptoms in other books and then turning to this one to find out more about the oils that have been suggested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Refrence Book, 14 Feb 2009
By 
G. M. Glendinning "xenafan40" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read and have a variety of books on essential oils but this is the one that i regulary consult if i wish to refresh my memory of a particular oil and it's properties/uses. It's the perfect book for people who can't be bothered reading as there's very little reading in it, which is why i buy it for , or recommend it to people starting out with oils.
For on only one page of reading they can get a general idea of how it effects mind, body and skin which will instantly enable one to choose the appropriate oil from one's collection for the intended purpose.
i've had a copy of this for many years and bought copies for others and i doubt if any other book shall take it's place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very up-to-date, easy to use and interesting to read, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
As a beginner in Aromatherapy I find this book an excellent introduction to aromatherapy. The history on each oil is very interesting to read while I appreciate any reference to modern traumas such aids, cancer where the oils can help in many ways. The only feature I would have liked to have seen is actually how to use the oils, under what form, quantity. But I guess there is not one book on aromatherapy, there are many that complement each other depending on the interest, knowledge of the writer and reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a 'must have' for your collection., 3 Jan 2000
By 
The Directory of Essential Oils contains possibly everything the student or practising aromatherapist might ever need to know about essential oils. Listed in an easy to read style and a doddle to just flick through when you only have a few minutes, the information is right there at your fingertips. Wanda Sellars have pitched this book at just the right level, not too in depth so that it puts you off, and not too light so that it doesn't contain everything you need. This book can be used and enjoyed by nearly anybody, the student, the aromatherapist or as a hobby read, this book has it all. Definately one to have at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic reference, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has most of the oils that i need to research for my course in aromatherapy. It gives a good overall view of each oil, including a bit of history, which is vital if you want to become a good therapist. I am very pleased with my purchase, and would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know about aromatherapy oils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, 14 Feb 2008
While this is not the most comprehensive guide to essential oils it is a good and detailed book for the most common ones and some less common ones. I have had the book for over a year now and I have constantly referenced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference book, 22 Jun 2010
By 
J. Roberts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so useful. It's alphabetical, neatly laid out & very informative. I don't have another essential oil book, I bought this and about 14 oils for ailments (including lung cancer & pain) that I researched using a great supplier on ebay. That's all the info I feel I need as a novice wanting info on how an essential oil affects the body & mind, its properties and what other oils it blends well with. No advice on how to blend (No of drops) or carrier/base oils but I found that info out by searching the internet. Hope this was helpful, I really wanted to share my passion for such a great reference text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Directory of Essential OIls, 30 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This is a beautifully presented book with a vast amount of information, perfect for either a new aromatherapist or someone who has aromatherapy experience. Very easy to read and by far my favourite aromatherapy book to date. A very valuble resource while I was studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars aromatherapy bible, 23 Sep 2011
I would highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in aromatherapy. It provides in depth information about about a range of oils and useful blends for massage and for use around the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Directory of Essential Oils - an appraisal, 10 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very nice, very knowledgeable, very easy to read. Ideal for someone like me who wants to get acquainted with essential oils. Presentation is refined too... which makes it a pleasurable reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Directory Of Essential Oils
£6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews