Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars66
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2011
I bought this after receiving a similar cd as a gift and was not disappointed. A lot of original and cover versions of good and not so good songs. Plenty of variety either way. Some songs done very well by artist's I normally can't stand (such as Kylie Minogue & Amy Winehouse). Well worth the money.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 November 2013
As someone who is still quite new to the BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge CD series, I bought this 'best-of' compilation, and was very impressed with most of the content.

I love the idea that these sets include unique acoustic performances from acts who either give their own songs a completely different interpretation (I especially like track 18: U2's 'Beautiful Day') or cover over peoples', often with excellent, unexpected results. This makes Live Lounge so different from the standard compilations, they actually offer the listener something completely new.

There are 40 tracks spread across the CDs from a variety of talent. I would never have thought of the Arctic Monkeys in the same sentence as Girls Aloud's 'Love Machine', but I really like their cover. I was surprised by McFly as well, I haven't played their singles since school and never thought I'd do so again, but I actually like their version of 'I Kissed A Girl' over the Katy Perry original (one of my least favourite tracks at the time it was released). I love how creative all of the artists are. Of course, with a collection this size, there was always going to be tracks that I will never play again, hence the four stars, but everyone has different tastes - and there is something for anyone here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
This is an excellent collection of acoustic covers and re-imaginings that works well as ambient music, or something to listen to on a lazy day. Notable mentions (in my opinion) are Adele's "Chasing Pavements", the Foo Fighters' "Times Like These" and U2's "Beautiful Day". All in all, well worth the admission price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Sorry - just to correct the review above, and as per the album description - there IS a new track. It's the Leona Lewis cover of 'Run', which has never been on a Live Lounge album before. It's CD2 track 20.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
Just an excellent selection of great modern talent singing and playing great music - 40 tracks, all winners; that's value!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Rip off! Product was sealed but an old Live Lounge 2012 was inside. Disappointed and would not recommend!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I love how creative the artists are. I crank this music up on my surround sound in my house, and it sounds like the performance is happening right in my home! It's raw, and it's awesome. I have all the volumes, and they are all good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I love live music and I love how artists can transform a song in to their own - I did prefer the original live lounge songs which they did freestyle in interviews rather than being chosen for them and performed in the studio...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
This is a great double album ,I Love at least 80% of these original tracks already and I am sure the rest will grow on me. Leona's track (final track on the album)is truly stunning. well done the BBC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
CD really good unfortunately the case was cracked-good job it wasn't a present for someone. Packaging seemed quite sturdy so maybe the it was already cracked when put into cardboard packaging :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)