Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price
The previous review is right in that this is a great product, but the comment on the price appears to be wrong. The Amazon price is for a pack of 4 so that's the same as the Selfridges and Waitrose price.
Published on 11 Oct 2011 by Bunny Man

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK...
I'd just like to point out it's now available in Morrison's too...

I like "umami", and have known of it for quite a while. And even before I'd ever heard of it, parmesan, anchovies, fish sauce & konbu etc were never too far from my pot.

So I thought I'd try this paste, figuring it could come in handy as a booster for e.g. dressings, or situations...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Marine Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK..., 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I'd just like to point out it's now available in Morrison's too...

I like "umami", and have known of it for quite a while. And even before I'd ever heard of it, parmesan, anchovies, fish sauce & konbu etc were never too far from my pot.

So I thought I'd try this paste, figuring it could come in handy as a booster for e.g. dressings, or situations where you only need a bit of punch.

Have to say I was basically underwhelmed, especially considering the price. It's essentially regular tomato puree, with a bit of an umami lift. It's perfectly palatable on it's own, which suggests it's rather insufficient for seasoning a whole dish. I suspect it's trying to be "anchovies, for people who say they don't like anchovies, but like their meat to taste meaty".

My advice: buy a jar of anchovies for less money & more impact, and learn how to use (hide?) them, or even a bottle of "anchovy ketchup" if slippy little fishes ain't your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I had heard so much about this product before buying, but was dissapointed, did not seem to make any of the meals i cooked more tasty at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price, 11 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
The previous review is right in that this is a great product, but the comment on the price appears to be wrong. The Amazon price is for a pack of 4 so that's the same as the Selfridges and Waitrose price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Umami Paste, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
Was pleased to be able to find this paste. I don't use it often, but it does what I want it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
Who'd've thought so much flavour could come out of such a small tube! Great value too and it really does transform most dishes with a simple squirt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic ingredient, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
This certainly adds something to meat and savoury dishes but it's hard to say exactly what. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Stuff!, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
This is amazing stuff. Very versatile. Use it as a rub or to enrich sauces. I've tossed broccoli and pasta in it and spread it on toast and topped with scrambled egg & sliced tomato....yum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unami Paste, 8 May 2012
By 
Mr. Gerald G. Harniman (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
Yummy .... adds that certain something to any dish, still on first tube as little required to enhance cooking. Would recommend to any cook wanting to add that special something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great taste, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I bought this after buying her cookery book 'flash Cooking' as it is recommended in there. The taste is unique and adds an unusual depth and flavour to most dishes. Great to have in your store cupboard although I feel it is a little expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh!, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste No. 5 Umami Paste 70 g (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
ITS HORRIBLE! !! TASTES OF BITTER OLIVES AND FISH IN TOMATO SAUCE!CAN'T UNDERSTAND THE HYPE! 5 TASTE?I I DON'T THINK SO! NOT FOR EVERYONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews